469,612 Members | 1,523 Online
Bytes | Developer Community
New Post

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

Post your question to a community of 469,612 developers. It's quick & easy.

Javascript Associative array syntax not valid. Why?!?!?!?

Help!

Why are none of these valid?

var arrayName = new Array();

arrayName['key1']['key2'] = new Array('alpha_val', 1);
arrayName['key1']['key2'] = ['alpha_val', 1];

I'm creating/writing the array on the server side from Perl, but I
keep getting a javascript error message saying
"arrayName.key1 has no properties."

I'm too bald to keep pulling my hair out... :-)

Appreciate any assistance.

Thanks!

K

Jul 23 '05 #1
13 2235
Lee
Kevin said:

Help!

Why are none of these valid?

var arrayName = new Array();

arrayName['key1']['key2'] = new Array('alpha_val', 1);
arrayName['key1']['key2'] = ['alpha_val', 1];

I'm creating/writing the array on the server side from Perl, but I
keep getting a javascript error message saying
"arrayName.key1 has no properties."


Arrays are one-dimensional.
You created arrayName as an array, but you're also
treating arrayName['key1'] as if it were an array,
without having created it.

var arrayName = new Array();
arrayName['key1'] = new Array();
arrayName['key1']['key2'] = new Array('alpha_val', 1);

Jul 23 '05 #2
In article <pa****************************@mynospammersway.co m>, Kevin
<lw***************@mynospammersway.com> wrote:
Help!

Why are none of these valid?

var arrayName = new Array();

arrayName['key1']['key2'] = new Array('alpha_val', 1);
arrayName['key1']['key2'] = ['alpha_val', 1];

I'm creating/writing the array on the server side from Perl, but I
keep getting a javascript error message saying
"arrayName.key1 has no properties."

I'm too bald to keep pulling my hair out... :-)

Appreciate any assistance.

Thanks!

K

Something like this would work

var arrayName = new Array();
arrayName['key1'] = new Array('alpha_val', 1);
arrayName['key1'][0] now has a value of 'alpha_val'
arrayName['key1'][1] now has a value of 1

Javascript does not have multiple level arrays. What it has are arrays
of arrays.

You could now say
arrayName['key1']['key2'] = arrayName['key1'][0]
arrayName['key1']['key??'] = arrayName['key1'][1]

--
Dennis Marks
http://www.dcs-chico.com/~denmarks/
To reply change none to dcsi.
-----= Posted via Newsfeeds.Com, Uncensored Usenet News =-----
http://www.newsfeeds.com - The #1 Newsgroup Service in the World!
-----== Over 100,000 Newsgroups - 19 Different Servers! =-----
Jul 23 '05 #3
THanks for the help, Lee, However, now I'm getting a different,
NONSENSICAL error:

Here is my test code:

<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/html4/loose.dtd">
<html>

<head>
<title></title>
<meta name="GENERATOR" content="Quanta Plus">
<script type="text/javascript" language="JavaScript1.3">
var firstArray = new Array();
var firstArray["key1"] = new Array();
var firstArray["key1"]["key2"] = new Arary("A",1);
var firstArray["key1"]["key3"] = new Array("b",2);

function arrayWalk() {
for (var i in firstArray) {
for (var j in firstArray[i]) {
alert("The first key of firstArray, " + i + " and the 2nd key of firstArray, " + j + "give us the following values:\n\tFirst sub-value: " + firstArray[i][j][0] + "\n\t2nd sub-value: " + firstArray[i][j][1] + ".");
}
}
}

</script>
</head>
<body>
<form action="#" name="formTest">
<input type="button" value="Test Array" name="btnTest" onClick="arrayWalk()" />
</form>

</body>
</html>

The error says "Missing ; before the statement" and it's
pointing to the space after the first double quote in line 9:

var firstArray["key1"] = new Array();

And before you ask, I tried single quotes, too, and got the same error... :-)

AAGGGGGGGGHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!! :-)

On Mon, 10 May 2004 16:34:10 -0700, Lee wrote:
Kevin said:

Help!

Why are none of these valid?

var arrayName = new Array();

arrayName['key1']['key2'] = new Array('alpha_val', 1);
arrayName['key1']['key2'] = ['alpha_val', 1];

I'm creating/writing the array on the server side from Perl, but I
keep getting a javascript error message saying
"arrayName.key1 has no properties."


