469,275 Members | 1,835 Online
Bytes | Developer Community
New Post

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

Post your question to a community of 469,275 developers. It's quick & easy.

filenames

Hi, anyone knowing whether the filename
"windows.js" causes any difficulties if I use it for
a javascipt-file to be included in a html-page ?
thanks
Wolfgang
Jul 20 '05 #1
6 1192
Wolfgang wrote on 16 jan 2004 in comp.lang.javascript:
Hi, anyone knowing whether the filename
"windows.js" causes any difficulties if I use it for
a javascipt-file to be included in a html-page ?


did you experience any ?

--
Evertjan.
The Netherlands.
(Please change the x'es to dots in my emailaddress)
Jul 20 '05 #2

maybe, I got a javascript error, reduced to a very simple example (no
javascript at all, only including the file windows.js) .
The error still happend and disappeared after renaming to Windows.js.
I am not quite shure whether I found the real reason.
(client: IE 6.0)
Wolfgang
*** Sent via Developersdex http://www.developersdex.com ***
Don't just participate in USENET...get rewarded for it!
Jul 20 '05 #3
Wolfgang wrote on 16 jan 2004 in comp.lang.javascript:
Hi, anyone knowing whether the filename
"windows.js" causes any difficulties if I use it for
a javascipt-file to be included in a html-page ?
I wrote: did you experience any ? Wolfgang Schrader wrote on 16 jan 2004 in comp.lang.javascript: maybe, I got a javascript error,
What error content ?
reduced to a very simple example (no
javascript at all, only including the file windows.js) .
you should at least put some js in that file:

alert("hi")
The error still happend and disappeared after renaming to Windows.js.
I am not quite shure whether I found the real reason.
(client: IE 6.0)


The simple answer by experiment is:

rename your file back to windows.js,
and if the problem re-emerges, it is probably the case

Perhaps show us your exact linking code?

--
Evertjan.
The Netherlands.
(Please change the x'es to dots in my emailaddress)
Jul 20 '05 #4
test
"Evertjan." <ex**************@interxnl.net> wrote in message
news:Xn********************@194.109.133.29...
Wolfgang wrote on 16 jan 2004 in comp.lang.javascript:
Hi, anyone knowing whether the filename
"windows.js" causes any difficulties if I use it for
a javascipt-file to be included in a html-page ?

I wrote:
did you experience any ?

Wolfgang Schrader wrote on 16 jan 2004 in comp.lang.javascript:
maybe, I got a javascript error,


What error content ?
reduced to a very simple example (no
javascript at all, only including the file windows.js) .


you should at least put some js in that file:

alert("hi")
The error still happend and disappeared after renaming to Windows.js.
I am not quite shure whether I found the real reason.
(client: IE 6.0)


The simple answer by experiment is:

rename your file back to windows.js,
and if the problem re-emerges, it is probably the case

Perhaps show us your exact linking code?

--
Evertjan.
The Netherlands.
(Please change the x'es to dots in my emailaddress)

Jul 20 '05 #5
test 2
"Manu" <ma*********************@erl11.siemens.de> wrote in message
news:bu**********@mail1.sbs.de...
test
"Evertjan." <ex**************@interxnl.net> wrote in message
news:Xn********************@194.109.133.29...
Wolfgang wrote on 16 jan 2004 in comp.lang.javascript:
Hi, anyone knowing whether the filename
"windows.js" causes any difficulties if I use it for
a javascipt-file to be included in a html-page ?

I wrote:
did you experience any ?

Wolfgang Schrader wrote on 16 jan 2004 in comp.lang.javascript:
maybe, I got a javascript error,


What error content ?
reduced to a very simple example (no
javascript at all, only including the file windows.js) .


you should at least put some js in that file:

alert("hi")
The error still happend and disappeared after renaming to Windows.js.
I am not quite shure whether I found the real reason.
(client: IE 6.0)


The simple answer by experiment is:

rename your file back to windows.js,
and if the problem re-emerges, it is probably the case

Perhaps show us your exact linking code?

--
Evertjan.
The Netherlands.
(Please change the x'es to dots in my emailaddress)


Jul 20 '05 #6

the error message itself is nonsens
(wrong character in line 1, colums 7)
it occurs even the javascript-file is empty.
I tried it with an alert before deleting all in the file.

But I failed isolating the problem from the SAP-workbench
I work with. This means, outside SAP it is working. I have to look for
this phenomena at first.
Therefore thanks so far.
*** Sent via Developersdex http://www.developersdex.com ***
Don't just participate in USENET...get rewarded for it!
Jul 20 '05 #7

This discussion thread is closed

Replies have been disabled for this discussion.

Similar topics

9 posts views Thread by hokiegal99 | last post: by
8 posts views Thread by Tim | last post: by
2 posts views Thread by rbutch | last post: by
2 posts views Thread by Taras_96 | last post: by
3 posts views Thread by Torsten Bronger | last post: by
1 post views Thread by CARIGAR | last post: by
reply views Thread by suresh191 | last post: by
By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.