469,612 Members | 1,616 Online
Bytes | Developer Community
New Post

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

Post your question to a community of 469,612 developers. It's quick & easy.

VS2005 C# Debugger Problem on AMD Athlon 64 X2 Multi-Core Chip

I'm having problems w/ the VS2005 debugger with C#. It blows past any
breakpoints in even the simplest "Hello World" console application. I can't
do any step-by-step debugging. I've provided the code and debugging output
later in this post.

I've seen a number of threads with similar problems that I'll address below.
The one that's the largest concern is this one, which talks about the same
problem trying to use the debugger with SQL Server 2005:

http://forums.microsoft.com/MSDN/Sho...15379&SiteID=1

Here's the response from someone who appears to be with Microsoft QA. Check
the last entry:

"The issues you are seeing could be due to a known bug that we found very
late in the product cycle. The bug is most prevalent on fast multi-proc AMD64
machines but doesnt reproduce every time.

After exchanging a few email messages with Earl it appears that he cant
reproduce the problem at the moment which is a clue that it is in fact the
same bug.

At the moment there isnt a workaround for the bug. But it will be fix in SQL
Server 2005 SP1.

Regards

Richard Cook
SQL Debugging QA "
Ouch ... I'm using a very fast dual-core AMD 64 X2 Chip.

Here's my specific configuration:

The above AMD chip
4 GB of memory using the /3GB switch
Windows 2003 Server R2 32-Bit from MSDN (fresh install)
Visual Studio 2005 Vers. 8.0.50727.42 (RTM.050727-4200) (fresh install)

Here's the sample application in the H:\Test directory:

using System;
using System.Collections.Generic;
using System.Text;

namespace Proj1
{
class Program
{
static void Main(string[] args)
{
Console.WriteLine("Hello World breakpoint 1");
Console.WriteLine("Hello World breakpoint 2");

}
}
}

Here's the output of the debugger:

'Proj1.vshost.exe' (Managed): Loaded
'H:\WINDOWS\assembly\GAC_32\mscorlib\2.0.0.0__b77a 5c561934e089\mscorlib.dll',
Skipped loading symbols. Module is optimized and the debugger option 'Just My
Code' is enabled.

'Proj1.vshost.exe' (Managed): Loaded
'H:\WINDOWS\assembly\GAC_MSIL\Microsoft.VisualStud io.HostingProcess.Utilities\8.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50 a3a\Microsoft.VisualStudio.HostingProcess.Utilitie s.dll',
Skipped loading symbols. Module is optimized and the debugger option 'Just My
Code' is enabled.

'Proj1.vshost.exe' (Managed): Loaded
'H:\WINDOWS\assembly\GAC_MSIL\System.Windows.Forms \2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089\System.Windows.Forms.dl l',
Skipped loading symbols. Module is optimized and the debugger option 'Just My
Code' is enabled.

'Proj1.vshost.exe' (Managed): Loaded
'H:\WINDOWS\assembly\GAC_MSIL\System\2.0.0.0__b77a 5c561934e089\System.dll',
Skipped loading symbols. Module is optimized and the debugger option 'Just My
Code' is enabled.

'Proj1.vshost.exe' (Managed): Loaded
'H:\WINDOWS\assembly\GAC_MSIL\System.Drawing\2.0.0 .0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a\System.Drawing.dll',
Skipped loading symbols. Module is optimized and the debugger option 'Just My
Code' is enabled.

'Proj1.vshost.exe' (Managed): Loaded
'H:\WINDOWS\assembly\GAC_MSIL\Microsoft.VisualStud io.HostingProcess.Utilities.Sync\8.0.0.0__b03f5f7f 11d50a3a\Microsoft.VisualStudio.HostingProcess.Uti lities.Sync.dll',
Skipped loading symbols. Module is optimized and the debugger option 'Just My
Code' is enabled.

'Proj1.vshost.exe' (Managed): Loaded
'c:\Test\Proj1\Proj1\bin\Debug\Proj1.vshost.exe', Skipped loading symbols.
Module is optimized and the debugger option 'Just My Code' is enabled.