Arrays are one-dimensional.
You created arrayName as an array, but you're also
treating arrayName['key1'] as if it were an array,
without having created it.

var arrayName = new Array();
arrayName['key1'] = new Array();
arrayName['key1']['key2'] = new Array('alpha_val', 1);


Jul 23 '05 #4
Never mind, I finally figured it out...

I only need the first "var"; after that, it's already declared...

<sigh>...

Thank you so much for your assistance!

K

On Mon, 10 May 2004 16:34:10 -0700, Lee wrote:
Kevin said:

Help!

Why are none of these valid?

var arrayName = new Array();

arrayName['key1']['key2'] = new Array('alpha_val', 1);
arrayName['key1']['key2'] = ['alpha_val', 1];

I'm creating/writing the array on the server side from Perl, but I
keep getting a javascript error message saying
"arrayName.key1 has no properties."


Arrays are one-dimensional.
You created arrayName as an array, but you're also
treating arrayName['key1'] as if it were an array,
without having created it.

var arrayName = new Array();
arrayName['key1'] = new Array();
arrayName['key1']['key2'] = new Array('alpha_val', 1);


Jul 23 '05 #5
In article <c7*********@drn.newsguy.com>, Lee
<RE**************@cox.net> wrote:
Kevin said:

Help!

Why are none of these valid?

var arrayName = new Array();

arrayName['key1']['key2'] = new Array('alpha_val', 1);
arrayName['key1']['key2'] = ['alpha_val', 1];

I'm creating/writing the array on the server side from Perl, but I
keep getting a javascript error message saying
"arrayName.key1 has no properties."


Arrays are one-dimensional.
You created arrayName as an array, but you're also
treating arrayName['key1'] as if it were an array,
without having created it.

var arrayName = new Array();
arrayName['key1'] = new Array();
arrayName['key1']['key2'] = new Array('alpha_val', 1);

This will produce a new array level:

arrayName['key1']['key2'][0] has a value of 'alpha_val'
arrayName['key1']['key2'][1] has a value of 1

I don't think this what he is trying to do but I may be wrong.

--
Dennis Marks
http://www.dcs-chico.com/~denmarks/
To reply change none to dcsi.
-----= Posted via Newsfeeds.Com, Uncensored Usenet News =-----
http://www.newsfeeds.com - The #1 Newsgroup Service in the World!
-----== Over 100,000 Newsgroups - 19 Different Servers! =-----
Jul 23 '05 #6
Kevin <lw***************@mynospammersway.com> writes:
THanks for the help, Lee, However, now I'm getting a different,
NONSENSICAL error:
The error message isn't exactly helpfull in finding the error, but
the error is quite nonsensical too :)

<script type="text/javascript" language="JavaScript1.3">
(why v1.3?)
var firstArray = new Array();
Here you declare a variable and assign an array to it.
var firstArray["key1"] = new Array();
The intial "var" here means "declare a variable", but what comes after
is not an identifier. Drop the "var".

As a side note, you don't need to use Arrays when you want an
"associative array" (which is just another word for "map"). Pure
objects are just as good, and doesn't inherit as much crap. So,
you could change the declarations to:
var firstArray = new Object();
firstArray["key1"] = new Object();
var firstArray["key1"]["key2"] = new Arary("A",1);
Again, drop the "var". Also, typo: ^^
var firstArray["key1"]["key3"] = new Array("b",2); And again.

The error says "Missing ; before the statement" and it's
pointing to the space after the first double quote in line 9:

var firstArray["key1"] = new Array();
I assume the missing ; would go after "firstArray" to make the
declaration correct.
And before you ask, I tried single quotes, too, and got the same
error... :-)


Yes, they are completely equivalent in Javascript :)

/L 'and please don't top post.'
--
Lasse Reichstein Nielsen - lr*@hotpop.com
DHTML Death Colors: <URL:http://www.infimum.dk/HTML/rasterTriangleDOM.html>
'Faith without judgement merely degrades the spirit divine.'
Jul 23 '05 #7
The other thing to consider is that:

arrayName['key1'] isn't really a reference to an array element, it's a
reference to the key1 property of "arrayName". Since you can't really
use any of the other functionality of an Array (splice, push, join, etc)
if you're using named (as opposed to numeric) "array indexes", you might
as well use an Object:

var objectName = new Object(); // or {};
objectName['key1'] = {};
objectName['key1']['key2'] = value;

You can shorten the entire sequence above to:

var objectName = { key1:{ key2:value } };

Now it's clear that "key1" and "key2" are not "array indexes", they are
properties of an object (which they are for the Array object as well,
they're just masquerading as "array indexes").

