473,237 Members | 1,428 Online
Bytes | Software Development & Data Engineering Community
Post Job

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

Join Bytes to post your question to a community of 473,237 software developers and data experts.

break outside a loop and a switch

Could someone tell me a beautiful way to exit from a switch and a loop in one statement ...
without using a goto... and if possible without using an auxiliary variable as i did...

int res;
while (1)
{
res = 0;
if ((i = msgrcv (msqid, &rq_resa, SZ_MsgSrcResa, pid(), 0) == -1)
{
aff_erreurs ("msgrcv", "Error when recieving message : %d", errno);
continue;
}
if (strcasecmp (rq_resa.mess,"admin"))
printf ("Admin d'ont manage bad formatted messages...\n");
else
switch (rq_resa.rep)
{
case 'q':
res = working_q();
manage_error (res);
break;
case 'f':
res = working_f();
manage_error (res);
break;
default:
printf ("This function is not yet implemented...\n");
}
if (res) break;
}

all ideas welcome,

Xavier
Jan 29 '06 #1
14 6208
serrand wrote:
Could someone tell me a beautiful way to exit from a switch and a loop
in one statement ...
without using a goto... and if possible without using an auxiliary
variable as i did...

int res;
while (1)
{
res = 0;
if ((i = msgrcv (msqid, &rq_resa, SZ_MsgSrcResa, pid(), 0) == -1)
{
aff_erreurs ("msgrcv", "Error when recieving message : %d",
errno);
continue;
}
if (strcasecmp (rq_resa.mess,"admin"))
printf ("Admin d'ont manage bad formatted messages...\n");
else
switch (rq_resa.rep)
{
case 'q':
res = working_q();
manage_error (res);
break;
case 'f':
res = working_f();
manage_error (res);
break;
default:
printf ("This function is not yet implemented...\n");
}
if (res) break;
}

all ideas welcome,


Here's a possibility:

while (1) {
...
switch (rq_resa.rep) {
case 'q':
res = working_q();
if (res == 0)
continue;
break;
case 'f':
res = working_f();
if (res == 0)
continue;
break;
...
}
manage_error (res);
break;
}

However, I would not recommend using this pattern
indiscriminately. Other programmers -- perhaps yourself
in six months' time -- are likely to find the control flow
confusing and contrary to the usual expectations of the
way `switch' behaves. When you confuse the programmer
(perhaps yourself), you increase the chance of introducing
errors during "routine" maintenance. There's nothing wrong
with the pattern in your original code, and the "auxiliary"
variable seems to be necessary anyhow.

Another way to rearrange your original might go something
like this:

do {
...
switch (rq_resa.rep) {
case 'q':
res = working_q();
break;
case 'f':
res = working_f();
break;
...
}
} while (res == 0);
manage_error (res);

.... and I think this is clearer than my abuse of `continue',
but perhaps a little less clear than your original.

--
Eric Sosman
es*****@acm-dot-org.invalid
Jan 29 '06 #2

serrand wrote:
Could someone tell me a beautiful way to exit from a switch and a loop in one statement ...

[snip]
beauty is in the eye of the beholder...

Jan 29 '06 #3
Eric Sosman wrote:
serrand wrote:
<snip OP and first suggection by Eric>
Another way to rearrange your original might go something
like this:

do {
...
switch (rq_resa.rep) {
case 'q':
res = working_q();
break;
case 'f':
res = working_f();
break;
...
}
} while (res == 0);
manage_error (res);

... and I think this is clearer than my abuse of `continue',
but perhaps a little less clear than your original.


I'd say that this is the "correct" way of representing what OP wanted,
and one of the cases where do { } while() is a natural choice.

Cheers

Vladimir

--
(NULL sig; hope that's OK)

Jan 29 '06 #4
Haroon Shafiq wrote:

serrand wrote:
Could someone tell me a beautiful way to exit from a switch and a
loop in one statement ...

[snip]
beauty is in the eye of the beholder...


No:

Beauty is the eye of the beer-holder... ;-)

Cheers

Vladimir

--
Bubble Memory, n.:
A derogatory term, usually referring to a person's
intelligence. See also "vacuum tube".

