473,394 Members | 1,709 Online
Bytes | Software Development & Data Engineering Community
Post Job

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

Join Bytes to post your question to a community of 473,394 software developers and data experts.

re links and anchors

Hi

just started to experement with styleshhets, and have defined hover

a:hover
{
Color : red;
Text-decoration : none;
Border-top-width : medium;
Border-right-width : medium;
Border-bottom-width : medium;
Border-left-width : medium;
Border-color : rgb(255 , 102 , 51);
Border-style : groove;
Width : 30%;
Display : inline;
}

but how do i stop this working with anchors eg
<h1><a name="top">Strings and Thins</a></h1>

i tried definning an a hover, with name with the same colors as h2, but
this does not work

name a:hover
{
Text-decoration : none;
Color : aqua;
}
I simply do not want a hover to work with anchors just links

regards

Adrian

Aug 3 '05 #1
21 2420
adrian suri wrote:
a:hover
{
Color : red;
Text-decoration : none;
Border-top-width : medium;
Border-right-width : medium;
Border-bottom-width : medium;
Border-left-width : medium;
Border-color : rgb(255 , 102 , 51);
Border-style : groove;
Width : 30%;
Display : inline;
}
First remove the space before the colon.
but how do i stop this working with anchors eg
<h1><a name="top">Strings and Thins</a></h1>
Use selectors like a:link:hover or a:visited:hover.
name a:hover


This selects a hovered a element which is a descendant of a name
element, which does not exist in HTML.

--
Johannes Koch
In te domine speravi; non confundar in aeternum.
(Te Deum, 4th cent.)
Aug 3 '05 #2
Els
adrian suri wrote:
Hi

just started to experement with styleshhets, and have defined hover

a:hover
{
Color : red;
Text-decoration : none;
Border-top-width : medium;
Border-right-width : medium;
Border-bottom-width : medium;
Border-left-width : medium;
Border-color : rgb(255 , 102 , 51);
Border-style : groove;
Width : 30%;
Display : inline;
}

but how do i stop this working with anchors eg
<h1><a name="top">Strings and Thins</a></h1>

i tried definning an a hover, with name with the same colors as h2, but
this does not work

name a:hover
{
Text-decoration : none;
Color : aqua;
}
I simply do not want a hover to work with anchors just links


If your non-link anchors are all inside <h1>s, you could set
h1 a:hover{text-decoration:none;color:aqua;border:none;}

If your anchors could be anywhere, you could give them a class:
<a name="top" class="just-an-anchor">Strings and Thins</a>
a.just-an-anchor:hover{text-decoration:none;color:aqua;border:none;}

Q: why are you defining width and display:inline on the links on
hover? If they're not already inline and have a certain width before
hovering, it will make your links jump around on hover.

--
Els http://locusmeus.com/
Sonhos vem. Sonhos vão. O resto é imperfeito.
- Renato Russo -
Aug 3 '05 #3
On Wed, 03 Aug 2005 10:46:43 +0200, adrian suri <as**************@tele2.se>
wrote:
just started to experement with styleshhets, and have defined hover

a:hover
{
Color : red;
Text-decoration : none;
Border-top-width : medium;
Border-right-width : medium;
Border-bottom-width : medium;
Border-left-width : medium;
Border-color : rgb(255 , 102 , 51);
Border-style : groove;
Learn what shorthand in css can do for you. Your borderstyles can be minimised
to:

border:medium groove rgb(255,102,51);
Width : 30%;
Display : inline;
}

but how do i stop this working with anchors eg
<h1><a name="top">Strings and Thins</a></h1>

Why do you use the anchor with the [name] attribute for this? What document type
do you use? You can use the [id] attribute with the header element, like <h1
id="top">. In references and fragment url's you can refer to id="top" with #top,
just like you would with name="top" otherwise. That would solve your problem,
because the anchors arount non linking elements are gone.
i tried definning an a hover, with name with the same colors as h2, but this
does not work

name a:hover
You could also try a[name]:hover, but I don't think IE supports the use of
attributes to create a selector in your stylesheet.
{
Text-decoration : none;
Color : aqua;
} I simply do not want a hover to work with anchors just links