Kevin wrote:
Never mind, I finally figured it out...

I only need the first "var"; after that, it's already declared...

<sigh>...

Thank you so much for your assistance!

K

On Mon, 10 May 2004 16:34:10 -0700, Lee wrote:
Kevin said:

Help!

Why are none of these valid?

var arrayName = new Array();

arrayName['key1']['key2'] = new Array('alpha_val', 1);
arrayName['key1']['key2'] = ['alpha_val', 1];

I'm creating/writing the array on the server side from Perl, but I
keep getting a javascript error message saying
"arrayName.key1 has no properties."


Arrays are one-dimensional.
You created arrayName as an array, but you're also
treating arrayName['key1'] as if it were an array,
without having created it.

var arrayName = new Array();
arrayName['key1'] = new Array();
arrayName['key1']['key2'] = new Array('alpha_val', 1);


--
| Grant Wagner <gw*****@agricoreunited.com>

* Client-side Javascript and Netscape 4 DOM Reference available at:
*
http://devedge.netscape.com/library/...ce/frames.html

* Internet Explorer DOM Reference available at:
*
http://msdn.microsoft.com/workshop/a...ence_entry.asp

* Netscape 6/7 DOM Reference available at:
* http://www.mozilla.org/docs/dom/domref/
* Tips for upgrading JavaScript for Netscape 7 / Mozilla
* http://www.mozilla.org/docs/web-deve...upgrade_2.html
Jul 23 '05 #8
They don't have any properties. Multidimensional arrays in js don't work
like the good server side ones do (I'm php).

You need to init each element of the second dimension before it can be
used. I usually build the second dim and tack in onto the first.
Matrices and cubes have actually given me quite a bit of trouble this week.

var arrayName = new Array(); // first dim done
arrayName[i] = 3; // valid
arrayName[i][j]; //invalid

Honestly, from the server side, I always use JSON formats. SO much
easier. Yours:

arrayName =
[
{"key1" :
[ { "Key2" :
["alpha_val":1]}
]
]

~A!

Kevin took the time to say:
Help!

Why are none of these valid?

var arrayName = new Array();

arrayName['key1']['key2'] = new Array('alpha_val', 1);
arrayName['key1']['key2'] = ['alpha_val', 1];

I'm creating/writing the array on the server side from Perl, but I
keep getting a javascript error message saying
"arrayName.key1 has no properties."

I'm too bald to keep pulling my hair out... :-)

Appreciate any assistance.

Thanks!

K
Dec 20 '07 #9
My Pet Programmer wrote on 20 dec 2007 in comp.lang.javascript:
They don't have any properties. Multidimensional arrays in js don't
work like the good server side ones do (I'm php).
Multidimensional arrays in javascript do not exist!

You can define an array element a new array,
but that does not influence other elements in their behavour !!!

Javascript can be used clientside, serverside, and in a meriad of other
ways. so the contradiction of serverside and javascript does not exist.

You are not php, I met php several times,
she did not look like you in the least.
You need to init each element of the second dimension before it can be
used. I usually build the second dim and tack in onto the first.
A second dim in Javascript, what is that?
Matrices and cubes have actually given me quite a bit of trouble this
week.
I am sorry to hear that.
var arrayName = new Array(); // first dim done
arrayName[i] = 3; // valid
arrayName[i][j]; //invalid
Yes, logically, my dear php:

1 you just defined arrayName[i] as having the numerical value of 3,
and then you expect it to be an array in itself?

2 arrays are not statements, usually.
Honestly, from the server side, I always use JSON formats. SO much
easier.
"from the server side"?
Oh yes, you profess to BE serverside.
Yours:
Whose? Kevin's?

[Please do not toppost on usenet]
arrayName =
[
{"key1" :
[ { "Key2" :
["alpha_val":1]}
]
]

~A!
Kevin took the time to say:
>Help!

Why are none of these valid?

var arrayName = new Array();
This is valid
>arrayName['key1']['key2'] = new Array('alpha_val', 1);
You did not define the element to be an array!

Even so arrays are keyed by numbers.

You are using an object.

Arrays are objects, and objects can have properties:

look:

<script type='text/javascript'>
var a = []; // define an array;
a['seven'] = 7;
alert( a.length ); // the array is still empty of elements
alert( a['seven'] ); // see, no hands mam! the object has a property
</script>

>arrayName['key1']['key2'] = ['alpha_val', 1];
I believe you cannot do that with an object,
having a property have a property,
unless the first property is defined as an object.