Jan 29 '06 #5
Vladimir S. Oka wrote:
Haroon Shafiq wrote:

serrand wrote:
Could someone tell me a beautiful way to exit from a switch and a
loop in one statement ...

[snip]
beauty is in the eye of the beholder...


No:

Beauty is the eye of the beer-holder... ;-)


Obviously, "in the eye", although the above could have some merit, too.

Cheers

Vladimir

--
Famous last words:

Jan 29 '06 #6
On Sun, 29 Jan 2006 14:10:21 UTC, serrand <xa************@free.fr>
wrote:
Could someone tell me a beautiful way to exit from a switch and a loop in one statement ...
without using a goto... and if possible without using an auxiliary variable as i did...
Some very little changes:

/* int res; */
int res = 0; /* initialise variables during definition makes
things easier */
/* while (1) */

while (!res)
{ /* superflous res = 0; */ if ((i = msgrcv (msqid, &rq_resa, SZ_MsgSrcResa, pid(), 0) == -1)
{
aff_erreurs ("msgrcv", "Error when recieving message : %d", errno);
continue;
}
if (strcasecmp (rq_resa.mess,"admin")) { printf ("Admin d'ont manage bad formatted messages...\n"); res = 4712; /* some value reprenting this error if it is
one */
break; /* or when this is not really an error then
continue; */
/* and no change to res */
} else /* will be superflous now */
switch (rq_resa.rep)
{
case 'q':
res = working_q(); /* manage_error (res); */ break;
case 'f':
res = working_f(); /* manage_error (res); /* set error code like above instead */
*/ break;
default:
printf ("This function is not yet implemented...\n"); res = 4711; /* some value representing this error
(if it is one */ } /* unneeded as the while makes the right thing. if (res) break; */ } manage_error(res); /* will do nothing when res is 0 (NO_ERROR) */
all ideas welcome,


There is a flaw anyway above: You would set an errorcode and break the
while whenever something gets fault. manage_error() should know that
it has only to print a single error message and do exactly that.

That is whenever one case is finished good: continue;
bad: break; (the switch)

Another possiblity is to move the whole switch (maybe inclusive the
while when it is really needed) into an own function and use "return
errorcode" whenever you have to break out and return 0 otherwise,

I prefere this because
- the new function will break its run whenever an error is dedected
so we know inside the function that anything goes well for now.
You would not even think on goto.
- anything that is to do when the switch is finished can be done there
without breaking the flow as we know that the calle gets informed
immediately about the error and only when there is no error the flow
gets on.
- I love short functions holding only organizational things where
the real work gets hidden. I learned that in the time an I8088 was
quick like a rocket.
--
Tschau/Bye
Herbert

Visit http://www.ecomstation.de the home of german eComStation
eComStation 1.2 Deutsch ist da!
Jan 29 '06 #7
Vladimir S. Oka wrote:
Vladimir S. Oka wrote:

Haroon Shafiq wrote:

serrand wrote:

Could someone tell me a beautiful way to exit from a switch and a
loop in one statement ...

[snip]
beauty is in the eye of the beholder...


No:

Beauty is the eye of the beer-holder... ;-)

Obviously, "in the eye", although the above could have some merit, too.

Cheers

Vladimir

And often best observed through the bottom of the beer-glass. :-)

--
Joe Wright
"Everything should be made as simple as possible, but not simpler."
--- Albert Einstein ---
Jan 29 '06 #8

"serrand" <xa************@free.fr> wrote in message
news:43***********************@news.wanadoo.fr...
Could someone tell me a beautiful way to exit from a switch and a loop in one statement ... without using a goto... and if possible without using an auxiliary variable as i did...
int res;
while (1)
{
res = 0;
if ((i = msgrcv (msqid, &rq_resa, SZ_MsgSrcResa, pid(), 0) == -1)
{
aff_erreurs ("msgrcv", "Error when recieving message : %d", errno); continue;
}
if (strcasecmp (rq_resa.mess,"admin"))
printf ("Admin d'ont manage bad formatted messages...\n");
else
switch (rq_resa.rep)
{
case 'q':
res = working_q();
manage_error (res);
break;
case 'f':
res = working_f();
manage_error (res);
break;
default:
printf ("This function is not yet implemented...\n");
}
if (res) break;
}

all ideas welcome,

Xavier


Like Sosman, I think 'continue' is the way to go. All loopable cases hit a
'continue' and all exitable cases hit a 'break' 'break'. Also, there is no
use of a temporary variable 'res'. Unfortunately, without the temporary
variable, manage_error() always gets called. Also, it's 'receiving', the
'i' and 'e' are switched. Also, it's "doesn't" not "d'ont".

