473,386 Members | 1,630 Online
Bytes | Software Development & Data Engineering Community
Post Job

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

Join Bytes to post your question to a community of 473,386 software developers and data experts.

update db cfg dbheap

Hello all,

I am trying to change a db2 configuration parameter from within my jdbc
code. When I use the following:
Statement stmt2 = con.createStatement();
stmt2.executeUpdate(
"update db cfg for sample using dbheap 800");
stmt2.close();

I get the following exception:
[IBM][CLI Driver][DB2/NT] SQL0104N An unexpected token "update db" was
found following "BEGIN-OF-STATEMENT". Expected tokens may include:
"<drop_transf>". SQLSTATE=42601

How can I change dbheap parameter from jdbc?

Thanks for your help

Nov 12 '05 #1
11 5810
"Issam" <is*****@hotmail.com> wrote in message
news:11**********************@g44g2000cwa.googlegr oups.com...
Hello all,

I am trying to change a db2 configuration parameter from within my jdbc
code. When I use the following:
Statement stmt2 = con.createStatement();
stmt2.executeUpdate(
"update db cfg for sample using dbheap 800");
stmt2.close();

I get the following exception:
[IBM][CLI Driver][DB2/NT] SQL0104N An unexpected token "update db" was
found following "BEGIN-OF-STATEMENT". Expected tokens may include:
"<drop_transf>". SQLSTATE=42601
How can I change dbheap parameter from jdbc?

Thanks for your help

That is a DB2 command, not an SQL statement. You need to issue that from a
OS command line (with "db2" prefacing the statement). I assume there is a
way to do that from Java, but I don't know how.
Nov 12 '05 #2
Mark A wrote:
"Issam" <is*****@hotmail.com> wrote in message
news:11**********************@g44g2000cwa.googlegr oups.com...
Hello all,

I am trying to change a db2 configuration parameter from within my jdbc
code. When I use the following:
Statement stmt2 = con.createStatement();
stmt2.executeUpdate(
"update db cfg for sample using dbheap 800");
stmt2.close();

I get the following exception:
[IBM][CLI Driver][DB2/NT] SQL0104N An unexpected token "update db" was
found following "BEGIN-OF-STATEMENT". Expected tokens may include:
"<drop_transf>". SQLSTATE=42601
How can I change dbheap parameter from jdbc?

Thanks for your help


That is a DB2 command, not an SQL statement. You need to issue that from a
OS command line (with "db2" prefacing the statement). I assume there is a
way to do that from Java, but I don't know how.

http://publib.boulder.ibm.com/infoce...n/r0012547.htm

Cheers
Serge
--
Serge Rielau
DB2 SQL Compiler Development
IBM Toronto Lab
Nov 12 '05 #3
"Serge Rielau" <sr*****@ca.ibm.com> wrote in message
news:3i************@individual.net...
http://publib.boulder.ibm.com/infoce...n/r0012547.htm

Cheers
Serge


Another feature new to FP9 that is not documented in the What's New section.
Nov 12 '05 #4
OK. When I try to use the CALL SYSPROC.ADMIN_CMD command from the
db2 command line, I get the following error:

SQL0440N No authorized routine named "SYSPROC.ADMIN_CMD" of type
"PROCEDURE" having compatible arguments was found. SQLSTATE=42884

It looks that this procedure does not exist.

I have db2 V8.1. What should I do?

Thanks.

Nov 12 '05 #5
Issam wrote:
OK. When I try to use the CALL SYSPROC.ADMIN_CMD command from the
db2 command line, I get the following error:

SQL0440N No authorized routine named "SYSPROC.ADMIN_CMD" of type
"PROCEDURE" having compatible arguments was found. SQLSTATE=42884

It looks that this procedure does not exist.

I have db2 V8.1. What should I do?

Thanks.

I suspect you need to run db2updv8 to register the proc for DBs which
were created prior to it's incarnation.