<script type='text/javascript'>
var a = {}; // define an object
a['key1'] = {}; // define one of it's properties as an object
a['key1']['key2'] = 8;
alert(a['key1']['key2']); // see, no hands again, mam!
</script>

you could do this:

<script type='text/javascript'>
var a = []; // define an array-object
a['key1'] = []; // define a property as an array-object
a['key1']['key2'] = 8;
alert(a['key1']['key2']);
</script>

but here the array was used as an object,
the array behavour was not used at all.

>I'm creating/writing the array on the server side from Perl,
With serverside javascript code, from perl? please explain.
>but I keep getting a javascript error message saying
"arrayName.key1 has no properties."
How do you know it was javascript,
or do you get a clientside mesage?
>I'm too bald to keep pulling my hair out... :-)
Too ba[l]d.
--
Evertjan.
The Netherlands.
(Please change the x'es to dots in my emailaddress)
Dec 20 '07 #10
I said that they do not work the same as multi-dim arrays in javascript,
not that they don't work.

And I don't think I did much of anything to deserve that tone from you.

~A!

Evertjan. took the time to say:
My Pet Programmer wrote on 20 dec 2007 in comp.lang.javascript:
>They don't have any properties. Multidimensional arrays in js don't
work like the good server side ones do (I'm php).

Multidimensional arrays in javascript do not exist!

You can define an array element a new array,
but that does not influence other elements in their behavour !!!

Javascript can be used clientside, serverside, and in a meriad of other
ways. so the contradiction of serverside and javascript does not exist.

You are not php, I met php several times,
she did not look like you in the least.
>You need to init each element of the second dimension before it can be
used. I usually build the second dim and tack in onto the first.

A second dim in Javascript, what is that?
>Matrices and cubes have actually given me quite a bit of trouble this
week.

I am sorry to hear that.
>var arrayName = new Array(); // first dim done
>arrayName[i] = 3; // valid
arrayName[i][j]; //invalid

Yes, logically, my dear php:

1 you just defined arrayName[i] as having the numerical value of 3,
and then you expect it to be an array in itself?

2 arrays are not statements, usually.
>Honestly, from the server side, I always use JSON formats. SO much
easier.

"from the server side"?
Oh yes, you profess to BE serverside.
>Yours:

Whose? Kevin's?

[Please do not toppost on usenet]
>arrayName =
[
{"key1" :
[ { "Key2" :
["alpha_val":1]}
]
]

~A!
Kevin took the time to say:
>>Help!

Why are none of these valid?

var arrayName = new Array();

This is valid
>>arrayName['key1']['key2'] = new Array('alpha_val', 1);

You did not define the element to be an array!

Even so arrays are keyed by numbers.

You are using an object.

Arrays are objects, and objects can have properties:

look:

<script type='text/javascript'>
var a = []; // define an array;
a['seven'] = 7;
alert( a.length ); // the array is still empty of elements
alert( a['seven'] ); // see, no hands mam! the object has a property
</script>

>>arrayName['key1']['key2'] = ['alpha_val', 1];

I believe you cannot do that with an object,
having a property have a property,
unless the first property is defined as an object.

<script type='text/javascript'>
var a = {}; // define an object
a['key1'] = {}; // define one of it's properties as an object
a['key1']['key2'] = 8;
alert(a['key1']['key2']); // see, no hands again, mam!
</script>

you could do this:

<script type='text/javascript'>
var a = []; // define an array-object
a['key1'] = []; // define a property as an array-object
a['key1']['key2'] = 8;
alert(a['key1']['key2']);
</script>

but here the array was used as an object,
the array behavour was not used at all.

>>I'm creating/writing the array on the server side from Perl,

With serverside javascript code, from perl? please explain.
>>but I keep getting a javascript error message saying
"arrayName.key1 has no properties."

How do you know it was javascript,
or do you get a clientside mesage?
>>I'm too bald to keep pulling my hair out... :-)

Too ba[l]d.

Dec 21 '07 #11
My Pet Programmer wrote on 21 dec 2007 in comp.lang.javascript:
And I don't think I did much of anything to deserve that tone from
you.
[Please do not toppost on usenet]

Dear php,

I thought you(!) were asking about something.
What tone would you think you "deserve"?
Did my lenghty and tested examples help you?

And even without any "deserving",
this not being a paid callcenter,
on usenet the asking cannot define the answer.
I said that they do not work the same as multi-dim arrays in
javascript, not that they don't work.
What is "they"?
This NG is about javascript.
What would it matter if those "they" would not work,
as "they" must be outside javascript.
Or do you mean serverside javascript arrays?

