470,588 Members | 2,141 Online
Bytes | Developer Community
New Post

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

Post your question to a community of 470,588 developers. It's quick & easy.

How to get the Appdomain Object from AppDomain ID

I have a AppDomain ID, how do I get the instance of the AppDomain
Object?
Please advice.
Thanks in advance.
John

Sep 12 '06 #1
12 7937
John wrote:
I have a AppDomain ID, how do I get the instance of the AppDomain
Object?
There might be a simpler way, but it looks to me like the only way to
do this is to enumerate the app domains in the process, checking their
id. There doesn't seem to be an unmanaged way to enumerate app domains
- see

<http://groups.google.com/group/microsoft.public.dotnet.framework.clr/browse_frm/thread/dba9c445ad8d5c3/9df14bf0af393c28?lnk=st&q=enumerate+appdomain+grou p%3Amicrosoft.public.dotnet.*&rnum=5#9df14bf0af393 c28>

for some code that uses the unmanaged, debug interface.

--

..NET 2.0 for Delphi Programmers www.midnightbeach.com/.net
Delphi skills make .NET easy to learn Great reviews & good sales.
Sep 12 '06 #2
Thx, but the EnumDomains only enumates the AppDomain in the current
process, how about the AppDomain in other processes?
Jon Shemitz wrote:
John wrote:
I have a AppDomain ID, how do I get the instance of the AppDomain
Object?

There might be a simpler way, but it looks to me like the only way to
do this is to enumerate the app domains in the process, checking their
id. There doesn't seem to be an unmanaged way to enumerate app domains
- see

<http://groups.google.com/group/microsoft.public.dotnet.framework.clr/browse_frm/thread/dba9c445ad8d5c3/9df14bf0af393c28?lnk=st&q=enumerate+appdomain+grou p%3Amicrosoft.public.dotnet.*&rnum=5#9df14bf0af393 c28>

for some code that uses the unmanaged, debug interface.

--

.NET 2.0 for Delphi Programmers www.midnightbeach.com/.net
Delphi skills make .NET easy to learn Great reviews & good sales.
Sep 12 '06 #3
I doubt that this is exposed in a readily available way.

What is it that you are trying to do?
--
- Nicholas Paldino [.NET/C# MVP]
- mv*@spam.guard.caspershouse.com

"John" <jo*****@yahoo.comwrote in message
news:11*********************@d34g2000cwd.googlegro ups.com...
Thx, but the EnumDomains only enumates the AppDomain in the current
process, how about the AppDomain in other processes?
Jon Shemitz wrote:
>John wrote:
I have a AppDomain ID, how do I get the instance of the AppDomain
Object?

There might be a simpler way, but it looks to me like the only way to
do this is to enumerate the app domains in the process, checking their
id. There doesn't seem to be an unmanaged way to enumerate app domains
- see

<http://groups.google.com/group/microsoft.public.dotnet.framework.clr/browse_frm/thread/dba9c445ad8d5c3/9df14bf0af393c28?lnk=st&q=enumerate+appdomain+grou p%3Amicrosoft.public.dotnet.*&rnum=5#9df14bf0af393 c28>

for some code that uses the unmanaged, debug interface.

--

.NET 2.0 for Delphi Programmers www.midnightbeach.com/.net
Delphi skills make .NET easy to learn Great reviews & good sales.

Sep 13 '06 #4
Basically, I want to use it as COM Global Interface Table, one app
Appdomain running in one process, setup some object it wants to expose
using Appdomain.SetData, another app in another process can use
IcorPublish to enumerate all the appDomain in the system and find out
the particular domain it is interesting. Get the AppDomainID, from the
AppDomainID, get the AppDomain Object, using AppDomain.GetData get the
Object, casting the Object to an interface pointer and use it.
Of course I know that I could achieve the same thing with .NET
Remoting, but it seem to me that if I could somehow get the AppDomain
Object from the AppDomainID, it will be much simpler than using
Remoting.
John
Nicholas Paldino [.NET/C# MVP] wrote:
I doubt that this is exposed in a readily available way.

What is it that you are trying to do?
--
- Nicholas Paldino [.NET/C# MVP]
- mv*@spam.guard.caspershouse.com

"John" <jo*****@yahoo.comwrote in message
news:11*********************@d34g2000cwd.googlegro ups.com...
Thx, but the EnumDomains only enumates the AppDomain in the current
process, how about the AppDomain in other processes?
Jon Shemitz wrote:
John wrote:

I have a AppDomain ID, how do I get the instance of the AppDomain
Object?

