471,319 Members | 2,675 Online
Bytes | Software Development & Data Engineering Community
Post +

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

Join Bytes to post your question to a community of 471,319 software developers and data experts.

desperate call for help - intellisense not working any more

This coincides with installing third party software from Infragistics
(infragistics.com), and running their utility for the tool tab.

Intellise no longer works. I have done uninstalling and re-installing
Visual Studio.NET 2003. Has not helped. I cannot get intellisense to
work.

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

*** Sent via Developersdex http://www.developersdex.com ***
Feb 19 '06 #1
4 4901
David C wrote:
This coincides with installing third party software from Infragistics
(infragistics.com), and running their utility for the tool tab.

Intellise no longer works. I have done uninstalling and re-installing
Visual Studio.NET 2003. Has not helped. I cannot get intellisense to
work.

Any help will be greatly appreciated.


Does color coding in the code files still work? If not, right-click
the .cs file in the solution explorer and select open with... and check
that the code editor is the default.

Frans

--
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Get LLBLGen Pro, productive O/R mapping for .NET: http://www.llblgen.com
My .NET blog: http://weblogs.asp.net/fbouma
Microsoft MVP (C#)
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Feb 19 '06 #2
Hi David,
I had a problem when I uninstalled a third party component from Visual
Studio and the intellisence stopped working, not infragistics but JetBrains
Resharper. In order to make the intellisence work again I have to go to
Tools-> Options -> Text Editor -> C# and make sure that that the "Auto List
Members" box was checked. Once I did that then I was back in business.
Maybe this property has been unchecked for you?

Hope that helps
Mark Dawson
--
http://www.markdawson.org
"David C" wrote:
This coincides with installing third party software from Infragistics
(infragistics.com), and running their utility for the tool tab.

Intellise no longer works. I have done uninstalling and re-installing
Visual Studio.NET 2003. Has not helped. I cannot get intellisense to
work.

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

*** Sent via Developersdex http://www.developersdex.com ***

Feb 19 '06 #3
Thank you so much. I had a similar situation.

Did have JetBrains Resharper installed when I installed infragistics.
JetBrains started going haywire, not recognizing any user defined classes.
All of my user defined classes were colored in red.

After reinstalling VS.NET2003 (and uninstalling JetBrains), I ran into
similar problems.

Your suggestion fixed it. However, I still couldn't use Ctrl-space for auto
completion. Your suggestion did get me intellisense, but only after the
dot. Reinstalling Resharper brought back auto completion.
"Mark R. Dawson" <Ma*********@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:E8**********************************@microsof t.com...
Hi David,
I had a problem when I uninstalled a third party component from Visual
Studio and the intellisence stopped working, not infragistics but
JetBrains
Resharper. In order to make the intellisence work again I have to go to
Tools-> Options -> Text Editor -> C# and make sure that that the "Auto
List
Members" box was checked. Once I did that then I was back in business.
Maybe this property has been unchecked for you?

Hope that helps
Mark Dawson
--
http://www.markdawson.org
"David C" wrote:
This coincides with installing third party software from Infragistics
(infragistics.com), and running their utility for the tool tab.

Intellise no longer works. I have done uninstalling and re-installing
Visual Studio.NET 2003. Has not helped. I cannot get intellisense to
work.

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

*** Sent via Developersdex http://www.developersdex.com ***

Feb 19 '06 #4
David C wrote:
Thank you so much. I had a similar situation.

Did have JetBrains Resharper installed when I installed infragistics.
JetBrains started going haywire, not recognizing any user defined
classes. All of my user defined classes were colored in red.

After reinstalling VS.NET2003 (and uninstalling JetBrains), I ran
into similar problems.

Your suggestion fixed it. However, I still couldn't use Ctrl-space
for auto completion. Your suggestion did get me intellisense, but
only after the dot. Reinstalling Resharper brought back auto
completion.
if cntrl-space doesn't do anything, go to the keyboard setup and check
if cntrl-space is still bound to the command to show up tooltips. if
not, re-bind it.

FB


"Mark R. Dawson" <Ma*********@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in
message news:E8**********************************@microsof t.com...
Hi David,
I had a problem when I uninstalled a third party component from
Visual Studio and the intellisence stopped working, not
infragistics but JetBrains
Resharper. In order to make the intellisence work again I have to
go to Tools-> Options -> Text Editor -> C# and make sure that that
the "Auto List
Members" box was checked. Once I did that then I was back in
business. Maybe this property has been unchecked for you?

Hope that helps
Mark Dawson
--
http://www.markdawson.org

--
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Get LLBLGen Pro, productive O/R mapping for .NET: http://www.llblgen.com
My .NET blog: http://weblogs.asp.net/fbouma
Microsoft MVP (C#)
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Feb 20 '06 #5

This discussion thread is closed

Replies have been disabled for this discussion.

Similar topics

3 posts views Thread by pytopo | last post: by
4 posts views Thread by Frank Jona | last post: by
6 posts views Thread by Stefan Kronberg | last post: by
24 posts views Thread by Ministry Of Jute | last post: by
1 post views Thread by Yaron | last post: by
9 posts views Thread by Jim Starcher | last post: by
1 post views Thread by edfialk | last post: by

By using Bytes.com and it's services, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

To disable or enable advertisements and analytics tracking please visit the manage ads & tracking page.