The concept of "dim" does not exist in javascript,
[is that the Basic dim, what we call var, or short for dimension?]
so I do not understand what you mean by a multi-dim array.
Evertjan. took the time to say:
If you mean that, a 'thank you' could have been more proper.
>My Pet Programmer wrote on 20 dec 2007 in comp.lang.javascript:
>>They don't have any properties. Multidimensional arrays in js don't
work like the good server side ones do (I'm php).

Multidimensional arrays in javascript do not exist!

You can define an array element a new array,
but that does not influence other elements in their behavour !!!

Javascript can be used clientside, serverside, and in a meriad of
other ways. so the contradiction of serverside and javascript does
not exist.

You are not php, I met php several times,
she did not look like you in the least.
>>You need to init each element of the second dimension before it can
be used. I usually build the second dim and tack in onto the first.

A second dim in Javascript, what is that?
>>Matrices and cubes have actually given me quite a bit of trouble
this week.

I am sorry to hear that.
>>var arrayName = new Array(); // first dim done
>>arrayName[i] = 3; // valid
arrayName[i][j]; //invalid

Yes, logically, my dear php:

1 you just defined arrayName[i] as having the numerical value of 3,
and then you expect it to be an array in itself?

2 arrays are not statements, usually.
>>Honestly, from the server side, I always use JSON formats. SO much
easier.

"from the server side"?
Oh yes, you profess to BE serverside.
>>Yours:

Whose? Kevin's?

[Please do not toppost on usenet]
>>arrayName =
[
{"key1" :
[ { "Key2" :
["alpha_val":1]}
]
]

~A!
Kevin took the time to say:
Help!

Why are none of these valid?

var arrayName = new Array();

This is valid
>>>arrayName['key1']['key2'] = new Array('alpha_val', 1);

You did not define the element to be an array!

Even so arrays are keyed by numbers.

You are using an object.

Arrays are objects, and objects can have properties:

look:

<script type='text/javascript'>
var a = []; // define an array;
a['seven'] = 7;
alert( a.length ); // the array is still empty of elements
alert( a['seven'] ); // see, no hands mam! the object has a
property
</script>

>>>arrayName['key1']['key2'] = ['alpha_val', 1];

I believe you cannot do that with an object,
having a property have a property,
unless the first property is defined as an object.

<script type='text/javascript'>
var a = {}; // define an object
a['key1'] = {}; // define one of it's properties as an object
a['key1']['key2'] = 8;
alert(a['key1']['key2']); // see, no hands again, mam!
</script>

you could do this:

<script type='text/javascript'>
var a = []; // define an array-object
a['key1'] = []; // define a property as an array-object
a['key1']['key2'] = 8;
alert(a['key1']['key2']);
</script>

but here the array was used as an object,
the array behavour was not used at all.

>>>I'm creating/writing the array on the server side from Perl,

With serverside javascript code, from perl? please explain.
>>>but I keep getting a javascript error message saying
"arrayName.key1 has no properties."

How do you know it was javascript,
or do you get a clientside mesage?
>>>I'm too bald to keep pulling my hair out... :-)

Too ba[l]d.



--
Evertjan.
The Netherlands.
(Please change the x'es to dots in my emailaddress)
Dec 21 '07 #12
Evertjan. took the time to say:
My Pet Programmer wrote on 21 dec 2007 in comp.lang.javascript:
>And I don't think I did much of anything to deserve that tone from
you.

[Please do not toppost on usenet]

Dear php,

I thought you(!) were asking about something.
What tone would you think you "deserve"?
Did my lenghty and tested examples help you?

And even without any "deserving",
this not being a paid callcenter,
on usenet the asking cannot define the answer.
>I said that they do not work the same as multi-dim arrays in
javascript, not that they don't work.

What is "they"?
This NG is about javascript.
What would it matter if those "they" would not work,
as "they" must be outside javascript.
Or do you mean serverside javascript arrays?

The concept of "dim" does not exist in javascript,
[is that the Basic dim, what we call var, or short for dimension?]
so I do not understand what you mean by a multi-dim array.
>Evertjan. took the time to say:

If you mean that, a 'thank you' could have been more proper.
>>My Pet Programmer wrote on 20 dec 2007 in comp.lang.javascript:

They don't have any properties. Multidimensional arrays in js don't
work like the good server side ones do (I'm php).
Multidimensional arrays in javascript do not exist!

You can define an array element a new array,
but that does not influence other elements in their behavour !!!