Cheers
Serge
--
Serge Rielau
DB2 SQL Compiler Development
IBM Toronto Lab
Nov 12 '05 #6
Thank you for your replies Serge. I have tried to run db2updv8, but it
seems the command is not recognized !

C:\Program Files\IBM\SQLLIB\BIN>db2 db2updv8 -d sample
DB21034E The command was processed as an SQL statement because it was
not a
valid Command Line Processor command. During SQL processing it
returned:
SQL0104N An unexpected token "END-OF-STATEMENT" was found following
"db2updv8
-d sample". Expected tokens may include: "JOIN <joined_table>".
SQLSTATE=42601
Is there a mistake?

Nov 12 '05 #7

"Issam" <is*****@hotmail.com> wrote in message
news:11**********************@g44g2000cwa.googlegr oups.com...
Thank you for your replies Serge. I have tried to run db2updv8, but it
seems the command is not recognized !

C:\Program Files\IBM\SQLLIB\BIN>db2 db2updv8 -d sample
DB21034E The command was processed as an SQL statement because it was
not a
valid Command Line Processor command. During SQL processing it
returned:
SQL0104N An unexpected token "END-OF-STATEMENT" was found following
"db2updv8
-d sample". Expected tokens may include: "JOIN <joined_table>".
SQLSTATE=42601

Is there a mistake?


You don't need to prefix it with "db2" -- just run "db2updv8 -d sample" from
the command prompt.

--
Matt Emmerton
Nov 12 '05 #8
"Matt Emmerton" <me******@nospam.yahoo.com> wrote in message
news:3q********************@rogers.com...

You don't need to prefix it with "db2" -- just run "db2updv8 -d sample"
from
the command prompt.

--
Matt Emmerton

System Commands in Chapter 1 of the Command Reference are executable
programs or scripts and do not need the "db2" prefix.

CLP Commands on Chapter 3 need the "db2" prefix.
Nov 12 '05 #9

Serge Rielau wrote:
Hello all,

[quoted text clipped - 16 lines]
OS command line (with "db2" prefacing the statement). I assume there is a
way to do that from Java, but I don't know how.


http://publib.boulder.ibm.com/infoce...n/r0012547.htm

Cheers
Serge


Serge, perhaps this does not belong right here ...
still: I wanted to see the link you sent, but I can't getting the following
message:
The topic that you have requested is not available. The link may be wrong, or
you may not have the corresponding product feature installed. This online
help only includes documentation for features that are installed.

How come? I thought this is the Internet ?? And I do have ESE FP 9 installed,
so I sure dunno what to do about it..

Thank you,
Juliane
--
Message posted via DBMonster.com
http://www.dbmonster.com/Uwe/Forums....m-db2/200507/1
Nov 12 '05 #10
Juliane via DBMonster.com wrote:
Serge Rielau wrote:
http://publib.boulder.ibm.com/infoce...n/r0012547.htm

Serge, perhaps this does not belong right here ...
still: I wanted to see the link you sent, but I can't getting the following
message:
The topic that you have requested is not available. The link may be wrong, or
you may not have the corresponding product feature installed. This online
help only includes documentation for features that are installed.

How come? I thought this is the Internet ?? And I do have ESE FP 9 installed,
so I sure dunno what to do about it..

I'm baffled... I just validated and the link works for me.
I don't think you need the product installed to read it. After all you
likely browse from your laptop which may be entirely differently set up
from what the server has installed.
Maybe a copy/paste error?

Cheers
Serge
--
Serge Rielau
DB2 SQL Compiler Development
IBM Toronto Lab
Nov 12 '05 #11

Juliane wrote:
Hello all,

[quoted text clipped - 6 lines]
Cheers
Serge


Serge, perhaps this does not belong right here ...
still: I wanted to see the link you sent, but I can't getting the following
message:
The topic that you have requested is not available. The link may be wrong, or
you may not have the corresponding product feature installed. This online
help only includes documentation for features that are installed.

How come? I thought this is the Internet ?? And I do have ESE FP 9 installed,
so I sure dunno what to do about it..