If you do stick to the use of the anchor, instead of switching to using an id on
the header element (as in your example), you could set a class (like .header)
and specify your styles for that class to be

a.header:hover {
text-decoration:none;
color:aqua; }

--
,-- --<--@ -- PretLetters: 'woest wyf', met vele interesses: ----------.
| weblog | http://home.wanadoo.nl/b.de.zoete/_private/weblog.html |
| webontwerp | http://home.wanadoo.nl/b.de.zoete/html/webontwerp.html |
|zweefvliegen | http://home.wanadoo.nl/b.de.zoete/html/vliegen.html |
`-------------------------------------------------- --<--@ ------------'

Aug 3 '05 #4
Johannes Koch wrote:
but how do i stop this working with anchors eg
<h1><a name="top">Strings and Thins</a></h1>


Use selectors like a:link:hover or a:visited:hover.


.... or markup like <h1 name="top">Strings and Thins</a>

.... or don't put links to the top of the page in your document. The vast
majority of browsers come with built in ways for the user to do that
already.

--
David Dorward <http://blog.dorward.me.uk/> <http://dorward.me.uk/>
Home is where the ~/.bashrc is
Aug 3 '05 #5
On Wed, 03 Aug 2005 10:46:43 +0200, adrian suri wrote:
Hi

just started to experement with styleshhets, and have defined hover

a:hover
{
Color : red;
Text-decoration : none;
Border-top-width : medium;
Border-right-width : medium;
Border-bottom-width : medium;
Border-left-width : medium;
Border-color : rgb(255 , 102 , 51);
Border-style : groove;
Width : 30%;
Display : inline;
}

but how do i stop this working with anchors eg
<h1><a name="top">Strings and Thins</a></h1>

i tried definning an a hover, with name with the same colors as h2, but
this does not work

name a:hover
{
Text-decoration : none;
Color : aqua;
}
I simply do not want a hover to work with anchors just links

regards

Adrian


take a look at http://www.w3schools.com/css/css_pseudo_classes.asp you need
to define the :first-child pseudo class.
Aug 3 '05 #6
On Wed, 03 Aug 2005 10:21:58 GMT, Rincewind <th***********@hotmail.com> wrote:
On Wed, 03 Aug 2005 10:46:43 +0200, adrian suri wrote:
a:hover
{ <snipped the styles }

but how do i stop this working with anchors eg
<h1><a name="top">Strings and Thins</a></h1>

I simply do not want a hover to work with anchors just links

take a look at http://www.w3schools.com/css/css_pseudo_classes.asp you need
to define the :first-child pseudo class.


Care to clarify how the pseudo class :first-child is going to help in this case?
I don't see that happening.

--
,-- --<--@ -- PretLetters: 'woest wyf', met vele interesses: ----------.
| weblog | http://home.wanadoo.nl/b.de.zoete/_private/weblog.html |
| webontwerp | http://home.wanadoo.nl/b.de.zoete/html/webontwerp.html |
|zweefvliegen | http://home.wanadoo.nl/b.de.zoete/html/vliegen.html |
`-------------------------------------------------- --<--@ ------------'

Aug 3 '05 #7
On Wed, 03 Aug 2005 10:57:19 +0200, Barbara de Zoete wrote:
On Wed, 03 Aug 2005 10:46:43 +0200, adrian suri <as**************@tele2.se>
wrote:
just started to experement with styleshhets, and have defined hover

a:hover
{
Color : red;
Text-decoration : none;
Border-top-width : medium;
Border-right-width : medium;
Border-bottom-width : medium;
Border-left-width : medium;
Border-color : rgb(255 , 102 , 51);
Border-style : groove;


Learn what shorthand in css can do for you. Your borderstyles can be minimised
to:

border:medium groove rgb(255,102,51);
Width : 30%;
Display : inline;
}

but how do i stop this working with anchors eg
<h1><a name="top">Strings and Thins</a></h1>


Why do you use the anchor with the [name] attribute for this? What document type
do you use? You can use the [id] attribute with the header element, like <h1
id="top">. In references and fragment url's you can refer to id="top" with #top,
just like you would with name="top" otherwise. That would solve your problem,
because the anchors arount non linking elements are gone.