Javascript can be used clientside, serverside, and in a meriad of
other ways. so the contradiction of serverside and javascript does
not exist.

You are not php, I met php several times,
she did not look like you in the least.

You need to init each element of the second dimension before it can
be used. I usually build the second dim and tack in onto the first.
A second dim in Javascript, what is that?

Matrices and cubes have actually given me quite a bit of trouble
this week.
I am sorry to hear that.

var arrayName = new Array(); // first dim done
arrayName[i] = 3; // valid
arrayName[i][j]; //invalid
Yes, logically, my dear php:

1 you just defined arrayName[i] as having the numerical value of 3,
and then you expect it to be an array in itself?

2 arrays are not statements, usually.

Honestly, from the server side, I always use JSON formats. SO much
easier.
"from the server side"?
Oh yes, you profess to BE serverside.

Yours:
Whose? Kevin's?

[Please do not toppost on usenet]

arrayName =
[
{"key1" :
[ { "Key2" :
["alpha_val":1]}
]
]

~A!
Kevin took the time to say:
Help!
>
Why are none of these valid?
>
var arrayName = new Array();
This is valid

arrayName['key1']['key2'] = new Array('alpha_val', 1);
You did not define the element to be an array!

Even so arrays are keyed by numbers.

You are using an object.

Arrays are objects, and objects can have properties:

look:

<script type='text/javascript'>
var a = []; // define an array;
a['seven'] = 7;
alert( a.length ); // the array is still empty of elements
alert( a['seven'] ); // see, no hands mam! the object has a
property
</script>
arrayName['key1']['key2'] = ['alpha_val', 1];
I believe you cannot do that with an object,
having a property have a property,
unless the first property is defined as an object.

<script type='text/javascript'>
var a = {}; // define an object
a['key1'] = {}; // define one of it's properties as an object
a['key1']['key2'] = 8;
alert(a['key1']['key2']); // see, no hands again, mam!
</script>

you could do this:

<script type='text/javascript'>
var a = []; // define an array-object
a['key1'] = []; // define a property as an array-object
a['key1']['key2'] = 8;
alert(a['key1']['key2']);
</script>

but here the array was used as an object,
the array behavour was not used at all.
I'm creating/writing the array on the server side from Perl,
With serverside javascript code, from perl? please explain.

but I keep getting a javascript error message saying
"arrayName.key1 has no properties."
How do you know it was javascript,
or do you get a clientside mesage?

I'm too bald to keep pulling my hair out... :-)
Too ba[l]d.



'They' were Multidimensional arrays in Javascript. I apologize, I did
not have the context of your comments and took them in a way they were
not intended.

Your examples didn't bother me in the slightest, no. Very helpful to the
original poster, I'm sure.

Sorry about the top-post, I didn't a clue. Thanks for adjusting that for me.

9/10ths of the crap you replied to wasn't mine anyway, I don't know why
I bothered replying to your reply.

~A!
The concept of "dim" does not exist in javascript,
[is that the Basic dim, what we call var, or short for dimension?]
so I do not understand what you mean by a multi-dim array.
PS - I like this part the best. We're talking about JavaScript
multidimensional arrays, and you think somehow we're talking about VB.
Love it. The concept of "very, very dim" obviously exists somewhere.

Dec 21 '07 #13
My Pet Programmer wrote on 21 dec 2007 in comp.lang.javascript:
The concept of "dim" does not exist in javascript,
[is that the Basic dim, what we call var, or short for dimension?]
so I do not understand what you mean by a multi-dim array.

PS - I like this part the best. We're talking about JavaScript
multidimensional arrays, and you think somehow we're talking about VB.
Love it. The concept of "very, very dim" obviously exists somewhere.
I love talking about nonexisting things too, but,
as JavaScript multidimensional arrays do NOT exist,
this NG is not the place for such a dim view.

For a moment I contemplated about a hidden browser window
on a Dim Sum smoke screen.

--
Evertjan.
The Netherlands.
(Please change the x'es to dots in my emailaddress)
Dec 21 '07 #14

This discussion thread is closed

Replies have been disabled for this discussion.

Similar topics

27 posts views Thread by Abdullah Kauchali | last post: by
2 posts views Thread by Zenobia | last post: by
6 posts views Thread by Chris Styles | last post: by
4 posts views Thread by meltedown | last post: by
104 posts views Thread by Leszek | last post: by
41 posts views Thread by Rene Nyffenegger | last post: by
reply views Thread by devrayhaan | last post: by
By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.