while (1)
{
if ((i = msgrcv (msqid, &rq_resa, SZ_MsgSrcResa, pid(), 0) == -1)
{
aff_erreurs ("msgrcv", "Error when receiving message : %d",
errno);
continue;
}
if (strcasecmp (rq_resa.mess,"admin"))
{
printf ("Admin doesn't manage bad formatted messages...\n");
continue;
}
else
switch (rq_resa.rep)
{
case 'q':
manage_error (working_q());
break;
case 'f':
manage_error (working_f());
break;
default:
printf ("This function is not yet implemented...\n");
continue;
}
break;
}
Rod Pemberton
Jan 30 '06 #9
serrand wrote:
Could someone tell me a beautiful way to exit from a switch and a loop
in one statement ...
without using a goto... and if possible without using an auxiliary
variable as i did...

int res;
while (1)
{
res = 0;
if ((i = msgrcv (msqid, &rq_resa, SZ_MsgSrcResa, pid(), 0) == -1)
{
aff_erreurs ("msgrcv", "Error when recieving message : %d",
errno);
continue;
}
if (strcasecmp (rq_resa.mess,"admin"))
printf ("Admin d'ont manage bad formatted messages...\n");
else
switch (rq_resa.rep)
{
case 'q':
res = working_q();
manage_error (res);
break;
case 'f':
res = working_f();
manage_error (res);
break;
default:
printf ("This function is not yet implemented...\n");
}
if (res) break;
}

all ideas welcome,

Xavier


a while loop is executed as long as the condition is true.
I do not consider while(1) an elegant way to program.
It may make your code faster and that's fine if that's what you
want, but I would use a variable that can change to false
when you want it to.

--
Ioan - Ciprian Tandau
tandau _at_ freeshell _dot_ org (hope it's not too late)
(... and that it still works...)
Jan 30 '06 #10
serrand wrote:
Could someone tell me a beautiful way to exit from a switch and a loop in one
statement ...
Yes...
without using a goto...


What have you got against goto?

--
Peter

Jan 30 '06 #11
Nelu wrote:
a while loop is executed as long as the condition is true.
I do not consider while(1) an elegant way to program.
It may make your code faster and that's fine if that's what you
want, but I would use a variable that can change to false
when you want it to.


It's not about elegant - it's about get it done.

Anyways, why not state what you wanted to state?

while (res) { res = blah(); }

Jan 30 '06 #12
clayne wrote:
Nelu wrote:
a while loop is executed as long as the condition is true.
I do not consider while(1) an elegant way to program.
It may make your code faster and that's fine if that's what you
want, but I would use a variable that can change to false
when you want it to.
It's not about elegant - it's about get it done.

Yes, it is about getting it done but I replied to the elegant
way question.
Anyways, why not state what you wanted to state?

while (res) { res = blah(); }

I guess it would've been easier to do just that. I don't know
why I didn't do it.
--
Ioan - Ciprian Tandau
tandau _at_ freeshell _dot_ org (hope it's not too late)
(... and that it still works...)
Jan 30 '06 #13
How about:

int res = 0 ;

while (!res)
{
res = 0;
if ((i = msgrcv (msqid, &rq_resa, SZ_MsgSrcResa, pid(), 0) == -1)
{
aff_erreurs ("msgrcv", "Error when recieving message : %d",
errno);
continue;
}
if (strcasecmp (rq_resa.mess,"admin"))
printf ("Admin d'ont manage bad formatted messages...\n");
else
switch (rq_resa.rep)
{
case 'q':
res = working_q();
manage_error (res);
break;
case 'f':
res = working_f();
manage_error (res);
break;
default:
printf ("This function is not yet implemented...\n");
}
}
Jan 31 '06 #14
Neil wrote:
int res = 0 ;

while (!res)
{
res = 0;


What?

