468,769 Members | 2,306 Online
Bytes | Developer Community
New Post

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

Post your question to a community of 468,769 developers. It's quick & easy.

Keyboard accessible menu

I want to use the keyboard keys for navigation in menu:

1. Alt+hotkey must activate menu bar
2. Left and right arrow must move between menus,
3. Up and Down arrow move between menu items.
4. Enter key must select menu item.

Basically, I want the menu to behave like ordinary OS menu.

I have searched the whole web but havent find any such sample.

Any sample of such menu script ?

Andrus.
Jul 20 '05 #1
3 3384
On Mon, 14 Jul 2003 14:16:03 +0300, "Andrus Moor"
<no**************@online.ee> wrote:
I want to use the keyboard keys for navigation in menu:

1. Alt+hotkey must activate menu bar
2. Left and right arrow must move between menus,
3. Up and Down arrow move between menu items.
4. Enter key must select menu item.

Basically, I want the menu to behave like ordinary OS menu.


Then leave it to HTML, since the browser is the only thing in the loop
which knows what the ordinary OS menu behaves like.

ACCESSKEY is presumably the piece of HTML you're missing.

Jim.
--
comp.lang.javascript FAQ - http://jibbering.com/faq/

Jul 20 '05 #2

"Jim Ley" <ji*@jibbering.com> wrote in message
news:3f***************@news.cis.dfn.de...
On Mon, 14 Jul 2003 14:16:03 +0300, "Andrus Moor"
<no**************@online.ee> wrote:
I want to use the keyboard keys for navigation in menu:

1. Alt+hotkey must activate menu bar
2. Left and right arrow must move between menus,
3. Up and Down arrow move between menu items.
4. Enter key must select menu item.

Basically, I want the menu to behave like ordinary OS menu.


Then leave it to HTML, since the browser is the only thing in the loop
which knows what the ordinary OS menu behaves like.

ACCESSKEY is presumably the piece of HTML you're missing.


Are there any samples about using keyboard enabled menu? I think I can
implement this only for IE and leave this functionality not implemented in
Mozilla.

I have seen a sample which uses buttons as main menus
http://www.webreference.com/dhtml/column29/6.html it uses accesskey for
main menu bars.

However, I want to select also menu sub-item from keyboard only.
Jul 20 '05 #3
On Tue, 15 Jul 2003 09:53:53 +0300, "Andrus Moor"
<no**************@online.ee> wrote:
Are there any samples about using keyboard enabled menu? I think I can
implement this only for IE and leave this functionality not implemented in
Mozilla.
All good menu systems should work fine with the tab key, that is how
you navigate through menus in my OS...
However, I want to select also menu sub-item from keyboard only.


If you want to do it with other keys you'll have to invent yourself.
It should be possible in IE and Mozilla and many others.

Jim.
--
comp.lang.javascript FAQ - http://jibbering.com/faq/

Jul 20 '05 #4

This discussion thread is closed

Replies have been disabled for this discussion.

Similar topics

1 post views Thread by Fabian | last post: by
2 posts views Thread by Jan Winnicki | last post: by
1 post views Thread by Sylwia | last post: by
2 posts views Thread by Christoph Brüser | last post: by
1 post views Thread by WJ | last post: by
reply views Thread by luc.saffre | last post: by
8 posts views Thread by BD | last post: by
1 post views Thread by CARIGAR | last post: by
reply views Thread by zhoujie | last post: by
1 post views Thread by Marin | last post: by
By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.