471,618 Members | 1,529 Online
Bytes | Software Development & Data Engineering Community
Post +

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

Join Bytes to post your question to a community of 471,618 software developers and data experts.

Drop down menu text

So if you wanted to have the following in your drop down menu with one
that was indented, how might you do it? I haven't found anything that
works and am hoping for help... TIA

People
Dogs
Cats
=>Kittens

Oct 26 '07 #1
6 2140
jc***@lycos.com wrote: news:1193374270.842641.142920
@d55g2000hsg.googlegroups.com:
So if you wanted to have the following in your drop down menu with one
that was indented, how might you do it? I haven't found anything that
works and am hoping for help... TIA

People
Dogs
Cats
=>Kittens
    Kittens

--
BootNic Friday October 26, 2007 1:57 AM
A conclusion is the place where you get tired of thinking.
*Arthur Bloch*

Oct 26 '07 #2
In article
<11**********************@d55g2000hsg.googlegroups .com>,
jc***@lycos.com wrote:
So if you wanted to have the following in your drop down menu with one
that was indented, how might you do it? I haven't found anything that
works and am hoping for help... TIA

People
Dogs
Cats
=>Kittens
It depends on what the setup is. If the Kittens is in say a div,
then a left margin or a left padding might be appropriate. If it
is a list item, then there is also these possibilities.

Have I jumped into the middle of a thread here? Is there a url?

--
dorayme
Oct 26 '07 #3
Scripsit BootNic:
>So if you wanted to have the following in your drop down menu with
one that was indented, how might you do it? I haven't found
anything that works and am hoping for help... TIA

People
Dogs
Cats
=>Kittens

&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;Kittens
No, that wouldn't do it. It does not create "=" and ">". This would:

&nbsp;=>Kittens

On the other hand, the OP is apparently trying to generate a navigational
dropdown menu. That's a wrong approach. "Links want to be links."

Followups trimmed.

--
Jukka K. Korpela ("Yucca")
http://www.cs.tut.fi/~jkorpela/

Oct 26 '07 #4
On 2007-10-26, dorayme <do************@optusnet.com.auwrote:
In article
<11**********************@d55g2000hsg.googlegroup s.com>,
jc***@lycos.com wrote:
>So if you wanted to have the following in your drop down menu with one
that was indented, how might you do it? I haven't found anything that
works and am hoping for help... TIA

People
Dogs
Cats
=>Kittens

It depends on what the setup is. If the Kittens is in say a div,
then a left margin or a left padding might be appropriate. If it
is a list item, then there is also these possibilities.
No-one seems to have mentioned text-indent yet.

.selected { text-indent: 1em; }
.selected:before { content: "=>"; }

Might not work in IE.
Oct 26 '07 #5
In article <sl*********************@bowser.marioworld>,
Ben C <sp******@spam.eggswrote:
On 2007-10-26, dorayme <do************@optusnet.com.auwrote:
In article
<11**********************@d55g2000hsg.googlegroups .com>,
jc***@lycos.com wrote:
So if you wanted to have the following in your drop down menu with one
that was indented, how might you do it? I haven't found anything that
works and am hoping for help... TIA

People
Dogs
Cats
=>Kittens
It depends on what the setup is. If the Kittens is in say a div,
then a left margin or a left padding might be appropriate. If it
is a list item, then there is also these possibilities.

No-one seems to have mentioned text-indent yet.

.selected { text-indent: 1em; }
.selected:before { content: "=>"; }
O yeah!
Might not work in IE.
It plays tricks (or should I say "played") tricks in MacIE. There
is this about WinIE, it may be of interest:

http://www.tanfa.co.uk/css/articles/...popups-bug.asp

--
dorayme
Oct 26 '07 #6
On Oct 25, 10:58 pm, BootNic <Boot...@bounce.earthlink.netwrote:
jc...@lycos.com wrote: news:1193374270.842641.142920

@d55g2000hsg.googlegroups.com:
So if you wanted to have the following in your drop down menu with one
that was indented, how might you do it? I haven't found anything that
works and am hoping for help... TIA
People
Dogs
Cats
=>Kittens

&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;Kittens

--
BootNic Friday October 26, 2007 1:57 AM
A conclusion is the place where you get tired of thinking.
*Arthur Bloch*
Hey cool - works GREAT. Thank you very much and thanks to everyone
else who replied. :-)

Oct 26 '07 #7

This discussion thread is closed

Replies have been disabled for this discussion.

Similar topics

1 post views Thread by Greg Scharlemann | last post: by
6 posts views Thread by Adrienne | last post: by
2 posts views Thread by hemanth.singamsetty | last post: by
3 posts views Thread by rsteph | last post: by
4 posts views Thread by TycoonUK | last post: by
1 post views Thread by XIAOLAOHU | last post: by
reply views Thread by leo001 | last post: by
1 post views Thread by ZEDKYRIE | last post: by

By using Bytes.com and it's services, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

To disable or enable advertisements and analytics tracking please visit the manage ads & tracking page.