Hey there,
Big-time curiosity issue here...
Here's the test code (it's not that long)... it's to display a large
number of image links with captions, ideally pulled in from an
external file (that part's not here -- spotlighting the problem code):
--------BEGIN CODE PAGE------------
<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN"
"http://www.w3.org/tr/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
<html>
<head>
<title>Test</title>
<script type="text/javascript">
function testSpans(sbody) {
var sp, i, j, oneRecord;
sbody = document.getElementById(sbody);
for (i = 0; i <= 1; i++) {
var bkSpan, bkAa, bkAb, bkAex, bkImg, bkTitle,
bkTypea, bkTypeb, txt, br;
txt = "Text Text";
testImg = document.createElement("img");
testImg.setAttribute("src",
"images/test.gif");
testA = document.createElement("a");
testA.setAttribute("href",
"test/url/index.htm");
testA.appendChild(testImg);
br = document.createElement("br");
testA.appendChild(br);
testText = document.createTextNode(txt);
testA.appendChild(testText);
testSpan = document.createElement("span");
testSpan.setAttribute("id", i);
testSpan.style.display = "inline";
testSpan.style.width = "100px";
testSpan.appendChild(testA);
sbody.appendChild(testSpan);
}
}
function init() {
testSpans('scoobyDoo');
}
</script>
</head>
<body onload="init()">
<h1>Test</h1>
<hr />
<table><tr><td id="scoobyDoo"></td></tr></table>
</body>
</html>
--------END CODE PAGE------------
When it displays, the <span>'s don't line up on the same line like
they should:
IMAGE IMAGE
text text
Instead, it's as if the first span never ends... the image from the
second span displays right after the text in the first, like this:
IMAGE
text IMAGE
text
Using MSIE's "View Partial Source" powertoy, I can see that the
generated HTML is as follows:
--------BEGIN GENERATED HTML------------
<H1>Test</H1>
<HR>
<TABLE>
<TBODY>
<TR>
<TD id=scoobyDoo><SPAN id=0 style="DISPLAY: inline; WIDTH: 100px"><A
href="test/url/index.htm"><IMG height=30 src="images/test.gif"
width=28><BR>Text
Text</A></SPAN><SPAN id=1 style="DISPLAY: inline; WIDTH: 100px"><A
href="test/url/index.htm"><IMG height=30 src="images/test.gif"
width=28><BR>Text
Text</A></SPAN></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>
--------END GENERATED HTML------------
The problem is that *this is right!* Putting this code in a page
displays perfectly, but it doesn't when generated by the JavaScript
shown above.
Anyone have any ideas? A CSS tag that will help? Another way to
dynamically create this data? Anything will be appreciated...
- Akbar 14 2409
Akbar <me@here.com> writes: --------BEGIN CODE PAGE------------ <!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/tr/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
I see you use a DOCTYPE that puts IE in standards mode.
When it displays, the <span>'s don't line up on the same line like they should:
IMAGE IMAGE text text
They shouldn't with the code you generate, not in standards mode.
<SPAN id=0 style="DISPLAY: inline; WIDTH: 100px">
I see a problem right here. The CSS width property should have no
effect on an inline block.
The problem is that *this is right!* Putting this code in a page displays perfectly,
If by "this code" you mean the above, then notice that you don't have
a DOCTYPE that puts the browser into standards mode. Add that, and IE
will show it the same way as when generating it with Javascript.
Anyone have any ideas? A CSS tag that will help? Another way to dynamically create this data? Anything will be appreciated...
Make the blocks display:block and float:left. Then they will line up
the way you want. Or put them into separate td's.
/L
--
Lasse Reichstein Nielsen - lr*@hotpop.com
Art D'HTML: <URL:http://www.infimum.dk/HTML/randomArtSplit.html>
'Faith without judgement merely degrades the spirit divine.'
Akbar wrote: Hey there,
Big-time curiosity issue here...
Here's the test code (it's not that long)... it's to display a large number of image links with captions, ideally pulled in from an external file (that part's not here -- spotlighting the problem code):
--------BEGIN CODE PAGE------------ <!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/tr/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd"> <html> <head>
I usually add these lines into xhtml files:
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1" />
<meta http-equiv="Content-Language" content="en-us" />
<meta http-equiv="Content-Style-Type" content="text/css" />
<meta http-equiv="Content-Script-Type" content="text/javascript" />
<title>Test</title> <script type="text/javascript"> function testSpans(sbody) {
"In XHTML, the script and style elements are declared as having #PCDATA
content. As a result, < and & will be treated as the start of markup,
and entities such as < and & will be recognized as entity
references by the XML processor to < and & respectively. Wrapping the
content of the script or style element within a CDATA marked section
avoids the expansion of these entities." http://www.w3.org/TR/2002/REC-xhtml1-20020801/#h-4.8
So, if you use < or & in your unmarked CDATA function, then it will be
treated and considered as markup.
