467,212 Members | 1,158 Online
Bytes | Developer Community
Ask Question

Home New Posts Topics Members FAQ

Post your question to a community of 467,212 developers. It's quick & easy.

db2 UDB backup using COMPRESS option

Hi, Friends,
>From db2 v8 Fixpac 4 backup has one new option COMPRESS using the
default DB2 compression library.

I am wondering if this option will have any new restriction on RESTORE
in the following.
(Can I used that backup imsage for restore at the follwoing compatible
situations?)
:
There are operating system considerations when using the RESTORE
DATABASE command:

9 9 You can restore databases created on a DB2 Version 8 32-bit 9
Windows platform to a DB2 Version 8 64-bit Windows platform, or the
reverse. 9 You can restore databases created on a DB2 Version 8 32-bit
Linux (Intel) 9 platform to a DB2 Version 8 64-bit Linux (Intel)
platform, or the reverse. 9 You can restore databases created on DB2
Version 8 AIX, HP-UX, or the Solaris Operating Environment 9
platforms, in 32-bit or 64-bit, to DB2 Version 8 AIX, HP-UX, or
Solaris Operating Environment platforms 9 (32-bit or 64-bit).

Thanks,

Sep 7 '07 #1
  • viewed: 4574
Share:
5 Replies
On Sep 7, 11:05 am, zgh1970 <george.zh...@lombard.cawrote:
Hi, Friends,>From db2 v8 Fixpac 4 backup has one new option COMPRESS using the

default DB2 compression library.

I am wondering if this option will have any new restriction on RESTORE
in the following.
(Can I used that backup imsage for restore at the follwoing compatible
situations?)
:
There are operating system considerations when using the RESTORE
DATABASE command:

9 9 You can restore databases created on a DB2 Version 8 32-bit 9
Windows platform to a DB2 Version 8 64-bit Windows platform, or the
reverse. 9 You can restore databases created on a DB2 Version 8 32-bit
Linux (Intel) 9 platform to a DB2 Version 8 64-bit Linux (Intel)
platform, or the reverse. 9 You can restore databases created on DB2
Version 8 AIX, HP-UX, or the Solaris Operating Environment 9
platforms, in 32-bit or 64-bit, to DB2 Version 8 AIX, HP-UX, or
Solaris Operating Environment platforms 9 (32-bit or 64-bit).

Thanks,
COMPRESS is a great new feature in DB2 V9. I have seen successful
compression of about 40% - 80% of backup image (it all depends on what
kind of data you have). My poorest COMPRESS performance is due to
large image BLOBs.

While performing a RESTORE from a compressed image, you don't have to
use the COMPRESS keyword again. DB2 automatically detects that you are
Restoring from compressed image. However, if you have used an external
compression library, I would assume you 'll need the same library at
the restore location. I have never tried using an external compression
library.

Thanks,
Sanjuro

Sep 10 '07 #2
Hi, Sanjuro,
thank you for the reply.
I want to know if there is any more retriction for RESTORE with
COMPRESS backup image to move database to another server (maybe
different fixpact, or form v8 to v9).
Thanks,

On Sep 10, 11:02 am, Sanjuro <ashru...@gmail.comwrote:
On Sep 7, 11:05 am, zgh1970 <george.zh...@lombard.cawrote:


Hi, Friends,>From db2 v8 Fixpac 4 backup has one new option COMPRESS using the
default DB2 compression library.
I am wondering if this option will have any new restriction on RESTORE
in the following.
(Can I used that backup imsage for restore at the follwoing compatible
situations?)
:
There are operating system considerations when using the RESTORE
DATABASE command:
9 9 You can restore databases created on a DB2 Version 8 32-bit 9
Windows platform to a DB2 Version 8 64-bit Windows platform, or the
reverse. 9 You can restore databases created on a DB2 Version 8 32-bit
Linux (Intel) 9 platform to a DB2 Version 8 64-bit Linux (Intel)
platform, or the reverse. 9 You can restore databases created on DB2
Version 8 AIX, HP-UX, or the Solaris Operating Environment 9
platforms, in 32-bit or 64-bit, to DB2 Version 8 AIX, HP-UX, or
Solaris Operating Environment platforms 9 (32-bit or 64-bit).
Thanks,

COMPRESS is a great new feature in DB2 V9. I have seen successful
compression of about 40% - 80% of backup image (it all depends on what
kind of data you have). My poorest COMPRESS performance is due to
large image BLOBs.

