469,356 Members | 2,016 Online
Bytes | Developer Community
New Post

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

Post your question to a community of 469,356 developers. It's quick & easy.

how to stop all database manager processes even after db2stop

Hi, Friends,
I need to know how to stop all database process even after db2stop.
How can I stop all database processes?
I have finished upgraded our system test and UAT region from 32-bit to
64-bit.
I followed the following for my system test region:
1. log on aix with root
2. stop the instance
3. db2iupdt -w 64 instance

--
4. restart instance

I found after step 3, I couldn't start the instacne after upgrade. I
rebooted the box and then it worked.

I think the problem is after I stoped the instance, some DBM process
was still running.

From DB2 information center, when using db2iupdt it requirs:
When updating an instance using this command, you must first stop any
database manager processes running against the instance you wish to
update

Thanks,
George Zhang
03/14
Mar 14 '08 #1
11 11246
"zgh1970" <ge**********@lombard.cawrote in message
news:a1**********************************@2g2000hs n.googlegroups.com...
Hi, Friends,
I need to know how to stop all database process even after db2stop.
How can I stop all database processes?
I have finished upgraded our system test and UAT region from 32-bit to
64-bit.
I followed the following for my system test region:
1. log on aix with root
2. stop the instance
3. db2iupdt -w 64 instance

--
4. restart instance

I found after step 3, I couldn't start the instacne after upgrade. I
rebooted the box and then it worked.

I think the problem is after I stoped the instance, some DBM process
was still running.

From DB2 information center, when using db2iupdt it requirs:
When updating an instance using this command, you must first stop any
database manager processes running against the instance you wish to
update

Thanks,
George Zhang
03/14
Try ipclean command. This is usually specified in the fixpack install
instructions and should work in this case also..
Mar 14 '08 #2
On Mar 14, 9:58*am, zgh1970 <george.zh...@lombard.cawrote:
Hi, Friends,
I need to know how to stop all database process even after db2stop.
How can I stop all database processes?
I have finished upgraded our system test and UAT region from 32-bit to
64-bit.
*I followed * the following for my system test region:
1. log on aix with root
2. stop the instance
3. db2iupdt -w 64 instance

--
4. restart instance

I found after step 3, I couldn't start the instacne after upgrade. I
rebooted the box and then it worked.

I think the problem is after I stoped the instance, some DBM process
was still running.

From DB2 information center, when using db2iupdt it requirs:
When updating an instance using this command, you must first stop any
database manager processes *running against the instance you wish to
update

Thanks,
George Zhang
03/14
try the combination of ipclean,slibclean,ipcrm.

Mar 17 '08 #3
Hardy wrote:
On Mar 14, 9:58*am, zgh1970 <george.zh...@lombard.cawrote:
>Hi, Friends,
I need to know how to stop all database process even after db2stop.
How can I stop all database processes?
I have finished upgraded our system test and UAT region from 32-bit to
64-bit.
I followed * the following for my system test region:
1. log on aix with root
2. stop the instance
3. db2iupdt -w 64 instance

--
4. restart instance

I found after step 3, I couldn't start the instacne after upgrade. I
rebooted the box and then it worked.

I think the problem is after I stoped the instance, some DBM process
was still running.

From DB2 information center, when using db2iupdt it requirs:
When updating an instance using this command, you must first stop any
database manager processes *running against the instance you wish to
update

try the combination of ipclean,slibclean,ipcrm.
I would stick only with those things mentioned in the FP README. If it does
not work with this, contact IBM support to get the problem truly fixed.
Otherwise, you may run into the same issue in the future again - no point
for that.

--
Knut Stolze
DB2 z/OS Utilities Development
IBM Germany
Mar 17 '08 #4
slibclean and ipclean ( mentioned in the readmes ) are sometimes
needed.
I normally do:
* check for running db2 processes - and kill'em (after db2stop /
db2_kill) ; recheck
* ipcs / then ipcrm for still existing objects ; recheck
* slibclean
Of course the health / fault monitors have to be OFF...
A reboot is of course a goog thing - if you have your instances not in
autostart mode
and the db2fmcd is commented out in /etc/inittab
Mar 17 '08 #5
Can one stop the instance being logged on as root? Or does one need to
be logged on as instance owner to do that?

