469,290 Members | 1,866 Online
Bytes | Developer Community
New Post

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

Post your question to a community of 469,290 developers. It's quick & easy.

What project property controls the setting of '/RTC1' option?

Hi

Could any one tell me what project property controls the setting of '/RTC1' option? Now I have a project which has this build error "Command line error D2016 : '/RTC1' and '/clr' command-line options are incompatible". But when I view the .vcproj file, I cannot find the '/RTC1' option

Thanks

Yifan
Nov 17 '05 #1
5 11131
"Yifan" <an*******@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:22**********************************@microsof t.com...
Could any one tell me what project property controls
the setting of '/RTC1' option? Now I have a project
which has this build error "Command line error D2016 :
'/RTC1' and '/clr' command-line options are incompatible".
But when I view the .vcproj file, I cannot find the '/RTC1' option.


If you look up 'RTC' in MSDN you will find this:

<quote>
To set this compiler option in the Visual Studio development environment

Open the project's Property Pages dialog box. For details, see Setting
Visual C++ Project Properties.
Click the C/C++ folder.
Click the Code Generation property page.
Modify one or both of the following properties: Basic Runtime Checks or
Smaller Type Check.
</quote>

Regards,
Will


Nov 17 '05 #2
Thanks for the reply. For C/C++ Code Generation, I set the Smaller Type Check to No. And I have tried every option in the Basic Runtime Checks, and they all give me error of confliction with /clr.

The following is my C/C++ > Command Line > All Options:
/Od /I "../../sdk/AE/6.0/Headers/AS" /I "../../sdk/AE/6.0/Headers/ADM" /I "../../sdk/AE/6.0/Headers" /I "../../sdk/AE/6.0/Util" /I "../../xml/xerces-c2_4_0/include" /I "../../sdk/AAF/AAFWinSDK/include" /I "../../sdk/AAF/Utilities/Include" /AI ".\Debug" /D "MSWindows" /D "WIN32" /D "_DEBUG" /D "_WINDOWS" /D "_USRDLL" /D "AEIOAAF_EXPORTS" /D "OM_ENABLE_DEBUG" /D "PEI_INTERNAL" /D "_WINDLL" /FD /EHsc /MDd /GS /Fo".\Debug/" /Fd".\Debug/" /FR".\Debug/" /W3 /nologo /c /Zi /clr

I got error of "Command line error D2016 : '/RTC1' and '/clr' command-line options are incompatible". Any idea why? Thanks.

Yifan

----- William DePalo [MVP VC++] wrote: -----

"Yifan" <an*******@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:22**********************************@microsof t.com...
Could any one tell me what project property controls
the setting of '/RTC1' option? Now I have a project
which has this build error "Command line error D2016 :
'/RTC1' and '/clr' command-line options are incompatible".
But when I view the .vcproj file, I cannot find the '/RTC1' option.


If you look up 'RTC' in MSDN you will find this:

<quote>
To set this compiler option in the Visual Studio development environment

Open the project's Property Pages dialog box. For details, see Setting
Visual C++ Project Properties.
Click the C/C++ folder.
Click the Code Generation property page.
Modify one or both of the following properties: Basic Runtime Checks or
Smaller Type Check.
</quote>

Regards,
Will

Nov 17 '05 #3
"Yifan" <an*******@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:5F**********************************@microsof t.com...
Thanks for the reply. For C/C++ Code Generation, I
set the Smaller Type Check to No.


In a project of mine I have

1) "Smaller Type Check" set to "No"
2) "Basic Runtime Checks" set to "Default"
3) "Use Managed Extensions" set to "Yes"

Does that combination work for you?

Regards,
Will
Nov 17 '05 #4

1) "Smaller Type Check" set to "No
2) "Basic Runtime Checks" set to "Default
3) "Use Managed Extensions" set to "Yes
No, this doesn't work for me. I got the error "Command line error D2016 : '/RTC1' and '/clr' command-line options are incompatible"

Because I want to use function UrlDecode(), I have
#using <mscorlib.dll
#using <System.dll
#using <System.Web.dll

using namespace System
using namespace System::Web

in a C++ file

Yifa

----- William DePalo [MVP VC++] wrote: ----

"Yifan" <an*******@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in messag
news:5F**********************************@microsof t.com..
Thanks for the reply. For C/C++ Code Generation,
set the Smaller Type Check to No


In a project of mine I hav

1) "Smaller Type Check" set to "No
2) "Basic Runtime Checks" set to "Default
3) "Use Managed Extensions" set to "Yes

Does that combination work for you

Regards
Wil

Nov 17 '05 #5
"Yifan" <an*******@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:97**********************************@microsof t.com...

1) "Smaller Type Check" set to "No"
2) "Basic Runtime Checks" set to "Default"
3) "Use Managed Extensions" set to "Yes"
No, this doesn't work for me. I got the error "Command line error D2016 : '/RTC1' and '/clr' command-line options are incompatible".
Because I want to use function UrlDecode(), I have:
#using <mscorlib.dll>
#using <System.dll>
#using <System.Web.dll>

using namespace System;
using namespace System::Web;

in a C++ file.


Then I'm sorry that I can't help you. The diagnostic is telling you that you
can't have both the managed extensions option ( /clr ) and the others that
you'd like to have.

Regards,
Will
Nov 17 '05 #6

This discussion thread is closed

Replies have been disabled for this discussion.

Similar topics

3 posts views Thread by Ryno Rijnsburger | last post: by
7 posts views Thread by Arun Kannan | last post: by
7 posts views Thread by Selden McCabe | last post: by
reply views Thread by Fred | last post: by
1 post views Thread by CARIGAR | last post: by
reply views Thread by zhoujie | last post: by
reply views Thread by suresh191 | last post: by
By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.