<script type="text/javascript">
<![CDATA[
.... unescaped script content ...
]]>
</script>
is what I suggest here since you use < in your code.
var sp, i, j, oneRecord; sbody = document.getElementById(sbody); for (i = 0; i <= 1; i++) {
right here, we see the <.
var bkSpan, bkAa, bkAb, bkAex, bkImg, bkTitle, bkTypea, bkTypeb, txt, br; txt = "Text Text"; testImg = document.createElement("img"); testImg.setAttribute("src", "images/test.gif");
Not recommendable. setAttribute should be used only when there is no
other attribute possible. Here, the simple
testImg.src = "images/test.gif";
works. http://www.w3.org/TR/DOM-Level-2-HTM...ml#ID-87762984
testA = document.createElement("a"); testA.setAttribute("href", "test/url/index.htm");
testA.href = "test/url/index.htm"; http://www.w3.org/TR/DOM-Level-2-HTM...ml#ID-88517319
testA.appendChild(testImg); br = document.createElement("br"); testA.appendChild(br); testText = document.createTextNode(txt); testA.appendChild(testText);
or
testA.appendChild(document.createTextNode(txt));
testSpan = document.createElement("span"); testSpan.setAttribute("id", i);
testSpan.id = i; http://www.w3.org/TR/DOM-Level-2-HTM...ml#ID-63534901
testSpan.style.display = "inline";
Per definiion, a span is an inline element. So, there is no need for
that here.
testSpan.style.width = "100px"; testSpan.appendChild(testA); sbody.appendChild(testSpan); } }
function init() { testSpans('scoobyDoo'); } </script> </head> <body onload="init()"> <h1>Test</h1> <hr /> <table><tr><td id="scoobyDoo"></td></tr></table> </body> </html> --------END CODE PAGE------------
When it displays, the <span>'s don't line up on the same line like they should:
IMAGE IMAGE text text
Instead, it's as if the first span never ends... the image from the second span displays right after the text in the first, like this:
IMAGE text IMAGE text
Using MSIE's "View Partial Source" powertoy, I can see that the generated HTML is as follows:
--------BEGIN GENERATED HTML------------ <H1>Test</H1> <HR>
<TABLE> <TBODY> <TR> <TD id=scoobyDoo><SPAN id=0 style="DISPLAY: inline; WIDTH: 100px"><A href="test/url/index.htm"><IMG height=30 src="images/test.gif" width=28><BR>Text Text</A></SPAN><SPAN id=1 style="DISPLAY: inline; WIDTH: 100px"><A href="test/url/index.htm"><IMG height=30 src="images/test.gif" width=28><BR>Text Text</A></SPAN></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE> --------END GENERATED HTML------------
The problem is that *this is right!* Putting this code in a page displays perfectly, but it doesn't when generated by the JavaScript shown above.
Anyone have any ideas? A CSS tag that will help? Another way to dynamically create this data? Anything will be appreciated...
- Akbar
2 other suggestions:
- write a short but meaningful subject line in your post. Just
"Script-generated code displaying differntly" was sufficient
- try to upload your code, page somewhere and then just give the url;
that's always better and so much more convenient as the code can be
tested with various softwares (validations, verifying http headers, link
validators, accessibility validators,etc..)
DU
--
Javascript and Browser bugs: http://www10.brinkster.com/doctorunclear/
- Resources, help and tips for Netscape 7.x users and Composer
- Interactive demos on Popup windows, music (audio/midi) in Netscape 7.x http://www10.brinkster.com/doctorunc...e7Section.html
DU,
Lots of great info! Thanks! Some issues tho...
On Sun, 07 Sep 2003 15:11:56 -0400, DU <dr*******@hotREMOVEmail.com>
wrote: So, if you use < or & in your unmarked CDATA function, then it will be treated and considered as markup.
