468,296 Members | 1,313 Online
Bytes | Developer Community
New Post

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

Post your question to a community of 468,296 developers. It's quick & easy.

VS2K5 doesn't compile/execute latest code

I posted this question in vsnet.ide newsgroup about more than a week back but

didn't get any single response yet therefore, reposting again same to several

newsgroups.

When I run my C# WinForms project either by pressing F5 or clicking Start
button on toolbar, it sometimes doesn't execute the currently changed code
and runs previously compiled code and this strange thing happens occasionally
no matter its started in Debug or Release mode.

I have tried all the related options in VS=>Tools =Options =Projects and
Solutions =Build and Run, but problem not solved. Sometimes it compiles the
fresh code and sometimes not so, I can't mention the exact steps to reproduce
the behaviour. This problem happened to me hundreds of times during
development of my current project and there is no doubt in it. The only way I
found to workaround this problem is renming both the "bin" and "obj" folders.
It was so much frustrating because sometimes I am checking the effect of some
code but its actually not compiling it and breakpoints also doesn't work if

old code is running and on breakpoints it says that code is changed... etc.

I had this problem in VS2005 and I was anxiously waiting for final release
of SP1 and recently after upgrading to SP1 the problem is still there as it
is.

Does anybody experienced same problem with VS2K5, and how it can be fixed?

When will MS releases patch to fix it?
Jan 31 '07 #1
3 1354
Because you have posted this to the VB.Net group, did you try it already
with VB.Net?

Cor

"Adil Akram" <Ad*******@discussions.microsoft.comschreef in bericht
news:6B**********************************@microsof t.com...
>I posted this question in vsnet.ide newsgroup about more than a week back
but

didn't get any single response yet therefore, reposting again same to
several

newsgroups.

When I run my C# WinForms project either by pressing F5 or clicking Start
button on toolbar, it sometimes doesn't execute the currently changed code
and runs previously compiled code and this strange thing happens
occasionally
no matter its started in Debug or Release mode.

I have tried all the related options in VS=>Tools =Options =Projects
and
Solutions =Build and Run, but problem not solved. Sometimes it compiles
the
fresh code and sometimes not so, I can't mention the exact steps to
reproduce
the behaviour. This problem happened to me hundreds of times during
development of my current project and there is no doubt in it. The only
way I
found to workaround this problem is renming both the "bin" and "obj"
folders.
It was so much frustrating because sometimes I am checking the effect of
some
code but its actually not compiling it and breakpoints also doesn't work
if

old code is running and on breakpoints it says that code is changed...
etc.

I had this problem in VS2005 and I was anxiously waiting for final release
of SP1 and recently after upgrading to SP1 the problem is still there as
it
is.

Does anybody experienced same problem with VS2K5, and how it can be fixed?

When will MS releases patch to fix it?

Jan 31 '07 #2
On 31 Ocak, 13:36, Adil Akram <AdilAk...@discussions.microsoft.com>
wrote:
I posted this question in vsnet.ide newsgroup about more than a week back but

didn't get any single response yet therefore, reposting again same to several

newsgroups.

When I run my C# WinForms project either by pressing F5 or clicking Start
button on toolbar, it sometimes doesn't execute the currently changed code
and runs previously compiled code and this strange thing happens occasionally
no matter its started in Debug or Release mode.

I have tried all the related options in VS=>Tools =Options =Projects and
Solutions =Build and Run, but problem not solved. Sometimes it compiles the
fresh code and sometimes not so, I can't mention the exact steps to reproduce
the behaviour. This problem happened to me hundreds of times during
development of my current project and there is no doubt in it. The only way I
found to workaround this problem is renming both the "bin" and "obj" folders.
It was so much frustrating because sometimes I am checking the effect of some
code but its actually not compiling it and breakpoints also doesn't work if

old code is running and on breakpoints it says that code is changed... etc.

I had this problem in VS2005 and I was anxiously waiting for final release
of SP1 and recently after upgrading to SP1 the problem is still there as it
is.

Does anybody experienced same problem with VS2K5, and how it can be fixed?

When will MS releases patch to fix it?
i think u copy project and build so program debug previous.
u must change project file and then build.

Jan 31 '07 #3
SP-1 for Visual Studio 2005 is final.

Robin S.
---------------------------------------------------
"Adil Akram" <Ad*******@discussions.microsoft.comwrote in message
news:6B**********************************@microsof t.com...
>I posted this question in vsnet.ide newsgroup about more than a week back
but

didn't get any single response yet therefore, reposting again same to
several

newsgroups.

When I run my C# WinForms project either by pressing F5 or clicking Start
button on toolbar, it sometimes doesn't execute the currently changed
code
and runs previously compiled code and this strange thing happens
occasionally
no matter its started in Debug or Release mode.

I have tried all the related options in VS=>Tools =Options =Projects
and
Solutions =Build and Run, but problem not solved. Sometimes it compiles
the
fresh code and sometimes not so, I can't mention the exact steps to
reproduce
the behaviour. This problem happened to me hundreds of times during
development of my current project and there is no doubt in it. The only
way I
found to workaround this problem is renming both the "bin" and "obj"
folders.
It was so much frustrating because sometimes I am checking the effect of
some
code but its actually not compiling it and breakpoints also doesn't work
if

old code is running and on breakpoints it says that code is changed...
etc.

I had this problem in VS2005 and I was anxiously waiting for final
release
of SP1 and recently after upgrading to SP1 the problem is still there as
it
is.

Does anybody experienced same problem with VS2K5, and how it can be
fixed?

When will MS releases patch to fix it?

Jan 31 '07 #4

This discussion thread is closed

Replies have been disabled for this discussion.

Similar topics

149 posts views Thread by Christopher Benson-Manica | last post: by
4 posts views Thread by Adrian Parker | last post: by
1 post views Thread by OlafMeding | last post: by
4 posts views Thread by abracadabra | last post: by
10 posts views Thread by Sourcerer | last post: by
3 posts views Thread by =?Utf-8?B?QWRpbCBBa3JhbQ==?= | last post: by
8 posts views Thread by Ross Culver | last post: by
reply views Thread by Teichintx | last post: by
By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.