There might be a simpler way, but it looks to me like the only way to
do this is to enumerate the app domains in the process, checking their
id. There doesn't seem to be an unmanaged way to enumerate app domains
- see

<http://groups.google.com/group/microsoft.public.dotnet.framework.clr/browse_frm/thread/dba9c445ad8d5c3/9df14bf0af393c28?lnk=st&q=enumerate+appdomain+grou p%3Amicrosoft.public.dotnet.*&rnum=5#9df14bf0af393 c28>

for some code that uses the unmanaged, debug interface.

--

.NET 2.0 for Delphi Programmers www.midnightbeach.com/.net
Delphi skills make .NET easy to learn Great reviews & good sales.
Sep 13 '06 #5

"John" <jo*****@yahoo.comwrote in message
news:11**********************@e63g2000cwd.googlegr oups.com...
Basically, I want to use it as COM Global Interface Table, one app
Appdomain running in one process, setup some object it wants to expose
using Appdomain.SetData, another app in another process can use
IcorPublish to enumerate all the appDomain in the system and find out
the particular domain it is interesting. Get the AppDomainID, from the
AppDomainID, get the AppDomain Object, using AppDomain.GetData get the
Object, casting the Object to an interface pointer and use it.
Of course I know that I could achieve the same thing with .NET
Remoting, but it seem to me that if I could somehow get the AppDomain
Object from the AppDomainID, it will be much simpler than using
Remoting.
You cannot directly use objects in another application, you need a proxy.
The COM Running Object Table creates a proxy when you lookup an object.
John
Nicholas Paldino [.NET/C# MVP] wrote:
>I doubt that this is exposed in a readily available way.

What is it that you are trying to do?
--
- Nicholas Paldino [.NET/C# MVP]
- mv*@spam.guard.caspershouse.com

"John" <jo*****@yahoo.comwrote in message
news:11*********************@d34g2000cwd.googlegr oups.com...
Thx, but the EnumDomains only enumates the AppDomain in the current
process, how about the AppDomain in other processes?
Jon Shemitz wrote:
John wrote:

I have a AppDomain ID, how do I get the instance of the AppDomain
Object?

There might be a simpler way, but it looks to me like the only way to
do this is to enumerate the app domains in the process, checking their
id. There doesn't seem to be an unmanaged way to enumerate app domains
- see

<http://groups.google.com/group/microsoft.public.dotnet.framework.clr/browse_frm/thread/dba9c445ad8d5c3/9df14bf0af393c28?lnk=st&q=enumerate+appdomain+grou p%3Amicrosoft.public.dotnet.*&rnum=5#9df14bf0af393 c28>

for some code that uses the unmanaged, debug interface.

--

.NET 2.0 for Delphi Programmers www.midnightbeach.com/.net
Delphi skills make .NET easy to learn Great reviews & good sales.

Sep 13 '06 #6
John wrote:
Basically, I want to use it as COM Global Interface Table, one app
Appdomain running in one process, setup some object it wants to expose
using Appdomain.SetData, another app in another process can use
IcorPublish to enumerate all the appDomain in the system and find out
the particular domain it is interesting. Get the AppDomainID, from the
AppDomainID, get the AppDomain Object, using AppDomain.GetData get the
Object, casting the Object to an interface pointer and use it.
Of course I know that I could achieve the same thing with .NET
Remoting, but it seem to me that if I could somehow get the AppDomain
Object from the AppDomainID, it will be much simpler than using
Remoting.
It doesn't sound simpler! Remoting is very easy to use at a Hello
World level, and that is perfectly adequate for many applications. It
also supports additional complexity (lease management, channel sinks,
&c) for the apps that need it. It's documented and supported; there
are users out there who've probably solved any problem you'll run
into.

Seems a lot simpler than building your own infrastructure and
increasing your reliance on (ugh!) COM.

--

..NET 2.0 for Delphi Programmers www.midnightbeach.com/.net
Delphi skills make .NET easy to learn Great reviews & good sales.
Sep 13 '06 #7

"Jon Shemitz" <jo*@midnightbeach.comwrote in message
news:45***************@midnightbeach.com...
John wrote:
>Basically, I want to use it as COM Global Interface Table, one app
Appdomain running in one process, setup some object it wants to expose
using Appdomain.SetData, another app in another process can use
IcorPublish to enumerate all the appDomain in the system and find out
the particular domain it is interesting. Get the AppDomainID, from the
AppDomainID, get the AppDomain Object, using AppDomain.GetData get the
Object, casting the Object to an interface pointer and use it.
Of course I know that I could achieve the same thing with .NET
Remoting, but it seem to me that if I could somehow get the AppDomain
Object from the AppDomainID, it will be much simpler than using
Remoting.

