By using this site, you agree to our updated Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Manage your Cookies Settings.
438,843 Members | 2,300 Online
Bytes IT Community
+ Ask a Question
Need help? Post your question and get tips & solutions from a community of 438,843 IT Pros & Developers. It's quick & easy.

Can posting be deleted?

P: n/a
I posted same message three times to the forum. The first two times
didn't show up. After posting the 3rd times, all three are displayed.
I like to delete two of the three postings. If possible, please
advise. Thanks a million. And sorry for duplicate posting.

Dung Ping

Oct 3 '05 #1
Share this Question
Share on Google+
3 Replies


P: n/a
ASM
Dung Ping a écrit :
I posted same message three times to the forum. The first two times
didn't show up. After posting the 3rd times, all three are displayed.
I like to delete two of the three postings. If possible, please
advise. Thanks a million. And sorry for duplicate posting.

Dung Ping


with thunderbird :
clic on your message to cancel
menu : Edit / Delete (or Cancel ?) message

--
Stephane Moriaux et son [moins] vieux Mac
Oct 4 '05 #2

P: n/a
Dung Ping wrote:
I posted same message three times to the forum. The first two times
didn't show up. After posting the 3rd times, all three are displayed.
I like to delete two of the three postings. If possible, please
advise. Thanks a million. And sorry for duplicate posting.

Dung Ping

It looks like you are posting through Google groups' web interface.

Click on the 'show options' link, then select 'remove'. You should only
be offered the 'remove' link for your own posts (you need to be logged
in of course).

When posting, always wait a while for your posts to turn up (maybe an
hour or so, but usually much less).

--
Rob
Oct 4 '05 #3

P: n/a
Dung Ping wrote:
I posted same message three times to the forum. The first two times
didn't show up. After posting the 3rd times, all three are displayed.
I like to delete two of the three postings. If possible, please
advise. Thanks a million. And sorry for duplicate posting.

Dung Ping


It's often not worth the hassle. Many news providers ignore
cancel requests, so you are far from guaranteed that cancelling
your duplicate posts will have any effect. Exactly how you
create a cancel request depends on your news software; as you
seem to be posting from Google, I would recommend reading their
documentation and looking for information on cancelling the
duplicate posts. Your safest bet is to apologize, as you
have done, and go on with life. Mistakes happen occasionally.

Oct 4 '05 #4

This discussion thread is closed

Replies have been disabled for this discussion.