<snip>

name is an optional attribute of the <a> tag and I assume the OP is using
it as such and not as an identifier for a css element.

take a look at http://www.w3schools.com/tags/tag_a.asp for all the options
that can be used with the <a> tag.
Aug 3 '05 #8
On Wed, 03 Aug 2005 10:29:04 GMT, Rincewind <th***********@hotmail.com> wrote:
On Wed, 03 Aug 2005 10:57:19 +0200, Barbara de Zoete wrote:
Why do you use the anchor with the [name] attribute for this? What document
type do you use? You can use the [id] attribute with the header element,
like <h1
id="top">. In references and fragment url's you can refer to id="top" with
#top, just like you would with name="top" otherwise. That would solve your
problem,
because the anchors arount non linking elements are gone.
<snip>

name is an optional attribute of the <a> tag and I assume the OP is using
it as such and not as an identifier for a css element.


The sole purpose for the identifier is not the use with a css selector (elements
*don't* excist in css) only. Try read and understand
<http://www.w3.org/TR/html401/struct/global.html#adef-id>, especially where it
says <q>This attribute assigns a name to an element.</q> and
<blockquote>
The id attribute has several roles in HTML:
- As a style sheet selector.
- As a target anchor for hypertext links.
- As a means to reference a particular element from a script.
- As the name of a declared OBJECT element.
- For general purpose processing by user agents (e.g. for identifying fields
when extracting data from HTML pages into a database, translating HTML documents
into other formats, etc.).
</blockquote>
take a look at http://www.w3schools.com/tags/tag_a.asp for all the options
that can be used with the <a> tag.


Yeah, well. Thank you very much for pointing that out. Like I wouldn't know. :-|

--
,-- --<--@ -- PretLetters: 'woest wyf', met vele interesses: ----------.
| weblog | http://home.wanadoo.nl/b.de.zoete/_private/weblog.html |
| webontwerp | http://home.wanadoo.nl/b.de.zoete/html/webontwerp.html |
|zweefvliegen | http://home.wanadoo.nl/b.de.zoete/html/vliegen.html |
`-------------------------------------------------- --<--@ ------------'

Aug 3 '05 #9
On Wed, 03 Aug 2005 10:29:04 GMT, Rincewind <th***********@hotmail.com> wrote:
take a look at http://www.w3schools.com/tags/tag_a.asp for all the options
that can be used with the <a> tag.


Oh, BTW: (1) don't use 'options' when you mean 'attributes', (2) one doesn't use
attributes with a tag, but with an element (of which tags mark the start and
end) and (3) IMO a real reference would be the DTD of choice (like
<http://www.w3.org/TR/html4/strict.dtd>), which states exactly what attributes
can be used with what elements; second best is probably the technical reference
from the w3.org site (like
<http://www.w3.org/TR/html401/struct/links.html#edef-A>).
--
,-- --<--@ -- PretLetters: 'woest wyf', met vele interesses: ----------.
| weblog | http://home.wanadoo.nl/b.de.zoete/_private/weblog.html |
| webontwerp | http://home.wanadoo.nl/b.de.zoete/html/webontwerp.html |
|zweefvliegen | http://home.wanadoo.nl/b.de.zoete/html/vliegen.html |
`-------------------------------------------------- --<--@ ------------'

Aug 3 '05 #10
On Wed, 03 Aug 2005 12:40:51 +0200, Barbara de Zoete wrote:
take a look at http://www.w3schools.com/tags/tag_a.asp for all the options
that can be used with the <a> tag.


Yeah, well. Thank you very much for pointing that out. Like I wouldn't know. :-|


Well sorrrrry, I wasn't aware that you were the font of all knowledge, I
was a ware from all your other posts that you are a self proclaimed know
all and a pedant, so thank you for enlightening me O wonderous guru.

<plonk>
Aug 3 '05 #11
On Wed, 03 Aug 2005 12:27:42 +0200, Barbara de Zoete wrote:
On Wed, 03 Aug 2005 10:21:58 GMT, Rincewind <th***********@hotmail.com> wrote:
On Wed, 03 Aug 2005 10:46:43 +0200, adrian suri wrote:
a:hover
{ <snipped the styles }

but how do i stop this working with anchors eg
<h1><a name="top">Strings and Thins</a></h1>

I simply do not want a hover to work with anchors just links

take a look at http://www.w3schools.com/css/css_pseudo_classes.asp you need
to define the :first-child pseudo class.