It doesn't sound simpler! Remoting is very easy to use at a Hello
World level, and that is perfectly adequate for many applications. It
also supports additional complexity (lease management, channel sinks,
&c) for the apps that need it. It's documented and supported; there
are users out there who've probably solved any problem you'll run
into.
If you don't want to use Remoting, then try Web Services (WSDL) for which
..NET also has good support.
>
Seems a lot simpler than building your own infrastructure and
increasing your reliance on (ugh!) COM.

--

.NET 2.0 for Delphi Programmers www.midnightbeach.com/.net
Delphi skills make .NET easy to learn Great reviews & good sales.

Sep 13 '06 #8
no, not , I am not using COM, when I talk about COM GIT, I am talking
about I want to using the feature similiar to COM GIT, what I want to
do has nothing to do with COM.
I still beleive that if somehow I could get the AppDomain Object from
an AppDomain ID, it will be much easier than the remoting, because all
I need to do is the following

1) AppDomain app=GetAppDomainFromAppDomainID();
2) IMyInterface imf =(IMyInterface )app.GetData();
3) imf.method1();

Jon Shemitz wrote:
John wrote:
Basically, I want to use it as COM Global Interface Table, one app
Appdomain running in one process, setup some object it wants to expose
using Appdomain.SetData, another app in another process can use
IcorPublish to enumerate all the appDomain in the system and find out
the particular domain it is interesting. Get the AppDomainID, from the
AppDomainID, get the AppDomain Object, using AppDomain.GetData get the
Object, casting the Object to an interface pointer and use it.
Of course I know that I could achieve the same thing with .NET
Remoting, but it seem to me that if I could somehow get the AppDomain
Object from the AppDomainID, it will be much simpler than using
Remoting.

It doesn't sound simpler! Remoting is very easy to use at a Hello
World level, and that is perfectly adequate for many applications. It
also supports additional complexity (lease management, channel sinks,
&c) for the apps that need it. It's documented and supported; there
are users out there who've probably solved any problem you'll run
into.

Seems a lot simpler than building your own infrastructure and
increasing your reliance on (ugh!) COM.

--

.NET 2.0 for Delphi Programmers www.midnightbeach.com/.net
Delphi skills make .NET easy to learn Great reviews & good sales.
Sep 13 '06 #9
I believe if you are calling the object from another appdomain, the
proxy is automatically created for you.
Ben Voigt wrote:
"John" <jo*****@yahoo.comwrote in message
news:11**********************@e63g2000cwd.googlegr oups.com...
Basically, I want to use it as COM Global Interface Table, one app
Appdomain running in one process, setup some object it wants to expose
using Appdomain.SetData, another app in another process can use
IcorPublish to enumerate all the appDomain in the system and find out
the particular domain it is interesting. Get the AppDomainID, from the
AppDomainID, get the AppDomain Object, using AppDomain.GetData get the
Object, casting the Object to an interface pointer and use it.
Of course I know that I could achieve the same thing with .NET
Remoting, but it seem to me that if I could somehow get the AppDomain
Object from the AppDomainID, it will be much simpler than using
Remoting.

You cannot directly use objects in another application, you need a proxy.
The COM Running Object Table creates a proxy when you lookup an object.
John
Nicholas Paldino [.NET/C# MVP] wrote:
I doubt that this is exposed in a readily available way.

What is it that you are trying to do?
--
- Nicholas Paldino [.NET/C# MVP]
- mv*@spam.guard.caspershouse.com

"John" <jo*****@yahoo.comwrote in message
news:11*********************@d34g2000cwd.googlegro ups.com...
Thx, but the EnumDomains only enumates the AppDomain in the current
process, how about the AppDomain in other processes?
Jon Shemitz wrote:
John wrote:

I have a AppDomain ID, how do I get the instance of the AppDomain
Object?

There might be a simpler way, but it looks to me like the only way to
do this is to enumerate the app domains in the process, checking their
id. There doesn't seem to be an unmanaged way to enumerate app domains
- see

<http://groups.google.com/group/microsoft.public.dotnet.framework.clr/browse_frm/thread/dba9c445ad8d5c3/9df14bf0af393c28?lnk=st&q=enumerate+appdomain+grou p%3Amicrosoft.public.dotnet.*&rnum=5#9df14bf0af393 c28>

for some code that uses the unmanaged, debug interface.