'Proj1.vshost.exe' (Managed): Loaded
'H:\WINDOWS\assembly\GAC_32\System.Data\2.0.0.0__b 77a5c561934e089\System.Data.dll',
Skipped loading symbols. Module is optimized and the debugger option 'Just My
Code' is enabled.

'Proj1.vshost.exe' (Managed): Loaded
'H:\WINDOWS\assembly\GAC_MSIL\System.Xml\2.0.0.0__ b77a5c561934e089\System.Xml.dll',
Skipped loading symbols. Module is optimized and the debugger option 'Just My
Code' is enabled.
The thread 0xd8c has exited with code 0 (0x0).
The thread 0x9d8 has exited with code 0 (0x0).
'Proj1.vshost.exe' (Managed): Loaded
'c:\Test\Proj1\Proj1\bin\Debug\Proj1.exe', Symbols loaded.
In various other threads I found folks with some similar debugging issues,
and I tried some of their work-arounds. The most popular was using a very
short project name / directory path. No luck here. I turned off the Visual
Studio hosting process ... no luck there. I did verify I have a .pdb file
too.

Any help would be appreciated. If this is a bug it would be helpful to know
if it is showing up because I'm running 2003 Server and if it would magically
go away if I was running XP Pro, etc.

Thanks so much!

DougB
--
Doug B
Mar 14 '06 #1
3 1852
Doug wrote:
[snip]
"The issues you are seeing could be due to a known bug that we found very
late in the product cycle. The bug is most prevalent on fast multi-proc AMD64
machines but doesnt reproduce every time.
[snip]
Any help would be appreciated. If this is a bug it would be helpful to know
if it is showing up because I'm running 2003 Server and if it would magically
go away if I was running XP Pro, etc.


It may be worth trying the /numproc switch in boot.ini to restrict the
machine to using 1 CPU, and see if the issue persists:
http://support.microsoft.com/default...b;en-us;833721
Matt

Mar 14 '06 #2
I gave this suggestion a try, but no luck. Still not working.

Thank you!
--
Doug
"kt*******@sneakemail.com" wrote:
Doug wrote:
[snip]
"The issues you are seeing could be due to a known bug that we found very
late in the product cycle. The bug is most prevalent on fast multi-proc AMD64
machines but doesnt reproduce every time.


[snip]
Any help would be appreciated. If this is a bug it would be helpful to know
if it is showing up because I'm running 2003 Server and if it would magically
go away if I was running XP Pro, etc.


It may be worth trying the /numproc switch in boot.ini to restrict the
machine to using 1 CPU, and see if the issue persists:
http://support.microsoft.com/default...b;en-us;833721
Matt

Mar 14 '06 #3
Hi guys ... any suggestions here?

--
Doug
"Doug" wrote:
I gave this suggestion a try, but no luck. Still not working.

Thank you!
--
Doug
"kt*******@sneakemail.com" wrote:
Doug wrote:
[snip]
"The issues you are seeing could be due to a known bug that we found very
late in the product cycle. The bug is most prevalent on fast multi-proc AMD64
machines but doesnt reproduce every time.


[snip]
Any help would be appreciated. If this is a bug it would be helpful to know
if it is showing up because I'm running 2003 Server and if it would magically
go away if I was running XP Pro, etc.


It may be worth trying the /numproc switch in boot.ini to restrict the
machine to using 1 CPU, and see if the issue persists:
http://support.microsoft.com/default...b;en-us;833721
Matt

Mar 17 '06 #4

This discussion thread is closed

Replies have been disabled for this discussion.

Similar topics

reply views Thread by PaulM | last post: by
1 post views Thread by dethonlegs | last post: by
16 posts views Thread by Edward Diener | last post: by
5 posts views Thread by Gumby | last post: by
13 posts views Thread by Rainer Queck | last post: by
reply views Thread by santoshanmsoft | last post: by
reply views Thread by devrayhaan | last post: by
reply views Thread by gheharukoh7 | last post: by
By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.