<script type="text/javascript"> <![CDATA[ ... unescaped script content ... ]]> </script>
is what I suggest here since you use < in your code.
var sp, i, j, oneRecord; sbody = document.getElementById(sbody); for (i = 0; i <= 1; i++) { right here, we see the <.
Tried this, now IE throws Syntax Errors. :( (In Opera7, it doesn;t
do anything at all... hmmmm. Neither does another page that works
fine.. hmmmmmmm.) testImg.setAttribute("src", "images/test.gif");
Not recommendable. setAttribute should be used only when there is no other attribute possible. Here, the simple
testImg.src = "images/test.gif";
works.
Thanks! Me == newb. Got most of this from an O'Reilly cookbook.
Learning by example... testSpan.style.display = "inline";
Per definiion, a span is an inline element. So, there is no need for that here.
This was me trying just about anything to see what might work to fix
it...
2 other suggestions: - write a short but meaningful subject line in your post. Just "Script-generated code displaying differntly" was sufficient
'kay.
- try to upload your code, page somewhere and then just give the url; that's always better and so much more convenient as the code can be tested with various softwares (validations, verifying http headers, link validators, accessibility validators,etc..)
'kay
Thanks again!
- Akbar
On 07 Sep 2003 21:12:04 +0200, Lasse Reichstein Nielsen
<lr*@hotpop.com> wrote: Akbar <me@here.com> writes:
--------BEGIN CODE PAGE------------ <!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/tr/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd"> I see you use a DOCTYPE that puts IE in standards mode.
Actaully, I'm just using the HomeSite default new-page template. :) When it displays, the <span>'s don't line up on the same line like they should:
IMAGE IMAGE text text
They shouldn't with the code you generate, not in standards mode.
Hm. They do when the code is input static-ly versus dynamically. Go
figure... <SPAN id=0 style="DISPLAY: inline; WIDTH: 100px">
I see a problem right here. The CSS width property should have no effect on an inline block.
Without the WIDTH property, the text below the image wouldn't wrap to
stay below the image. The problem is that *this is right!* Putting this code in a page displays perfectly,
If by "this code" you mean the above, then notice that you don't have a DOCTYPE that puts the browser into standards mode.
But the first this you said above was that I "use a DOCTYPE that puts
IE in standards mode." Now you say I "*don't* have a DOCTYPE that puts
the browser into standards mode." (Emphasis mine) Which is it? :(
Add that, and IE will show it the same way as when generating it with Javascript.
What DOCTYPE would you recommend?
Make the blocks display:block and float:left. Then they will line up the way you want. Or put them into separate td's.
Nope. Tried this and they all displayed in a vert line down the left
side. Wanted them to appear like words on a page, each span walking
from left to right across the page then wrapping at the edge of the
page.
Thanks for you comments!
- Akbar
Akbar <me@here.com> writes: <SPAN id=0 style="DISPLAY: inline; WIDTH: 100px"> I see a problem right here. The CSS width property should have no effect on an inline block.
Without the WIDTH property, the text below the image wouldn't wrap to stay below the image.
With a width property, in standards mode, it won't either, since the
width property of inline elements are ignored. The problem is that *this is right!* Putting this code in a page displays perfectly,
If by "this code" you mean the above, then notice that you don't have a DOCTYPE that puts the browser into standards mode.
But the first this you said above was that I "use a DOCTYPE that puts IE in standards mode." Now you say I "*don't* have a DOCTYPE that puts the browser into standards mode." (Emphasis mine) Which is it? :(
Do you put the code into the same page, or into a page of its own?
If I take the generated code that you showed, and put it into a page
of its own, then it displays the way you want. Because the generated
code doesn't have a DOCTYPE, *taht* page is displayed in quirks mode.
If I then copy the DOCTYPE from the original page and add it to the
top of the generated code, then the generated code is shown according
to standards. And it displays the way you don't want it to, but that
the standards mandate.
What DOCTYPE would you recommend?
Any will do, as long as the HTML/XHTML actually follows the DOCTYPE.
To enforce standards mode, you will have to pick a DOCTYPE that triggers
standards mode. I prefer HTML 4.01 (strict) or XHTML 1.1, but it's not
that important, as long as you add a correct URL.
The generated code has tag names in capital letters, so it's not XHTML.
Then I would use:
<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01//EN"
"http://www.w3.org/TR/REC-html401/strict.dtd">
This page shows the DOCTYPE effects in Opera, which is similar to IE and
Mozilla: <URL:http://www.opera.com/docs/specs/doctype/>
[float:left] Nope. Tried this and they all displayed in a vert line down the left side. Wanted them to appear like words on a page, each span walking from left to right across the page then wrapping at the edge of the page.
