By using this site, you agree to our updated Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Manage your Cookies Settings.
440,016 Members | 2,297 Online
Bytes IT Community
+ Ask a Question
Need help? Post your question and get tips & solutions from a community of 440,016 IT Pros & Developers. It's quick & easy.

Force all users to disconnect before backup

P: n/a
I have the backup command

BACKUP DATABASE NEST TO C:\\databases WITH 2 BUFFERS BUFFER 1024 $

How do I force all the user to disconnect? before running the above command
Nov 12 '05 #1
Share this Question
Share on Google+
2 Replies


P: n/a
Tony,

db2 force application all or
db2stop force and after that before backup the database a db2start.

With V8 you can also use quiese with force option to set the database in
maintenance mode...

regards,
Joachim Müller

"Tony Do" <tu*****@hotmail.com> schrieb im Newsbeitrag
news:40***********************@news.optusnet.com.a u...
I have the backup command

BACKUP DATABASE NEST TO C:\\databases WITH 2 BUFFERS BUFFER 1024 $

How do I force all the user to disconnect? before running the above command

Nov 12 '05 #2

P: n/a
Thank Joachim
"Joachim Mueller" <jom0309@[--spam--]douglas-informatik.de> wrote in message
news:c2**********@news.dtag.de...
Tony,

db2 force application all or
db2stop force and after that before backup the database a db2start.

With V8 you can also use quiese with force option to set the database in
maintenance mode...

regards,
Joachim Müller

"Tony Do" <tu*****@hotmail.com> schrieb im Newsbeitrag
news:40***********************@news.optusnet.com.a u...
I have the backup command

BACKUP DATABASE NEST TO C:\\databases WITH 2 BUFFERS BUFFER 1024 $

How do I force all the user to disconnect? before running the above

command


Nov 12 '05 #3

This discussion thread is closed

Replies have been disabled for this discussion.