--

.NET 2.0 for Delphi Programmers www.midnightbeach.com/.net
Delphi skills make .NET easy to learn Great reviews & good sales.
Sep 13 '06 #10
no, not , I am not using COM, when I talk about COM GIT, I am talking
about I want to using the feature similiar to COM GIT, what I want to
do has nothing to do with COM.
I still beleive that if somehow I could get the AppDomain Object from
an AppDomain ID, it will be much easier than the remoting, because all
I need to do is the following

1) AppDomain app=GetAppDomainFromAppDomainID();
2) IMyInterface imf =(IMyInterface )app.GetData();
3) imf.method1();

Jon Shemitz wrote:
John wrote:
Basically, I want to use it as COM Global Interface Table, one app
Appdomain running in one process, setup some object it wants to expose
using Appdomain.SetData, another app in another process can use
IcorPublish to enumerate all the appDomain in the system and find out
the particular domain it is interesting. Get the AppDomainID, from the
AppDomainID, get the AppDomain Object, using AppDomain.GetData get the
Object, casting the Object to an interface pointer and use it.
Of course I know that I could achieve the same thing with .NET
Remoting, but it seem to me that if I could somehow get the AppDomain
Object from the AppDomainID, it will be much simpler than using
Remoting.

It doesn't sound simpler! Remoting is very easy to use at a Hello
World level, and that is perfectly adequate for many applications. It
also supports additional complexity (lease management, channel sinks,
&c) for the apps that need it. It's documented and supported; there
are users out there who've probably solved any problem you'll run
into.

Seems a lot simpler than building your own infrastructure and
increasing your reliance on (ugh!) COM.

--

.NET 2.0 for Delphi Programmers www.midnightbeach.com/.net
Delphi skills make .NET easy to learn Great reviews & good sales.
Sep 13 '06 #11

"John" <jo*****@yahoo.comwrote in message
news:11**********************@e63g2000cwd.googlegr oups.com...
| Basically, I want to use it as COM Global Interface Table, one app
| Appdomain running in one process, setup some object it wants to expose
| using Appdomain.SetData, another app in another process can use
| IcorPublish to enumerate all the appDomain in the system and find out
| the particular domain it is interesting. Get the AppDomainID, from the
| AppDomainID, get the AppDomain Object, using AppDomain.GetData get the
| Object, casting the Object to an interface pointer and use it.

You can't use this ITF pointer in another domain, you need a remoting proxy.
The pointer is only relevant for the Apllication Domain it's born in (even
if in the same process). You need to use remoting, or create your own proxy,
but what makes you thing it will be simpler than using Remoting.
Willy.
Sep 14 '06 #12
The remoting proxy is automatically created for you when you get the
object reference from another domain.

(I just need to get the AppDomainObject from AppDomainID from another
process.)

I already got it work if the AppDomain is is in the same process , the
following code is working:

Interface Project

using System;
using System.Collections.Generic;
using System.Text;

namespace Ginterface
{
public interface ITest
{
string GetName();

}
}

Object Project
using System;
using System.Runtime.Remoting;
using System.Collections.Generic;
using System.Text;

namespace plugin
{
public class test : System.MarshalByRefObject ,Ginterface.ITest
{
public string GetName()
{

return "John";
}
public test()
{
AppDomain.CurrentDomain.SetData("Name", this);
}

}
}
Client Project

static void Main(string[] args)
{

AppDomainSetup setup = new AppDomainSetup();
setup.ApplicationName = "TestApp";
setup.ApplicationBase =
setup.PrivateBinPath =
AppDomain.CurrentDomain.BaseDirectory;//@"C:\Project\testAppDomainCsharp\plugin\bin\Debug" ;
AppDomain app=AppDomain.CreateDomain("Test",null,setup);

ObjectHandle
oh=app.CreateInstanceFrom(@"C:\Project\testAppDoma inCsharp\plugin\bin\Debug\plugin.dll",
"plugin.test");
Ginterface.ITest ttx=( Ginterface.ITest )app.GetData("Name");
string x2 = ttx.GetName();

}
Willy Denoyette [MVP] wrote:
"John" <jo*****@yahoo.comwrote in message
news:11**********************@e63g2000cwd.googlegr oups.com...
| Basically, I want to use it as COM Global Interface Table, one app
| Appdomain running in one process, setup some object it wants to expose
| using Appdomain.SetData, another app in another process can use
| IcorPublish to enumerate all the appDomain in the system and find out
| the particular domain it is interesting. Get the AppDomainID, from the
| AppDomainID, get the AppDomain Object, using AppDomain.GetData get the
| Object, casting the Object to an interface pointer and use it.

You can't use this ITF pointer in another domain, you need a remoting proxy.
The pointer is only relevant for the Apllication Domain it's born in (even
if in the same process). You need to use remoting, or create your own proxy,
but what makes you thing it will be simpler than using Remoting.
Willy.
Sep 14 '06 #13

This discussion thread is closed

Replies have been disabled for this discussion.

Similar topics

1 post views Thread by MatthewRoberts | last post: by
8 posts views Thread by A. Elamiri | last post: by
6 posts views Thread by Wal Turner | last post: by
3 posts views Thread by hB | last post: by
reply views Thread by Zeya | last post: by
4 posts views Thread by illegal.prime | last post: by
By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.