471,339 Members | 1,253 Online
Bytes | Software Development & Data Engineering Community
Post +

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

Join Bytes to post your question to a community of 471,339 software developers and data experts.

CallBack Method To Refresh Cache Within Global.asax

Ok, I'm must be an dummy, there are tons of examples which none of which I
can get to work! I want to setup and refresh about (10) different cache
items. Most examples show this type of work being completed in the
global.asax but I can't get it to work. I move the code to a C# class, call
it from a webpage and it works fine. Am I trying to code this in the wrong
spot, i.e. global.asa. I am reading up on callback functionality this
evening but am wondering if the object goes out of scope how does it perform
a callback, sorry if that's a basic question.

Again, any help appreciated as I don't want to spend the weekend on this.

Thanks!

Jim Douglas
Aug 5 '05 #1
4 3963
Should be coded in global.asax.cs instead of global.asax ... Double click on
the global.asax file and hit F7 to get to the global.asax.cs

Hope this helps

Brian Delahunty
Ireland

http://briandela.com/blog

"Jim Douglas" wrote:
Ok, I'm must be an dummy, there are tons of examples which none of which I
can get to work! I want to setup and refresh about (10) different cache
items. Most examples show this type of work being completed in the
global.asax but I can't get it to work. I move the code to a C# class, call
it from a webpage and it works fine. Am I trying to code this in the wrong
spot, i.e. global.asa. I am reading up on callback functionality this
evening but am wondering if the object goes out of scope how does it perform
a callback, sorry if that's a basic question.

Again, any help appreciated as I don't want to spend the weekend on this.

Thanks!

Jim Douglas

Aug 7 '05 #2
Thanks, duh, now thinking about it makes perfect sense! Thanks again!

On Sun, 7 Aug 2005 13:33:01 -0700, Brian Delahunty
<Br************@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote:
Should be coded in global.asax.cs instead of global.asax ... Double click on
the global.asax file and hit F7 to get to the global.asax.cs

Hope this helps

Brian Delahunty
Ireland

http://briandela.com/blog

"Jim Douglas" wrote:
Ok, I'm must be an dummy, there are tons of examples which none of which I
can get to work! I want to setup and refresh about (10) different cache
items. Most examples show this type of work being completed in the
global.asax but I can't get it to work. I move the code to a C# class, call
it from a webpage and it works fine. Am I trying to code this in the wrong
spot, i.e. global.asa. I am reading up on callback functionality this
evening but am wondering if the object goes out of scope how does it perform
a callback, sorry if that's a basic question.

Again, any help appreciated as I don't want to spend the weekend on this.

Thanks!

Jim Douglas

Aug 8 '05 #3
Your welcome. Gla dI could help.

--
Brian Delahunty
Ireland

http://briandela.com/blog
"ja***********@genesis-software.com" wrote:
Thanks, duh, now thinking about it makes perfect sense! Thanks again!

On Sun, 7 Aug 2005 13:33:01 -0700, Brian Delahunty
<Br************@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote:
Should be coded in global.asax.cs instead of global.asax ... Double click on
the global.asax file and hit F7 to get to the global.asax.cs

Hope this helps

Brian Delahunty
Ireland

http://briandela.com/blog

"Jim Douglas" wrote:
Ok, I'm must be an dummy, there are tons of examples which none of which I
can get to work! I want to setup and refresh about (10) different cache
items. Most examples show this type of work being completed in the
global.asax but I can't get it to work. I move the code to a C# class, call
it from a webpage and it works fine. Am I trying to code this in the wrong
spot, i.e. global.asa. I am reading up on callback functionality this
evening but am wondering if the object goes out of scope how does it perform
a callback, sorry if that's a basic question.

Again, any help appreciated as I don't want to spend the weekend on this.

Thanks!

Jim Douglas

Aug 8 '05 #4

I finally figured this out, the code would have to go into
global.asax, not the code behind page. Once I added
the code there all is fine! Thanks!

On Sun, 7 Aug 2005 13:33:01 -0700, Brian Delahunty
<Br************@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote:
Should be coded in global.asax.cs instead of global.asax ... Double click on
the global.asax file and hit F7 to get to the global.asax.cs

Hope this helps

Brian Delahunty
Ireland

http://briandela.com/blog

"Jim Douglas" wrote:
Ok, I'm must be an dummy, there are tons of examples which none of which I
can get to work! I want to setup and refresh about (10) different cache
items. Most examples show this type of work being completed in the
global.asax but I can't get it to work. I move the code to a C# class, call
it from a webpage and it works fine. Am I trying to code this in the wrong
spot, i.e. global.asa. I am reading up on callback functionality this
evening but am wondering if the object goes out of scope how does it perform
a callback, sorry if that's a basic question.

Again, any help appreciated as I don't want to spend the weekend on this.

Thanks!

Jim Douglas

Aug 9 '05 #5

This discussion thread is closed

Replies have been disabled for this discussion.

Similar topics

3 posts views Thread by Brian Vallelunga | last post: by
2 posts views Thread by Promenade | last post: by
1 post views Thread by Joe Fallon | last post: by
1 post views Thread by Glenn | last post: by
1 post views Thread by wavemill | last post: by
1 post views Thread by Hoss | last post: by

By using Bytes.com and it's services, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

To disable or enable advertisements and analytics tracking please visit the manage ads & tracking page.