Care to clarify how the pseudo class :first-child is going to help in this case?
I don't see that happening.

<html>
<head>
<title></title>

<style type="text/css">
<!--

a:link {color: black;
text-decoration: none;}
a:visited {color: #00FF00;}
a:hover
{
Color : red;
Text-decoration : none;
Border-top-width : medium;
Border-right-width : medium;
Border-bottom-width : medium;
Border-left-width : medium;
Border-color : rgb(255 , 102 , 51);
Border-style : groove;
Width : 30%;
Display : inline;
}
a:active {color: #0000FF;}

a:first-child
{
color: black;
text-decoration: none;
border-style : none;
}
-->
</style>
</head>

<body>
<h1><a name="top">Strings and Thins</a></h1>
<a href="http://?">A hyperlink</a>
</body>
</html>

Try it. Clear enough.

BTW you really are an obnoxius cow!
Aug 3 '05 #12
On Wed, 03 Aug 2005 10:55:35 GMT, Rincewind <th***********@hotmail.com> wrote:
On Wed, 03 Aug 2005 12:27:42 +0200, Barbara de Zoete wrote:
On Wed, 03 Aug 2005 10:21:58 GMT, Rincewind <th***********@hotmail.com> wrote:
take a look at http://www.w3schools.com/css/css_pseudo_classes.asp you need
to define the :first-child pseudo class.
Care to clarify how the pseudo class :first-child is going to help in this
case? I don't see that happening.


<html>
<head>
<title></title>

<style type="text/css">
<!--


Why is this <!-- in here?
<body>
<h1><a name="top">Strings and Thins</a></h1>

<a href="http://?">A hyperlink</a>
</body>

Try it. Clear enough.
Nice work, putting an inline element straight into the body of your document
(form the DTD for html4.01 loose and strict both:
<!ELEMENT A - - (%inline;)* -(A) -- anchor -->)

Try validating. Might surprise yourself.

Maybe you should refrain from giving advise 'till you learn to create proper,
valid markup.
BTW you really are an obnoxius cow!


Oh, that's nice. Big words. You brave laddy. Byebye.
--
,-- --<--@ -- PretLetters: 'woest wyf', met vele interesses: ----------.
| weblog | http://home.wanadoo.nl/b.de.zoete/_private/weblog.html |
| webontwerp | http://home.wanadoo.nl/b.de.zoete/html/webontwerp.html |
|zweefvliegen | http://home.wanadoo.nl/b.de.zoete/html/vliegen.html |
`-------------------------------------------------- --<--@ ------------'

Aug 3 '05 #13
On Wed, 03 Aug 2005 13:08:03 +0200, Barbara de Zoete wrote:
Try validating. Might surprise yourself.


I did. It didn't.
--------------------------------------------------

CSE HTML Validator Professional v4.51 (Registered)
Checking "\Document2.htm" (689 bytes).
File date is 03 August 2005 at 11:53:08.
File validated on 03 August 2005 at 12:13:47.

Number of lines checked: 15 in 0.12 seconds
Number of programs run: 17
Number of lines in HTML file: 45 (33.3% of lines checked)
Number of lines ignored: 30
Number of character entities: 0
Number of tags: 8
Number of closing tags: 8 (100.0% of tags closed)
Number of <% ... %> sections: 0
Number of HTML comments: 0

Number of validator comments: 6
Number of messages: 1
Number of errors: 0
Number of warnings: 1

--------------------------------------------------

[CSE] Warning number 1 in line -1:
[24] A document type declaration should appear as the first
line (line 1) of every HTML document. For example, for HTML
4.01 Strict documents, <!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD
HTML 4.01//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/html4/strict.dtd">
should be the first line. For HTML 4.01 Transitional
documents, the first line should be <!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC
"-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN"
"http://www.w3.org/TR/html4/loose.dtd">. For HTML 4.01
Frameset documents, the first line should be <!DOCTYPE HTML
PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Frameset//EN"
"http://www.w3.org/TR/html4/frameset.dtd">. Although HTML
recommendations generally require this line, most browsers
probably ignore it. If you are using HTML Validator's
integrated editor, you can add this from the Tags menu
and/or from the Tag Inserter.