Larry E.

Knut Stolze wrote:
Hardy wrote:

>>On Mar 14, 9:58 am, zgh1970 <george.zh...@lombard.cawrote:
>>>Hi, Friends,
I need to know how to stop all database process even after db2stop.
How can I stop all database processes?
I have finished upgraded our system test and UAT region from 32-bit to
64-bit.
I followed the following for my system test region:
1. log on aix with root
2. stop the instance
3. db2iupdt -w 64 instance

--
4. restart instance

I found after step 3, I couldn't start the instacne after upgrade. I
rebooted the box and then it worked.

I think the problem is after I stoped the instance, some DBM process
was still running.

From DB2 information center, when using db2iupdt it requirs:
When updating an instance using this command, you must first stop any
database manager processes running against the instance you wish to
update

try the combination of ipclean,slibclean,ipcrm.


I would stick only with those things mentioned in the FP README. If it does
not work with this, contact IBM support to get the problem truly fixed.
Otherwise, you may run into the same issue in the future again - no point
for that.
Mar 17 '08 #6
Larry wrote:
Can one stop the instance being logged on as root? Or does one need to
be logged on as instance owner to do that?
If you are root, you can do a simple:

su - db2inst1 -c "db2stop"

--
Knut Stolze
DB2 z/OS Utilities Development
IBM Germany
Mar 17 '08 #7
But the OP said that he issued a stop instance under root. Couldn't that
be the cause of the remaining processes?

Larry E.

Knut Stolze wrote:
Larry wrote:

>>Can one stop the instance being logged on as root? Or does one need to
be logged on as instance owner to do that?


If you are root, you can do a simple:

su - db2inst1 -c "db2stop"
Mar 17 '08 #8
On Mar 17, 7:37*am, "stefan.albert" <stefan.alb...@spb.dewrote:
slibclean and ipclean ( mentioned in the readmes ) are sometimes
needed.
I normally do:
* ** check for running db2 processes - and kill'em (after db2stop /
db2_kill) ; recheck
* ** ipcs / then ipcrm for still existing objects ; recheck
* ** slibclean
Of course the health / fault monitors have to be OFF...
A reboot is of course a goog thing - if you have your instances not in
autostart mode
and the db2fmcd is commented out in /etc/inittab
Hi, Stefaan,
Thank you for the reply.
When we used db2stop, slibclean and fault monitors OFf.
then we upgrade db2 instance to 64-bit.
Will db2satrt make all process required on?

Thanks
Mar 17 '08 #9
normally "root" doesn't have the authority to do DB2 stuff - but if
root is in the SYSADM_GROUP and the environment is set correctly for
the instance (source db2profile in $INSTHOME/sqllib) it should work.
Of course the su... Knut wrote is a bit easier.

What processes do you need? I can't give a "complete" answer for your
setup.
A FP install normally inserts the line in /etc/inittab for fault
monitor (it will be started)
db2start will start all the configured services...
The admin server (if needed) must be started seperately - afaik

On Mar 17, 5:32*pm, zgh1970 <george.zh...@lombard.cawrote:
On Mar 17, 7:37*am, "stefan.albert" <stefan.alb...@spb.dewrote:slibclean and ipclean ( mentioned in the readmes ) are sometimes
needed.
I normally do:
* ** check for running db2 processes - and kill'em (after db2stop /
db2_kill) ; recheck
* ** ipcs / then ipcrm for still existing objects ; recheck
* ** slibclean
Of course the health / fault monitors have to be OFF...
A reboot is of course a goog thing - if you have your instances not in
autostart mode
and the db2fmcd is commented out in /etc/inittab

Hi, Stefaan,
Thank *you for the reply.
When we used db2stop, slibclean and fault monitors OFf.
then we upgrade db2 instance to 64-bit.
Will db2satrt make all process required on?

