471,072 Members | 1,390 Online
Bytes | Software Development & Data Engineering Community
Post +

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

Join Bytes to post your question to a community of 471,072 software developers and data experts.

Visual Studio 2005 Intellisense

Hi

With Visual Studio 2003, I could hit CTRL+Space to invoke intellisense.
Has the keystroke changed on 2005 because it doesn't work for me?

Thanks

Dave

Sep 18 '06 #1
5 1917
No, it hasn't changed. Cn you be more specific about what you're doing, and
what happens as a result?

--
HTH,

Kevin Spencer
Microsoft MVP
Chicken Salad Surgery

What You Seek Is What You Get.

<bu****@wizardbuy.comwrote in message
news:11*********************@i3g2000cwc.googlegrou ps.com...
Hi

With Visual Studio 2003, I could hit CTRL+Space to invoke intellisense.
Has the keystroke changed on 2005 because it doesn't work for me?

Thanks

Dave

Sep 18 '06 #2
Thanks for your reply Kevin.

I mainly see it on typing the using directives at the top of a class. I
used to be able to type "using" then space and it would give me all the
namespaces available.

This no longer occurs and I have to for example type "System." before
it will list anything??

Thanks

Sep 18 '06 #3

bu****@wizardbuy.com wrote:
Thanks for your reply Kevin.

I mainly see it on typing the using directives at the top of a class. I
used to be able to type "using" then space and it would give me all the
namespaces available.

This no longer occurs and I have to for example type "System." before
it will list anything??

Thanks
I see the same thing. I don't know why the using statement does not
invoke intellisense. It seems logical that if you typed using followed
by a space, that intellisense would appear with a list of namespaces.
But it doesn't. Although pressing Ctrl-space brings up the list for
me. It includes both snippets as well as namespaces. (VS2005)

Sep 18 '06 #4
Hello Dave,

Do u use any kind of VS addins? like Resharper or CodeRush? because this
tools may change the default VS intellisence hotkeys.
Go to to the VS IDE Tools->Options and check that all checkbox that relates
to the intelliscence are marked

DHi
D>
DWith Visual Studio 2003, I could hit CTRL+Space to invoke
Dintellisense. Has the keystroke changed on 2005 because it doesn't
Dwork for me?
D>
DThanks
D>
DDave
D>
---
WBR,
Michael Nemtsev :: blog: http://spaces.live.com/laflour

"At times one remains faithful to a cause only because its opponents do not
cease to be insipid." (c) Friedrich Nietzsche
Sep 18 '06 #5
I can't answer that question. I don't remember how the Intellisense with the
"using" directive worked in VS.Net 2003, but I'll take your word for it.
There were quite a few changes between the 2 versions, and apparently it was
decided that it would be better if it worked the way it does now. Maybe it's
because you have the option of using an alias with a namespace. Of course,
this was true in the 2003 platform as well, but as to why they changed it
(assuming they did), I can't say.

--
HTH,

Kevin Spencer
Microsoft MVP
Chicken Salad Surgery

What You Seek Is What You Get.

<bu****@wizardbuy.comwrote in message
news:11**********************@i3g2000cwc.googlegro ups.com...
Thanks for your reply Kevin.

I mainly see it on typing the using directives at the top of a class. I
used to be able to type "using" then space and it would give me all the
namespaces available.

This no longer occurs and I have to for example type "System." before
it will list anything??

Thanks

Sep 18 '06 #6

This discussion thread is closed

Replies have been disabled for this discussion.

Similar topics

1 post views Thread by Martyn Fewtrell | last post: by
8 posts views Thread by Will Chamberlain | last post: by
54 posts views Thread by m.roello | last post: by
1 post views Thread by John Kotuby | last post: by
5 posts views Thread by Michael Reichenbach | last post: by
1 post views Thread by Nathan Sokalski | last post: by
reply views Thread by leo001 | last post: by

By using Bytes.com and it's services, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

To disable or enable advertisements and analytics tracking please visit the manage ads & tracking page.