471,355 Members | 1,580 Online
Bytes | Software Development & Data Engineering Community
Post +

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

Join Bytes to post your question to a community of 471,355 software developers and data experts.

Debugging Unmanaged ActiveX or COM

All:

I have developed an ActiveX control using unmanaged C++ (MFC).
I have also developed a C# application to server as a test harness.
Both ActiveX and test harness application are built in Debug mode.
The VS.NET (2005) project is configured for native debugging.

In the debugger, when I try to "step into" the ActiveX method, the
debugger executes the code but does not enable me to "step into" - it
behaves just like a "step over."

Has anyone used VS.NET 2003/2005 to successfully debug an ActiveX or
unmanaged COM component?

Many thanks,
jpuopolo

Feb 6 '06 #1
2 4020
jpuopolo,

You need to go to your project settings and select "enable unmanaged
debugging". This should allow you to step from managed code into unmanaged
code.

Hope this helps.
--
- Nicholas Paldino [.NET/C# MVP]
- mv*@spam.guard.caspershouse.com

"jpuopolo" <pu*****@gmail.com> wrote in message
news:11*********************@o13g2000cwo.googlegro ups.com...
All:

I have developed an ActiveX control using unmanaged C++ (MFC).
I have also developed a C# application to server as a test harness.
Both ActiveX and test harness application are built in Debug mode.
The VS.NET (2005) project is configured for native debugging.

In the debugger, when I try to "step into" the ActiveX method, the
debugger executes the code but does not enable me to "step into" - it
behaves just like a "step over."

Has anyone used VS.NET 2003/2005 to successfully debug an ActiveX or
unmanaged COM component?

Many thanks,
jpuopolo

Feb 6 '06 #2
Nicholas:

Thanks, but I already tried that (in my original post as well). The
ONLY way that I have found that works is to run the ActiveX control in
the debugger by setting the host application to my test harness. This
seems to work.

So, instead of being in my test harness and starting the debugger, I go
to my ActiveX project and Debug... The EXE associated with the debugger
is the test harness EXE and I am able to debug the control.

Hope this helps some others out there...

Best,
jpuopolo

Feb 7 '06 #3

This discussion thread is closed

Replies have been disabled for this discussion.

Similar topics

2 posts views Thread by Ken Allen | last post: by
2 posts views Thread by Lee Crabtree | last post: by
2 posts views Thread by Sandy | last post: by
reply views Thread by Sericinus hunter | last post: by
reply views Thread by RobKinney1 | last post: by
3 posts views Thread by dvestal | last post: by
reply views Thread by stimpy_cm | last post: by
reply views Thread by XIAOLAOHU | last post: by

By using Bytes.com and it's services, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

To disable or enable advertisements and analytics tracking please visit the manage ads & tracking page.