Thanks
Mar 18 '08 #10
So ... in other words, it is possible that having tried to stop the
database with root instead of the instance owner could have resulted in
an "incomplete stoppage".

Larry E.

stefan.albert wrote:
normally "root" doesn't have the authority to do DB2 stuff - but if
root is in the SYSADM_GROUP and the environment is set correctly for
the instance (source db2profile in $INSTHOME/sqllib) it should work.
Of course the su... Knut wrote is a bit easier.

What processes do you need? I can't give a "complete" answer for your
setup.
A FP install normally inserts the line in /etc/inittab for fault
monitor (it will be started)
db2start will start all the configured services...
The admin server (if needed) must be started seperately - afaik

On Mar 17, 5:32 pm, zgh1970 <george.zh...@lombard.cawrote:
>>On Mar 17, 7:37 am, "stefan.albert" <stefan.alb...@spb.dewrote:slibclean and ipclean ( mentioned in the readmes ) are sometimes
>>>needed.
I normally do:
* check for running db2 processes - and kill'em (after db2stop /
db2_kill) ; recheck
* ipcs / then ipcrm for still existing objects ; recheck
* slibclean
Of course the health / fault monitors have to be OFF...
A reboot is of course a goog thing - if you have your instances not in
autostart mode
and the db2fmcd is commented out in /etc/inittab

Hi, Stefaan,
Thank you for the reply.
When we used db2stop, slibclean and fault monitors OFf.
then we upgrade db2 instance to 64-bit.
Will db2satrt make all process required on?

Thanks

Mar 18 '08 #11
On Mar 18, 5:08*am, "stefan.albert" <stefan.alb...@spb.dewrote:
normally "root" doesn't have the authority to do DB2 stuff - but if
root is in the SYSADM_GROUP and the environment is set correctly for
the instance (source db2profile in $INSTHOME/sqllib) it should work.
Of course the su... Knut wrote is a bit easier.

What processes do you need? I can't give a "complete" answer for your
setup.
A FP install normally inserts the line in /etc/inittab for fault
monitor (it will be started)
db2start will start all the configured services...
The admin server (if needed) must be started seperately - afaik

On Mar 17, 5:32*pm, zgh1970 <george.zh...@lombard.cawrote:
On Mar 17, 7:37*am, "stefan.albert" <stefan.alb...@spb.dewrote:slibclean and ipclean ( mentioned in the readmes ) are sometimes
needed.
I normally do:
* ** check for running db2 processes - and kill'em (after db2stop /
db2_kill) ; recheck
* ** ipcs / then ipcrm for still existing objects ; recheck
* ** slibclean
Of course the health / fault monitors have to be OFF...
A reboot is of course a goog thing - if you have your instances not in
autostart mode
and the db2fmcd is commented out in /etc/inittab
Hi, Stefaan,
Thank *you for the reply.
When we used db2stop, slibclean and fault monitors OFf.
then we upgrade db2 instance to 64-bit.
Will db2satrt make all process required on?
Thanks- Hide quoted text -

- Show quoted text -
Hi, Stefan,
I means all rpocess we stoped with db2stop, slivclean, db2licd and
fault monitor before we db2iupt DB2 to 64-bit.
Because we need to stop all DB2 related process.
When we use db2start, will it also start db2licd and also fault
monitor dameo?
TThanks,
Mar 18 '08 #12

This discussion thread is closed

Replies have been disabled for this discussion.

Similar topics

reply views Thread by dcrespo | last post: by
1 post views Thread by Mark | last post: by
3 posts views Thread by David | last post: by
3 posts views Thread by Ivan Delic | last post: by
reply views Thread by zhoujie | last post: by
1 post views Thread by Marylou17 | last post: by
By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.