1:
2: <html>
3: <head>
4: <title></title>
5:

6: <style type="text/css">
-------|||||

[CSE] Message number 1 for the tag beginning in line 6:2:
[5] Style sheet information is supported by Internet
Explorer 3.0+ and Netscape 4.0+. Other browsers may not use
style information. Furthermore, browsers that do support
style sheets may support them differently than other
browsers that also support style sheets. This can cause
style related incompatibility problems between different
browsers.

7: <!--
8:
9: a:link {color: black;
10: text-decoration: none;}
11: a:visited {color: #00FF00;}
12: a:hover
13: {
14: Color : red;
15: Text-decoration : none;
16: Border-top-width : medium;
17: Border-right-width : medium;
18: Border-bottom-width : medium;
19: Border-left-width : medium;
20: Border-color : rgb(255 , 102 , 51);
21: Border-style : groove;
22: Width : 30%;
23: Display : inline;
24: }
25: a:active {color: #0000FF;}
26:
27: a:first-child
28: {
29: color: black;
30: text-decoration: none;
31: border-style : none;
32: }
33:
34:
35: -->
36: </style>
37: </head>
38:
39: <body>
40: <h1><a name="top">Strings and Thins</a></h1>
41:
42:
43: <a href="http://?">A hyperlink</a>
44: </body>
45: </html>

[CSE] Comment number 1:
[8] <meta name="description" content="(actual description)">
should be used in the "head" section to provide a brief
description of what is contained on this page. This
information is used by many search engines when indexing a
site. If you are using HTML Validator's integrated editor,
you can add this from the Tags menu and/or from the Tag
Inserter.

[CSE] Comment number 2:
[8] <meta name="keywords" content="(actual keyword list)">
should be used in the "head" section to provide a list of
keywords that are relevent to this page. This information is
used by many search engines when indexing a site. If you are
using HTML Validator's integrated editor, you can add this
from the Tags menu and/or from the Tag Inserter.

[CSE] Comment number 3:
[15] An RSACi rating "meta" tag was not found in the "head"
section of this document. Browsers that are enabled with
this rating system may not display documents that have not
been rated. If you have rated this document by rating the
whole site or a section of it, it is still recommended that
you include the rating "meta" tag on all of your pages for
performance reasons. For more information, please visit
http://www.icra.org/.

[CSE] Comment number 4:
[26] Although not normally necessary, you may want to
include a "meta" tag similar to the following in the "head"
section of your document: <meta http-equiv="Content-Type"
content="text/html; charset=ISO-8859-1">

[CSE] Comment number 5:
[57] 711 bytes; 0.**@14.4Kbps, 0.**@28.8, 0.1s@50, 0.1s@64,
0.1s@128, 0.0s@384, 0.0s@512, 0.0s@768, 0.**@1.5Mbps,
0.0s@10Mbps.

[CSE] Comment number 6:
[14] 0.07s, 0 errors, 1 warning, 1 message, 6 validator
comments, 45 lines, 8 tags (8 closed), 0 document comments,
0 entities, 17 programs run.

--------------------------------------------------

<html>
| <head>
| | <title>
| | </title>
| | <style>
| | </style>
| </head>
| <body>
| | <h1>
| | | <a>
| | | </a>
| | </h1>
| | <a>
| | </a>
| </body>
</html>
Aug 3 '05 #14
On Wed, 03 Aug 2005 10:53:59 GMT, Rincewind <th***********@hotmail.com> wrote:
On Wed, 03 Aug 2005 12:40:51 +0200, Barbara de Zoete wrote:
take a look at http://www.w3schools.com/tags/tag_a.asp for all the options
that can be used with the <a> tag.
Yeah, well. Thank you very much for pointing that out. Like I wouldn't know.
:-|


