469,625 Members | 1,085 Online
Bytes | Developer Community
New Post

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

Post your question to a community of 469,625 developers. It's quick & easy.

Floating DIV problem

I have used this piece of freeware in my webpage to give me a floating DIV:

http://www.developer.be/index.cfm/fu.../FaqId/308.htm

It works great except for one odd thing - <select> form items appear in
front of it, nothing else does. Any ideas? The page is here :

http://www.mississippiprinting.com/test.htm

If you scroll down to the form part with the select items you will see what
I mean. (I wouldn't look at the above code too long - you will turn to
stone, not my fault, my client enjoys making a huge mess with Frontpage and
I have been unable to talk him out of it) Thanks!
Jul 23 '05 #1
4 2112
On Tue, 20 Apr 2004 15:49:33 GMT, Simon Wigzell <si**********@shaw.ca>
wrote:
I have used this piece of freeware in my webpage to give me a floating
DIV:

http://www.developer.be/index.cfm/fu.../FaqId/308.htm
Bin that. It's useless. There are bound to be better examples in this
group's archives[1].
It works great except for one odd thing - <select> form items appear in
front of it, nothing else does. Any ideas? The page is here :

http://www.mississippiprinting.com/test.htm


....and for God's sake, *please* BURN that.

The design is terrible, not to mention the colour scheme. For a design
company, it certainly isn't a good advertisment.

The page is huge: almost 350KBs in total.

Has the page been viewed in any browser other than IE? I doubt it. If it
had, it would be obvious that the page includes IE-only features that not
even Opera bothered to imitate, and that your floating DIV script doesn't
work in Mozilla. I'm surprised that it was even tested properly in IE.
Look what happens when I scroll the page:

<URL:http://www.mlwinter.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/ms-print.jpg>

And I'm running on an AthlonXP 2600+!

Finally, I believe websites are required to provide information on their
data storage policy, at least in the US.

As for your intended question, there's nothing you can do about it - it's
how the OS (or the browser, depending) renders the control.

Hoping your client sees sense,
Mike
[1] See <URL:http://groups.google.com/>

--
Michael Winter
M.******@blueyonder.co.invalid (replace ".invalid" with ".uk" to reply)
Jul 23 '05 #2
The select box phenomenon is called "shine-through", and it happens because
select controls are rendered by the OS as independent windows. There are
really only two solutions: make the select boxes invisible when the div
passes by, or write your own control that emulates a select box.

(holy God, but that's one ugly website)

- Wm

--
William Morris
Semster, Seamlyne reProductions
Visit our website, http://www.seamlyne.com, for the most comfortable
historically inspired clothing you can buy!
"Michael Winter" <M.******@blueyonder.co.invalid> wrote in message
news:op**************@news-text.blueyonder.co.uk...
On Tue, 20 Apr 2004 15:49:33 GMT, Simon Wigzell <si**********@shaw.ca>
wrote:
I have used this piece of freeware in my webpage to give me a floating
DIV:

http://www.developer.be/index.cfm/fu.../FaqId/308.htm


Bin that. It's useless. There are bound to be better examples in this
group's archives[1].
It works great except for one odd thing - <select> form items appear in
front of it, nothing else does. Any ideas? The page is here :

http://www.mississippiprinting.com/test.htm


...and for God's sake, *please* BURN that.

The design is terrible, not to mention the colour scheme. For a design
company, it certainly isn't a good advertisment.

The page is huge: almost 350KBs in total.

Has the page been viewed in any browser other than IE? I doubt it. If it
had, it would be obvious that the page includes IE-only features that not
even Opera bothered to imitate, and that your floating DIV script doesn't
work in Mozilla. I'm surprised that it was even tested properly in IE.
Look what happens when I scroll the page:

<URL:http://www.mlwinter.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/ms-print.jpg>

And I'm running on an AthlonXP 2600+!

Finally, I believe websites are required to provide information on their
data storage policy, at least in the US.

As for your intended question, there's nothing you can do about it - it's
how the OS (or the browser, depending) renders the control.

Hoping your client sees sense,
Mike
[1] See <URL:http://groups.google.com/>

--
Michael Winter
M.******@blueyonder.co.invalid (replace ".invalid" with ".uk" to reply)

Jul 23 '05 #3
Yes, I know! Awful isn't it? He hires me to do the database base and form
programming behind the scenes. He loves mucking about with Frontpage and is
always tinkering with things. I've begged him to let me convert it all to
CSS - 90% of it is just repeated format statements but no, it's a hobby for
him. He must be doing something right because he was recently asking my
advie on boats - I have an old wooden one, he is buying an ultra high tech
yacht for $750,000!