While performing a RESTORE from a compressed image, you don't have to
use the COMPRESS keyword again. DB2 automatically detects that you are
Restoring from compressed image. However, if you have used an external
compression library, I would assume you 'll need the same library at
the restore location. I have never tried using an external compression
library.

Thanks,
Sanjuro- Hide quoted text -

- Show quoted text -

Sep 10 '07 #3
On Sep 10, 4:43 pm, zgh1970 <george.zh...@lombard.cawrote:
Hi, Sanjuro,
thank you for the reply.
I want to know if there is any more retriction for RESTORE with
COMPRESS backup image to move database to another server (maybe
different fixpact, or form v8 to v9).
Thanks,

On Sep 10, 11:02 am, Sanjuro <ashru...@gmail.comwrote:
On Sep 7, 11:05 am, zgh1970 <george.zh...@lombard.cawrote:
Hi, Friends,>From db2 v8 Fixpac 4 backup has one new option COMPRESS using the
default DB2 compression library.
I am wondering if this option will have any new restriction on RESTORE
in the following.
(Can I used that backup imsage for restore at the follwoing compatible
situations?)
:
There are operating system considerations when using the RESTORE
DATABASE command:
9 9 You can restore databases created on a DB2 Version 8 32-bit 9
Windows platform to a DB2 Version 8 64-bit Windows platform, or the
reverse. 9 You can restore databases created on a DB2 Version 8 32-bit
Linux (Intel) 9 platform to a DB2 Version 8 64-bit Linux (Intel)
platform, or the reverse. 9 You can restore databases created on DB2
Version 8 AIX, HP-UX, or the Solaris Operating Environment 9
platforms, in 32-bit or 64-bit, to DB2 Version 8 AIX, HP-UX, or
Solaris Operating Environment platforms 9 (32-bit or 64-bit).
Thanks,
COMPRESS is a great new feature in DB2 V9. I have seen successful
compression of about 40% - 80% of backup image (it all depends on what
kind of data you have). My poorest COMPRESS performance is due to
large image BLOBs.
While performing a RESTORE from a compressed image, you don't have to
use the COMPRESS keyword again. DB2 automatically detects that you are
Restoring from compressed image. However, if you have used an external
compression library, I would assume you 'll need the same library at
the restore location. I have never tried using an external compression
library.
Thanks,
Sanjuro- Hide quoted text -
- Show quoted text -- Hide quoted text -

- Show quoted text -
yes while moving from 8.2.7 32bit to 9.1 64 bit we have to use
uncompressed images as it was giving problems while restoring
compressed images

Sep 10 '07 #4
On Sep 10, 11:48 am, rahul <rahul...@gmail.comwrote:
On Sep 10, 4:43 pm, zgh1970 <george.zh...@lombard.cawrote:


Hi, Sanjuro,
thank you for the reply.
I want to know if there is any more retriction for RESTORE with
COMPRESS backup image to move database to another server (maybe
different fixpact, or form v8 to v9).
Thanks,
On Sep 10, 11:02 am, Sanjuro <ashru...@gmail.comwrote:
On Sep 7, 11:05 am, zgh1970 <george.zh...@lombard.cawrote:
Hi, Friends,>From db2 v8 Fixpac 4 backup has one new option COMPRESS using the
default DB2 compression library.
I am wondering if this option will have any new restriction on RESTORE
in the following.
(Can I used that backup imsage for restore at the follwoing compatible
situations?)
:
There are operating system considerations when using the RESTORE
DATABASE command:
9 9 You can restore databases created on a DB2 Version 8 32-bit 9
Windows platform to a DB2 Version 8 64-bit Windows platform, or the
reverse. 9 You can restore databases created on a DB2 Version 8 32-bit
Linux (Intel) 9 platform to a DB2 Version 8 64-bit Linux (Intel)
platform, or the reverse. 9 You can restore databases created on DB2
Version 8 AIX, HP-UX, or the Solaris Operating Environment 9
platforms, in 32-bit or 64-bit, to DB2 Version 8 AIX, HP-UX, or
Solaris Operating Environment platforms 9 (32-bit or 64-bit).
Thanks,
COMPRESS is a great new feature in DB2 V9. I have seen successful
compression of about 40% - 80% of backup image (it all depends on what
kind of data you have). My poorest COMPRESS performance is due to
large image BLOBs.
While performing a RESTORE from a compressed image, you don't have to
use the COMPRESS keyword again. DB2 automatically detects that you are
Restoring from compressed image. However, if you have used an external
compression library, I would assume you 'll need the same library at
the restore location. I have never tried using an external compression
library.
Thanks,
Sanjuro- Hide quoted text -
- Show quoted text -- Hide quoted text -
- Show quoted text -