Well sorrrrry, I wasn't aware that you were the font of all knowledge,


:-P Now you know.
I was a ware from all your other posts that you are a self proclaimed know
all and a pedant,
Only with posters that contribute rubbish and give wrong advise to people who
cannot yet distinguish what is good and what is bad.
so thank you for enlightening me O wonderous guru.
No need to thank me. Pray to me about five times a day, and I might grow milder
towords you, although never very forgiving.
<plonk>


Likewise.
--
,-- --<--@ -- PretLetters: 'woest wyf', met vele interesses: ----------.
| weblog | http://home.wanadoo.nl/b.de.zoete/_private/weblog.html |
| webontwerp | http://home.wanadoo.nl/b.de.zoete/html/webontwerp.html |
|zweefvliegen | http://home.wanadoo.nl/b.de.zoete/html/vliegen.html |
`-------------------------------------------------- --<--@ ------------'

Aug 3 '05 #15
David Dorward wrote:
.... or markup like <h1 name="top">Strings and Thins</a>


There's no name attribute for h1 in HTML. Do you mean id?

--
Johannes Koch
In te domine speravi; non confundar in aeternum.
(Te Deum, 4th cent.)
Aug 3 '05 #16
Rincewind <th***********@hotmail.com> wrote:
Try validating. Might surprise yourself.


I did. It didn't.

CSE HTML Validator Professional v4.51 (Registered)


CSE is a linter, not a validator, a validator checks against the
relevant DTD.

--
Spartanicus
Aug 3 '05 #17
On Wed, 03 Aug 2005 12:27:29 GMT, Spartanicus wrote:
Rincewind <th***********@hotmail.com> wrote:
Try validating. Might surprise yourself.


I did. It didn't.

CSE HTML Validator Professional v4.51 (Registered)


CSE is a linter, not a validator, a validator checks against the
relevant DTD.


I haven't got a clue what a "linter" is. :-))

The CSE website FAQ's this program says "If you use online validation
services, you should especially try HTML Validator. It is more reliable,
more powerful, much faster, much more user configurable, and displays
easier to understand messages. It also includes tools not available with
online validation services."
Now whether or not this is true I don't know but that's one of the reasons
I bought it. And I have yet to validate a page with this that doesn't
validate with W3C, with the file in question by adding the correct DTD it
still validates at W3C.
Aug 3 '05 #18
Rincewind <th***********@hotmail.com> wrote:
Try validating. Might surprise yourself.

I did. It didn't.

CSE HTML Validator Professional v4.51 (Registered)
CSE is a linter, not a validator, a validator checks against the
relevant DTD.


I haven't got a clue what a "linter" is. :-))


If only it stopped there.
The CSE website FAQ's this program says
Marketing drivel.
And I have yet to validate a page with this
Again, CSE is *not* a validator.
that doesn't validate with W3C


Another clue to your cluelessness, as if your reference to w3schools
wasn't enough.

--
Spartanicus
Aug 3 '05 #19
Johannes Koch wrote:
David Dorward wrote:
.... or markup like <h1 name="top">Strings and Thins</a>


There's no name attribute for h1 in HTML. Do you mean id?


D'oh. Yes.

--
David Dorward <http://blog.dorward.me.uk/> <http://dorward.me.uk/>
Home is where the ~/.bashrc is
Aug 3 '05 #20
Hi

thanks for all the help. as I said I am new to css, and the macro I use
in my text editor (epm) uses the 'name' tag (must update it), anyway I
feel a little foolish the problem seems fixed by using this combination
<h2 id="code">Download Files</h2>

and changing the doctype to
<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN"
"http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">

anyway thanks for all the help, I will definatelly follow up on the
links people sent in

regards and thanks

Adrian suri
Spartanicus wrote:
Rincewind <th***********@hotmail.com> wrote:

>Try validating. Might surprise yourself.

I did. It didn't.

CSE HTML Validator Professional v4.51 (Registered)

CSE is a linter, not a validator, a validator checks against the
relevant DTD.


I haven't got a clue what a "linter" is. :-))

If only it stopped there.

The CSE website FAQ's this program says

Marketing drivel.

And I have yet to validate a page with this

Again, CSE is *not* a validator.

that doesn't validate with W3C

Another clue to your cluelessness, as if your reference to w3schools
wasn't enough.

