471,350 Members | 1,850 Online
Bytes | Software Development & Data Engineering Community
Post +

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

Join Bytes to post your question to a community of 471,350 software developers and data experts.

C# DataSet question please



Hi I am learning ADO.NET, I use DOTNET 2003, I wanted to know when you
create a dataset objet and fill it with data from Data Base with
DataAdapter fill method, the fill method only creates a datatable with
data but it doesn't pass the structure of the table from the database
(primary key etc..)? Do I have to create myself the structure of the
datatable? I know a strongly typed dataset gets data and structure
though... thank you !

IRNBRU

*** Sent via Developersdex http://www.developersdex.com ***
Feb 11 '06 #1
3 1187
On Sat, 11 Feb 2006 12:54:27 -0800, irnbru irnbru
<le*********@yahoo.com> wrote:


Hi I am learning ADO.NET, I use DOTNET 2003, I wanted to know when you
create a dataset objet and fill it with data from Data Base with
DataAdapter fill method, the fill method only creates a datatable with
data but it doesn't pass the structure of the table from the database
(primary key etc..)? Do I have to create myself the structure of the
datatable? I know a strongly typed dataset gets data and structure
though... thank you !

IRNBRU

*** Sent via Developersdex http://www.developersdex.com ***

Look in help under FillSchema

I think that's what you are looking for.
Otis Mukinfus
http://www.otismukinfus.com
http://www.tomchilders.com
Feb 12 '06 #2
or MissingSchemaAction
"Otis Mukinfus" <ph***@emailaddress.com> wrote in message
news:cv********************************@4ax.com...
On Sat, 11 Feb 2006 12:54:27 -0800, irnbru irnbru
<le*********@yahoo.com> wrote:


Hi I am learning ADO.NET, I use DOTNET 2003, I wanted to know when you
create a dataset objet and fill it with data from Data Base with
DataAdapter fill method, the fill method only creates a datatable with
data but it doesn't pass the structure of the table from the database
(primary key etc..)? Do I have to create myself the structure of the
datatable? I know a strongly typed dataset gets data and structure
though... thank you !

IRNBRU

*** Sent via Developersdex http://www.developersdex.com ***

Look in help under FillSchema

I think that's what you are looking for.
Otis Mukinfus
http://www.otismukinfus.com
http://www.tomchilders.com

Feb 12 '06 #3
Thank you!

*** Sent via Developersdex http://www.developersdex.com ***
Feb 18 '06 #4

This discussion thread is closed

Replies have been disabled for this discussion.

Similar topics

4 posts views Thread by Steve Donnor | last post: by
3 posts views Thread by Michelle Stone | last post: by
2 posts views Thread by John Holmes | last post: by
12 posts views Thread by Bishoy George | last post: by
22 posts views Thread by Arne | last post: by
7 posts views Thread by SteveT | last post: by
reply views Thread by XIAOLAOHU | last post: by

By using Bytes.com and it's services, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

To disable or enable advertisements and analytics tracking please visit the manage ads & tracking page.