Thank you,
Juliane


I guess its some kind of browser codepage problem or whatever, the link
itself does not work. After copying the text twice first to notepad then in a
browser works.
--
Message posted via http://www.dbmonster.com
Nov 12 '05 #12

This thread has been closed and replies have been disabled. Please start a new discussion.

Similar topics

7
by: Dave | last post by:
I have 2 tables, one with names, and another with addresses, joined by their CIVICID number (unique to the ADDRESSINFO table) in Oracle. I need to update a field in the NAMEINFO table for a...
8
by: Lauren Quantrell | last post by:
In VBA, I constructed the following to update all records in tblmyTable with each records in tblmyTableTEMP having the same UniqueID: UPDATE tblMyTable RIGHT JOIN tblMyTableTEMP ON...
27
by: VK | last post by:
<http://www.jibbering.com/faq/#FAQ3_2> The parts where update, replacement or add-on is needed are in <update> tag. 3.2 What online resources are available? Javascript FAQ sites, please...
16
by: Philip Boonzaaier | last post by:
I want to be able to generate SQL statements that will go through a list of data, effectively row by row, enquire on the database if this exists in the selected table- If it exists, then the colums...
3
by: Mark | last post by:
In a DB2 V8.1 performance tuning document from a 3rd party vendor, I found this statement. Can anyone verify this? "DB2 requires 100 bytes of memory for every buffer pool and extended storage...
3
by: Shapper | last post by:
Hello, I have created 3 functions to insert, update and delete an Access database record. The Insert and the Delete code are working fine. The update is not. I checked and my database has all...
9
by: jaYPee | last post by:
I have search a lot of thread in google newsgroup and read a lot of articles but still i don't know how to update the dataset that has 3 tables. my 3 tables looks like the 3 tables from...
8
by: Zorpiedoman | last post by:
I keep getting a concurrency exception the second time I make a change and attempt to update a dataadapter. It appears this is by design, so there must be something I can do to avoid it. ...
2
by: Joachim Klassen | last post by:
Hi all, Env: DB2 ESE/DPF 8.1.6 64 Bit on AIX 5.2.0 we recently had problems with an offline backup of a database with 5 partitions that fails with SQL0956 - Not enough storage in dbheap....
0
by: taylorcarr | last post by:
A Canon printer is a smart device known for being advanced, efficient, and reliable. It is designed for home, office, and hybrid workspace use and can also be used for a variety of purposes. However,...
0
by: Charles Arthur | last post by:
How do i turn on java script on a villaon, callus and itel keypad mobile phone
0
by: aa123db | last post by:
Variable and constants Use var or let for variables and const fror constants. Var foo ='bar'; Let foo ='bar';const baz ='bar'; Functions function $name$ ($parameters$) { } ...
0
by: ryjfgjl | last post by:
In our work, we often receive Excel tables with data in the same format. If we want to analyze these data, it can be difficult to analyze them because the data is spread across multiple Excel files...
1
by: nemocccc | last post by:
hello, everyone, I want to develop a software for my android phone for daily needs, any suggestions?
1
by: Sonnysonu | last post by:
This is the data of csv file 1 2 3 1 2 3 1 2 3 1 2 3 2 3 2 3 3 the lengths should be different i have to store the data by column-wise with in the specific length. suppose the i have to...
0
by: Hystou | last post by:
There are some requirements for setting up RAID: 1. The motherboard and BIOS support RAID configuration. 2. The motherboard has 2 or more available SATA protocol SSD/HDD slots (including MSATA, M.2...
0
Oralloy
by: Oralloy | last post by:
Hello folks, I am unable to find appropriate documentation on the type promotion of bit-fields when using the generalised comparison operator "<=>". The problem is that using the GNU compilers,...
0
jinu1996
by: jinu1996 | last post by:
In today's digital age, having a compelling online presence is paramount for businesses aiming to thrive in a competitive landscape. At the heart of this digital strategy lies an intricately woven...

By using Bytes.com and it's services, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

To disable or enable advertisements and analytics tracking please visit the manage ads & tracking page.