Aug 3 '05 #21
On Wed, 3 Aug 2005, Rincewind wrote:
On Wed, 03 Aug 2005 13:08:03 +0200, Barbara de Zoete wrote:
Try validating. Might surprise yourself.


I did. It didn't.
--------------------------------------------------

CSE HTML Validator Professional v4.51 (Registered)


Your application for fast-tracking into the killfile on the grounds of
apparently incurable cluelessness has been approved. (The other f'ups
were taken into account, be assured).
Aug 8 '05 #22

This thread has been closed and replies have been disabled. Please start a new discussion.

Similar topics

8
by: Ward | last post by:
Hi, I have a topframe and a mainframe. The topframe contains a listbox with trucknumbers (non sequential). The mainframe contains a page, where each truck has a table with data. In the...
2
by: mlv2312 | last post by:
Hi, I have experienced problems when dealing with nested anchors. I implemented some code to perform highlighting and specific anchors are used for the searched words. The problem is when the...
1
by: mlv2312 | last post by:
Hi, I have experienced problems when dealing with nested anchors. I implemented some code to perform highlighting and specific anchors are used for the searched words. The problem is when the...
2
by: learner | last post by:
Hi, A document has many Anchors. I want to take a particular action only if some particular anchors are clicked. I mean if some anchors are clicked, i want an alert box to pop up with ok and...
3
by: Mike Barnard | last post by:
Hi all, newbie here. Odd sounding subject but I can't describe it any better. I'm trying to teach myself a little about CSS. In a test site (not published) I am trying to use CSS to make...
1
by: eomer | last post by:
I have a lengthy page with several paragraphs. At the top of the page is a navigation bar with anchors to each of the paragraphs (the links). The problem is this: If I go to the page (after the...
3
by: windandwaves | last post by:
does it matter if I write var anchors = document.getElementsByTagName("A"); or var anchors = document.getElementsByTagName("a"); Or is there a better way to catch both <a hrefs and <A...
4
by: Miroslav Stampar [MCSD.NET / Security+] | last post by:
I need to get all links from an document element. In sample below how can i get link to "www.google.com" from element with ID="here" <html> <head> <title></title>
3
by: tjtryutyu | last post by:
I know very little javascript. Nonetheless, I found some example code that opens links into a new window if they contain "external" on the "rel attribute. For example: <a href="http:example.com"...
0
by: Charles Arthur | last post by:
How do i turn on java script on a villaon, callus and itel keypad mobile phone
0
by: emmanuelkatto | last post by:
Hi All, I am Emmanuel katto from Uganda. I want to ask what challenges you've faced while migrating a website to cloud. Please let me know. Thanks! Emmanuel
0
BarryA
by: BarryA | last post by:
What are the essential steps and strategies outlined in the Data Structures and Algorithms (DSA) roadmap for aspiring data scientists? How can individuals effectively utilize this roadmap to progress...
1
by: Sonnysonu | last post by:
This is the data of csv file 1 2 3 1 2 3 1 2 3 1 2 3 2 3 2 3 3 the lengths should be different i have to store the data by column-wise with in the specific length. suppose the i have to...
0
marktang
by: marktang | last post by:
ONU (Optical Network Unit) is one of the key components for providing high-speed Internet services. Its primary function is to act as an endpoint device located at the user's premises. However,...
0
by: Hystou | last post by:
Most computers default to English, but sometimes we require a different language, especially when relocating. Forgot to request a specific language before your computer shipped? No problem! You can...
0
Oralloy
by: Oralloy | last post by:
Hello folks, I am unable to find appropriate documentation on the type promotion of bit-fields when using the generalised comparison operator "<=>". The problem is that using the GNU compilers,...
0
by: Hystou | last post by:
Overview: Windows 11 and 10 have less user interface control over operating system update behaviour than previous versions of Windows. In Windows 11 and 10, there is no way to turn off the Windows...
0
tracyyun
by: tracyyun | last post by:
Dear forum friends, With the development of smart home technology, a variety of wireless communication protocols have appeared on the market, such as Zigbee, Z-Wave, Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, etc. Each...

By using Bytes.com and it's services, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

To disable or enable advertisements and analytics tracking please visit the manage ads & tracking page.