471,886 Members | 1,129 Online
Bytes | Software Development & Data Engineering Community
Post +

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

Join Bytes to post your question to a community of 471,886 software developers and data experts.

Text wrap problem firefox

Hi, I have a div where I have set its width to 480.
It works fine in IE, the text that i m inserting in this div gets
wrapped, but in firefox the text that i m inserting in the div is
coming out.
What's a workaround for that.

Here is my stylesheet for that div.
#detailsPopup2 {position:absolute;border-width:2px;border:solid;border-
color:#666666;text-align:left;padding:5px;top:480px;left:60px;width:
400px;height:auto;background:#52F3FF;font-family:sans-serif;font-size:
80%;z-index:110;}
Oct 2 '08 #1
3 1985
SAM
Le 10/2/08 6:15 PM, Sunny a écrit :
Hi, I have a div where I have set its width to 480.
no, it's 400.
It works fine in IE, the text that i m inserting in this div gets
wrapped, but in firefox the text that i m inserting in the div is
coming out.
What's a workaround for that.
no problemo with my Fx

perhaps the default font-size is higger in your Fx than in your IE and
you have a word (a string without white-spaces) longer than the width of
the div ?
Here is my stylesheet for that div.
#detailsPopup2 {position:absolute;border-width:2px;border:solid;border-
color:#666666;text-align:left;padding:5px;top:480px;left:60px;width:
400px;height:auto;background:#52F3FF;font-family:sans-serif;font-size:
80%;z-index:110;}
Try fixing the width of your div in 'em' instead of 'px'
Oct 2 '08 #2
On Oct 2, 1:02 pm, SAM <stephanemoriaux.NoAd...@wanadoo.fr.invalid>
wrote:
Le 10/2/08 6:15 PM, Sunny a écrit :
Hi, I have a div where I have set its width to 480.

no, it's 400.
It works fine in IE, the text that i m inserting in this div gets
wrapped, but in firefox the text that i m inserting in the div is
coming out.
What's a workaround for that.

no problemo with my Fx

perhaps the default font-size is higger in your Fx than in your IE and
you have a word (a string without white-spaces) longer than the width of
the div ?
Here is my stylesheet for that div.
#detailsPopup2 {position:absolute;border-width:2px;border:solid;border-
color:#666666;text-align:left;padding:5px;top:480px;left:60px;width:
400px;height:auto;background:#52F3FF;font-family:sans-serif;font-size:
80%;z-index:110;}

Try fixing the width of your div in 'em' instead of 'px'
Hi em didn't work.

But ya, if the string is longer,its wrappimg in IE, But in Firefox its
coming out of the div.
What should I do now.?
Oct 2 '08 #3
SAM
Le 10/2/08 7:36 PM, Sunny a écrit :
On Oct 2, 1:02 pm, SAM <stephanemoriaux.NoAd...@wanadoo.fr.invalid>
wrote:
>Try fixing the width of your div in 'em' instead of 'px'

Hi em didn't work.
???
But ya, if the string is longer,its wrappimg in IE, But in Firefox its
coming out of the div.
IE is wrong :-(
What should I do now.?

width: 400px; /* for IE < 7 */
min-width: 400px; /* for other browsers */
max-width: 600px;
Oct 2 '08 #4

This discussion thread is closed

Replies have been disabled for this discussion.

Similar topics

7 posts views Thread by Roderik | last post: by
9 posts views Thread by lkrubner | last post: by
1 post views Thread by bryanrite | last post: by
3 posts views Thread by Fluffy Convict | last post: by
8 posts views Thread by Mark D. Smith | last post: by
6 posts views Thread by Markus Ernst | last post: by
9 posts views Thread by martymix | last post: by
6 posts views Thread by Victor | last post: by
reply views Thread by YellowAndGreen | last post: by
reply views Thread by zermasroor | last post: by

By using Bytes.com and it's services, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

To disable or enable advertisements and analytics tracking please visit the manage ads & tracking page.