That is probably becaue you have wrapped it in a table. A table with one
cell is rarely necessary.
Try looking at this page:
---
<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01//EN"
"http://www.w3.org/TR/REC-html401/strict.dtd">
<HTML>
<HEAD><TITLE>Test page</TITLE></HEAD>
<BODY>
<DIV style="border:1px solid green;width:350px;height:300px;">
<DIV style="width:100px;float:left;">
<A HREF=""><IMG SRC="http://www.infimum.dk/privat/PicA.png"><BR>
Some Text</A></DIV>
<DIV style="width:100px;float:left;">
<A HREF=""><IMG SRC="http://www.infimum.dk/privat/PicB.png"><BR>
Some more text</A></DIV>
<DIV style="width:100px;float:left;">
<A HREF=""><IMG SRC="http://www.infimum.dk/privat/PicA.png"><BR>
small text</A></DIV>
<DIV style="width:100px;float:left;">
<A HREF=""><IMG SRC="http://www.infimum.dk/privat/PicB.png"><BR>
Text that goes on for miles and miles</A></DIV>
</DIV>
</BODY>
</HTML>
---
The divs (no need to use spans, floats are automatically made block
elements) line up fine, and wrap to the next line when there isn't room
enough.
/L
--
Lasse Reichstein Nielsen - lr*@hotpop.com
Art D'HTML: <URL:http://www.infimum.dk/HTML/randomArtSplit.html>
'Faith without judgement merely degrades the spirit divine.'
Replace the first DIVs text wth the fourth's and this code breaks. See
here -> http://www.straffin.com/test/divtest.html
Thank you for your help... I really want to do this right (so it
*works* and is *standard*), but I'm just not seeing how...
- Akbar
On 10 Sep 2003 11:25:50 +0200, Lasse Reichstein Nielsen
<lr*@hotpop.com> wrote: <!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/REC-html401/strict.dtd"> <HTML> <HEAD><TITLE>Test page</TITLE></HEAD> <BODY> <DIV style="border:1px solid green;width:350px;height:300px;"> <DIV style="width:100px;float:left;"> <A HREF=""><IMG SRC="http://www.infimum.dk/privat/PicA.png"><BR> Some Text</A></DIV> <DIV style="width:100px;float:left;"> <A HREF=""><IMG SRC="http://www.infimum.dk/privat/PicB.png"><BR> Some more text</A></DIV> <DIV style="width:100px;float:left;"> <A HREF=""><IMG SRC="http://www.infimum.dk/privat/PicA.png"><BR> small text</A></DIV> <DIV style="width:100px;float:left;"> <A HREF=""><IMG SRC="http://www.infimum.dk/privat/PicB.png"><BR> Text that goes on for miles and miles</A></DIV> </DIV> </BODY> </HTML>
Akbar <me@here.com> writes: Replace the first DIVs text wth the fourth's and this code breaks. See here -> http://www.straffin.com/test/divtest.html
Ah, well noticed. To avoid that, you must make every box the same
height, by setting the height property of the divs.
/L
--
Lasse Reichstein Nielsen - lr*@hotpop.com
Art D'HTML: <URL:http://www.infimum.dk/HTML/randomArtSplit.html>
'Faith without judgement merely degrades the spirit divine.'
On 11 Sep 2003 04:36:27 +0200, Lasse Reichstein Nielsen
<lr*@hotpop.com> wrote: Akbar <me@here.com> writes:
Replace the first DIVs text wth the fourth's and this code breaks. See here -> http://www.straffin.com/test/divtest.html
Ah, well noticed. To avoid that, you must make every box the same height, by setting the height property of the divs.
And I can do that, but when I put this logic into my JavaScript, it
does the same thing the SPANs were doing.
This script --> http://www.straffin.com/test/dynamic.html
generates this HTML --> http://www.straffin.com/test/static.html
but they don't work/look the same. :(
I believe that DU had something whet he mentioned using CDATA, but I
cannot get that to work at all... it just gives syntax errors. There's
enough code that I could pull it out into an external file, but am not
sure how to do so.