"Michael Winter" <M.******@blueyonder.co.invalid> wrote in message
news:op**************@news-text.blueyonder.co.uk...
On Tue, 20 Apr 2004 15:49:33 GMT, Simon Wigzell <si**********@shaw.ca>
wrote:
I have used this piece of freeware in my webpage to give me a floating
DIV:

http://www.developer.be/index.cfm/fu.../FaqId/308.htm


Bin that. It's useless. There are bound to be better examples in this
group's archives[1].
It works great except for one odd thing - <select> form items appear in
front of it, nothing else does. Any ideas? The page is here :

http://www.mississippiprinting.com/test.htm


...and for God's sake, *please* BURN that.

The design is terrible, not to mention the colour scheme. For a design
company, it certainly isn't a good advertisment.

The page is huge: almost 350KBs in total.

Has the page been viewed in any browser other than IE? I doubt it. If it
had, it would be obvious that the page includes IE-only features that not
even Opera bothered to imitate, and that your floating DIV script doesn't
work in Mozilla. I'm surprised that it was even tested properly in IE.
Look what happens when I scroll the page:

<URL:http://www.mlwinter.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/ms-print.jpg>

And I'm running on an AthlonXP 2600+!

Finally, I believe websites are required to provide information on their
data storage policy, at least in the US.

As for your intended question, there's nothing you can do about it - it's
how the OS (or the browser, depending) renders the control.

Hoping your client sees sense,
Mike
[1] See <URL:http://groups.google.com/>

--
Michael Winter
M.******@blueyonder.co.invalid (replace ".invalid" with ".uk" to reply)

Jul 23 '05 #4
Thanks for the comment! Shall I nominate it for "Ugliest website of the
year"? Nothing I can do about it, see my reply to the previous reply.

In Netscape the select controls are not visible...

"William Morris" <ne***************************@seamlyne.com> wrote in
message news:c6************@ID-205671.news.uni-berlin.de...
The select box phenomenon is called "shine-through", and it happens because select controls are rendered by the OS as independent windows. There are
really only two solutions: make the select boxes invisible when the div
passes by, or write your own control that emulates a select box.

(holy God, but that's one ugly website)

- Wm

--
William Morris
Semster, Seamlyne reProductions
Visit our website, http://www.seamlyne.com, for the most comfortable
historically inspired clothing you can buy!
"Michael Winter" <M.******@blueyonder.co.invalid> wrote in message
news:op**************@news-text.blueyonder.co.uk...
On Tue, 20 Apr 2004 15:49:33 GMT, Simon Wigzell <si**********@shaw.ca>
wrote:
I have used this piece of freeware in my webpage to give me a floating
DIV:

http://www.developer.be/index.cfm/fu.../FaqId/308.htm


Bin that. It's useless. There are bound to be better examples in this
group's archives[1].
It works great except for one odd thing - <select> form items appear in front of it, nothing else does. Any ideas? The page is here :

http://www.mississippiprinting.com/test.htm


...and for God's sake, *please* BURN that.

The design is terrible, not to mention the colour scheme. For a design
company, it certainly isn't a good advertisment.

The page is huge: almost 350KBs in total.

Has the page been viewed in any browser other than IE? I doubt it. If it
had, it would be obvious that the page includes IE-only features that not even Opera bothered to imitate, and that your floating DIV script doesn't work in Mozilla. I'm surprised that it was even tested properly in IE.
Look what happens when I scroll the page:

<URL:http://www.mlwinter.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/ms-print.jpg>

And I'm running on an AthlonXP 2600+!

Finally, I believe websites are required to provide information on their
data storage policy, at least in the US.

As for your intended question, there's nothing you can do about it - it's how the OS (or the browser, depending) renders the control.

Hoping your client sees sense,
Mike
[1] See <URL:http://groups.google.com/>

--
Michael Winter
M.******@blueyonder.co.invalid (replace ".invalid" with ".uk" to reply)


Jul 23 '05 #5

This discussion thread is closed

Replies have been disabled for this discussion.

Similar topics

14 posts views Thread by Amit Bhatia | last post: by
5 posts views Thread by Anton Noll | last post: by
12 posts views Thread by meltedown | last post: by
15 posts views Thread by michael.mcgarry | last post: by
32 posts views Thread by ma740988 | last post: by
39 posts views Thread by rembremading | last post: by
6 posts views Thread by Jeremy | last post: by
By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.