yes while moving from 8.2.7 32bit to 9.1 64 bit we have to use
uncompressed images as it was giving problems while restoring
compressed images- Hide quoted text -

- Show quoted text -
Hi,
Can I use db2 v8.2 32-bit backup image with compress to restore on db2
v8.2 64-bit and db2 v9?
Thanks,

Sep 14 '07 #5
On Sep 14, 4:53 pm, zgh1970 <george.zh...@lombard.cawrote:
On Sep 10, 11:48 am, rahul <rahul...@gmail.comwrote:


On Sep 10, 4:43 pm, zgh1970 <george.zh...@lombard.cawrote:
Hi, Sanjuro,
thank you for the reply.
I want to know if there is any more retriction for RESTORE with
COMPRESS backup image to move database to another server (maybe
different fixpact, or form v8 to v9).
Thanks,
On Sep 10, 11:02 am, Sanjuro <ashru...@gmail.comwrote:
On Sep 7, 11:05 am, zgh1970 <george.zh...@lombard.cawrote:
Hi, Friends,>From db2 v8 Fixpac 4 backup has one new option COMPRESS using the
default DB2 compression library.
I am wondering if this option will have any new restriction on RESTORE
in the following.
(Can I used that backup imsage for restore at the follwoing compatible
situations?)
:
There are operating system considerations when using the RESTORE
DATABASE command:
9 9 You can restore databases created on a DB2 Version 8 32-bit 9
Windows platform to a DB2 Version 8 64-bit Windows platform, or the
reverse. 9 You can restore databases created on a DB2 Version 8 32-bit
Linux (Intel) 9 platform to a DB2 Version 8 64-bit Linux (Intel)
platform, or the reverse. 9 You can restore databases created on DB2
Version 8 AIX, HP-UX, or the Solaris Operating Environment 9
platforms, in 32-bit or 64-bit, to DB2 Version 8 AIX, HP-UX, or
Solaris Operating Environment platforms 9 (32-bit or 64-bit).
Thanks,
COMPRESS is a great new feature in DB2 V9. I have seen successful
compression of about 40% - 80% of backup image (it all depends on what
kind of data you have). My poorest COMPRESS performance is due to
large image BLOBs.
While performing a RESTORE from a compressed image, you don't have to
use the COMPRESS keyword again. DB2 automatically detects that you are
Restoring from compressed image. However, if you have used an external
compression library, I would assume you 'll need the same library at
the restore location. I have never tried using an external compression
library.
Thanks,
Sanjuro- Hide quoted text -
- Show quoted text -- Hide quoted text -
- Show quoted text -
yes while moving from 8.2.7 32bit to 9.1 64 bit we have to use
uncompressed images as it was giving problems while restoring
compressed images- Hide quoted text -
- Show quoted text -

Hi,
Can I use db2 v8.2 32-bit backup image with compress to restore on db2
v8.2 64-bit and db2 v9?
Thanks,- Hide quoted text -

- Show quoted text -
technically it should work. but i dont know why it wasnt working in my
case

Sep 17 '07 #6

This discussion thread is closed

Replies have been disabled for this discussion.

Similar topics

3 posts views Thread by Tim Gahnstrom | last post: by
6 posts views Thread by Joachim Klassen | last post: by
3 posts views Thread by Stanley Sinclair | last post: by
9 posts views Thread by Stanley Sinclair | last post: by
2 posts views Thread by Jean-Marc Blaise | last post: by
4 posts views Thread by uthuras@hotmail.com | last post: by
1 post views Thread by kaming | last post: by
2 posts views Thread by sandeep.iitk@gmail.com | last post: by
By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.