Any pointers on the CDATA or external file stuff? :)
- Akbar
Akbar wrote: This script --> http://www.straffin.com/test/dynamic.html generates this HTML --> http://www.straffin.com/test/static.html but they don't work/look the same. :(
You have to first establish what you want here: an HTML 4.01 strict DTD
or an XHMTL 1 transitional DTD. Because I gave you numerous advices
based on the DTD you first chose. If you later remove that DTD, then
such advices if not removed will likely cause validation errors and
script errors.
I believe that DU had something whet he mentioned using CDATA, but I cannot get that to work at all... it just gives syntax errors. There's enough code that I could pull it out into an external file,
You do not need to create an external file. Creating an external .js
file (regardless of DTD) is recommendable when the .js file is likely to
be used again for other files; cached files save http connection trips
to the server.
but am not sure how to do so.
Don't worry, I have done this before and I still have an entire working
example in a file. Any pointers on the CDATA or external file stuff? :)
- Akbar
This code works in Mozilla 1.5b, NS 7.1, Opera 7.20 and MSIE 6 for
Windows. I corrected a lot of misses in your code, removed unnecessary
variables, tuned their declarations and assignments and optimized the
code at several places. The color borders, commented out, are only there
for some visual feedback of the layout.
If you want all your <div>s to be on an horizontal line in MSIE 6 for
Windows as well, then you'll need to make some changes to the code.
Creating <div>s and adding a <br> to anchor objects certainly does NOT
seem to be necessary nor needed: I think it's only there to have the
text right under the image and links all lined up horizontally.
----------------
<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Strict//EN"
"http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-strict.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml" xml:lang="en-us">
<head>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1" />
<meta http-equiv="Content-Language" content="en-us" />
<meta http-equiv="Content-Style-Type" content="text/css" />
<meta http-equiv="Content-Script-Type" content="text/javascript" />
<title>Creating dynamically an html file</title>
<style type="text/css">
p#validation img {width:88px; height:31px; margin:0 0.5em;}
</style>
<script type="text/javascript">
// <![CDATA[
function testDivs(sbody)
{
for (var iterator = 0; iterator < 7; iterator++)
{
var DOMobjImg = document.createElement("img");
DOMobjImg.src =
"http://www10.brinkster.com/doctorunclear/GRAPHICS/GIF/Wavey.gif";
DOMobjImg.width = "25";
DOMobjImg.height = "29";
DOMobjImg.alt = ":)";
// DOMobjImg.alt = "Relevant meaningful alternate text";
var DOMobjA = document.createElement("a");
DOMobjA.href = "http://www.yahoo.com/";
DOMobjA.title = "Yahoo.com";
DOMobjA.appendChild(DOMobjImg);
var br = document.createElement("br");
DOMobjA.appendChild(br);
DOMobjA.style.margin = "0 6px";
//DOMobjA.style.border = "1px dashed green";
DOMobjA.appendChild(document.createTextNode("Ancho r" + iterator));
var DOMobjDiv = document.createElement("div");
/* DOMobjDiv.id = iterator; Why give such div an id? */
DOMobjDiv.style.cssFloat = "left";
DOMobjDiv.style.width = "100px";
// DOMobjDiv.style.border = "1px dotted red";
DOMobjDiv.appendChild(DOMobjA);
document.getElementById(sbody).appendChild(DOMobjD iv);
};
var strTest = " < & ";
}
// ]]>
</script>
</head>
<body onload="testDivs('scoobyDoo');">
<h1>Test</h1>
<hr />
<table border="2" frame="box" width="724" style="margin:0 auto;"><tr><td
id="scoobyDoo"></td></tr></table>
<p id="validation"><a href="http://validator.w3.org/check/referer"><img
src="http://www.w3.org/Icons/valid-xhtml10.png" title="Verify this
page's markup syntax" alt="Valid XHTML 1.0!" /></a> <a
href="http://jigsaw.w3.org/css-validator/check/referer"><img
src="http://jigsaw.w3.org/css-validator/images/vcss" title="Verify this
page's CSS code" alt="CSS compliant" /></a></p>
</body>
</html>
DU
--
Javascript and Browser bugs: http://www10.brinkster.com/doctorunclear/
- Resources, help and tips for Netscape 7.x users and Composer
- Interactive demos on Popup windows, music (audio/midi) in Netscape 7.x http://www10.brinkster.com/doctorunc...e7Section.html
On Thu, 11 Sep 2003 00:37:06 -0400, DU <dr*******@hotREMOVEmail.com>
wrote: This code works in Mozilla 1.5b, NS 7.1, Opera 7.20 and MSIE 6 for Windows. I corrected a lot of misses in your code, removed unnecessary variables, tuned their declarations and assignments and optimized the code at several places. The color borders, commented out, are only there for some visual feedback of the layout.