Feb 1 '06 #15

This thread has been closed and replies have been disabled. Please start a new discussion.

Similar topics

10
by: Scott Brady Drummonds | last post by:
Hi, everyone, I have a bug in a script of several hundred lines of code that I cannot figure out. I have attempted (unsuccessfully) to duplicate this problem in a smaller script that I can post...
5
by: viza | last post by:
Hi! Suppose I have int i,j,k; for(i=0;i<I;++i){ /* loop 1 */ for(j=0;j<J;++j){ /* loop 2 */ for(k=0;k<K;++k){ /* loop 3 */ if(test){
25
by: chunhui_true | last post by:
In <<expert c>>I know the break in if wich is scoped in switch is break the switch,like: switch c case 1: if(b){ break; } ...... But like this: while(a){
7
by: Colin King | last post by:
Amusingly, one can use a while(0) statement to allow one to perform a switch statement without breaks. The while (0) enables the continue statements to break out of the switch. Ugly and...
3
by: Krish | last post by:
Hello, This is an issue that I have encountered several times but have just used a workaround to solve. What is the accepted practice for breaking out of nested loops? For example: while(...
6
by: David | last post by:
I know that by some reasons... the use of "break;" in java language is not correct, is there any similar problems with c#????
26
by: Alexander Korsunsky | last post by:
Hi! I have some code that looks similar to this: -------------------------------------------- char array = "abcdefghij"; for (int i = 0; i < 10; i++) {
3
by: Yansky | last post by:
Hi, I've looked through the tutorial on w3cschools.com, but I'm still uncertain as to the difference between using break and using return. If I have a simple "for" loop that I want to stop if a...
7
by: jeddiki | last post by:
Hi, I am using a function called htmlwrap() which states that it does NOT add a "<br>" to the 70 character line so that it forces a line wrap. ( the script safely wraps long words without...
3
isladogs
by: isladogs | last post by:
The next Access Europe meeting will be on Wednesday 3 Jan 2024 starting at 18:00 UK time (6PM UTC) and finishing at about 19:15 (7.15PM). For other local times, please check World Time Buddy In...
0
by: jianzs | last post by:
Introduction Cloud-native applications are conventionally identified as those designed and nurtured on cloud infrastructure. Such applications, rooted in cloud technologies, skillfully benefit from...
2
isladogs
by: isladogs | last post by:
The next Access Europe meeting will be on Wednesday 7 Feb 2024 starting at 18:00 UK time (6PM UTC) and finishing at about 19:30 (7.30PM). In this month's session, the creator of the excellent VBE...
0
by: fareedcanada | last post by:
Hello I am trying to split number on their count. suppose i have 121314151617 (12cnt) then number should be split like 12,13,14,15,16,17 and if 11314151617 (11cnt) then should be split like...
0
Git
by: egorbl4 | last post by:
Скачал я git, хотел начать настройку, а там вылезло вот это Что это? Что мне с этим делать? ...
1
by: davi5007 | last post by:
Hi, Basically, I am trying to automate a field named TraceabilityNo into a web page from an access form. I've got the serial held in the variable strSearchString. How can I get this into the...
0
by: DolphinDB | last post by:
The formulas of 101 quantitative trading alphas used by WorldQuant were presented in the paper 101 Formulaic Alphas. However, some formulas are complex, leading to challenges in calculation. Take...
0
by: DolphinDB | last post by:
Tired of spending countless mintues downsampling your data? Look no further! In this article, you’ll learn how to efficiently downsample 6.48 billion high-frequency records to 61 million...
0
by: Aftab Ahmad | last post by:
So, I have written a code for a cmd called "Send WhatsApp Message" to open and send WhatsApp messaage. The code is given below. Dim IE As Object Set IE =...

By using Bytes.com and it's services, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

To disable or enable advertisements and analytics tracking please visit the manage ads & tracking page.