Thanks very much... this is great!
If you want all your <div>s to be on an horizontal line in MSIE 6 for Windows as well, then you'll need to make some changes to the code.
For example? (Whether I like it or not, IE will be the target browser
and needs to work there above all.)
Creating <div>s and adding a <br> to anchor objects certainly does NOT seem to be necessary nor needed: I think it's only there to have the text right under the image and links all lined up horizontally.
If I get rid of the <br> and add a space between the img and the text,
it works. See http://www.straffin.com/test/DUdyn2.html for my sample
(and the code for my next questions! <grin />)
---snip---/* DOMobjDiv.id = iterator; Why give such div an id? */
---snip---
I had been trying something else and they got left behind.
I added the next step of the code to th esample above, which works
okay, but I'm not pleased with my "alternate" use of the ALT tag. Any
suggestions for a different place to store "variables" in HTML? Also,
the placement of the validation imgs are acting funny... thoughts?
- Akbar
On Thu, 11 Sep 2003 10:22:09 GMT, Akbar <me@here.com> wrote: On Thu, 11 Sep 2003 00:37:06 -0400, DU <dr*******@hotREMOVEmail.com> wrote:
If you want all your <div>s to be on an horizontal line in MSIE 6 for Windows as well, then you'll need to make some changes to the code.
For example? (Whether I like it or not, IE will be the target browser and needs to work there above all.)
To paraphrase Oliver -- Please sir, may I have some more (info)? :)
- Akbar
On Fri, 12 Sep 2003 04:49:19 GMT, Akbar <me@here.com> wrote: On Thu, 11 Sep 2003 10:22:09 GMT, Akbar <me@here.com> wrote:
On Thu, 11 Sep 2003 00:37:06 -0400, DU <dr*******@hotREMOVEmail.com> wrote:
If you want all your <div>s to be on an horizontal line in MSIE 6 for Windows as well, then you'll need to make some changes to the code.
For example? (Whether I like it or not, IE will be the target browser and needs to work there above all.)
To paraphrase Oliver -- Please sir, may I have some more (info)? :)
Pretty please? I'd really, really like to know what "changes" you were
aluding to when you said that "If you want all your <div>s to be on an
horizontal line in MSIE 6 for Windows as well, then you'll need to
make some changes to the code."
- Akbar
On Sat, 13 Sep 2003 21:56:23 GMT, Akbar <me@here.com> wrote: On Fri, 12 Sep 2003 04:49:19 GMT, Akbar <me@here.com> wrote:
On Thu, 11 Sep 2003 10:22:09 GMT, Akbar <me@here.com> wrote:
On Thu, 11 Sep 2003 00:37:06 -0400, DU <dr*******@hotREMOVEmail.com> wrote:
If you want all your <div>s to be on an horizontal line in MSIE 6 for Windows as well, then you'll need to make some changes to the code.
For example? (Whether I like it or not, IE will be the target browser and needs to work there above all.)
To paraphrase Oliver -- Please sir, may I have some more (info)? :)
Pretty please? I'd really, really like to know what "changes" you were aluding to when you said that "If you want all your <div>s to be on an horizontal line in MSIE 6 for Windows as well, then you'll need to make some changes to the code."
- Akbar
PLEEEEEASE!?!?!
- Akbar
Use css:
<div style="display:inline"
or in your style sheet
<style type='text/css'>
..mydivclassname {display:inline}
</style
<div class='mydivclassname' ...... This discussion thread is closed Replies have been disabled for this discussion. Similar topics
5 posts
views
Thread by deko |
last post: by
|
2 posts
views
Thread by DeepBleu |
last post: by
|
16 posts
views
Thread by Luca |
last post: by
|
14 posts
views
Thread by Pascal Damian |
last post: by
|
1 post
views
Thread by ebrandmark |
last post: by
|
3 posts
views
Thread by pantagruel |
last post: by
|
11 posts
views
Thread by comp.lang.php |
last post: by
|
17 posts
views
Thread by CES |
last post: by
|
4 posts
views
Thread by 28tommy |
last post: by
|
4 posts
views
Thread by petermichaux |
last post: by
| | | | | | | | | | |