471,315 Members | 1,508 Online
Bytes | Software Development & Data Engineering Community
Post +

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

Join Bytes to post your question to a community of 471,315 software developers and data experts.

How was your upgrade to VS.NET 2005?

I'm using VS.NET 2003 with Framework 1.1. I want to upgrade to VS.NET
2005 and Framework 2.0. I'd like to hear comments from people that
have moved to the new platform with final releases of VS.NET and the
framework. I'm interested in any installation and code migration
issues you may have had.

Thanks,
Brett

Jan 22 '06 #1
18 1800
Brett,
First we should clarify that it's not really what could be accurately
described as an "upgrade", since Visual Studio.Net 2003 and the .NET
Framework 1.1 remain on the target machine, completely undisturbed and 100%
usable, when .NET Framework 2.0 and Visual Studio 2005 are installed.

Personally I've had neither installation or code migration issues. Some
projects from VS.NET 2003 will convert without a hitch. Others require some
work. Of course, a conversion won't necessarily take advantage of all the new
features.
Peter
--
Co-founder, Eggheadcafe.com developer portal:
http://www.eggheadcafe.com
UnBlog:
http://petesbloggerama.blogspot.com


"Brett Romero" wrote:
I'm using VS.NET 2003 with Framework 1.1. I want to upgrade to VS.NET
2005 and Framework 2.0. I'd like to hear comments from people that
have moved to the new platform with final releases of VS.NET and the
framework. I'm interested in any installation and code migration
issues you may have had.

Thanks,
Brett

Jan 22 '06 #2
Thanks.

Do you know anything about the 2.0 winform Datagrid being extremely
slow:
http://weblogs.asp.net/fbouma/archiv...29/428848.aspx

Brett

Jan 22 '06 #3
"Brett Romero" <ac*****@cygen.com> wrote in message
news:11**********************@g49g2000cwa.googlegr oups.com...
I'm using VS.NET 2003 with Framework 1.1. I want to upgrade to VS.NET
2005 and Framework 2.0. I'd like to hear comments from people that
have moved to the new platform with final releases of VS.NET and the
framework. I'm interested in any installation and code migration
issues you may have had.


A bug (or undocumented breaking change) with the Browsable attribute broke
virtually all of our code but, we're still sticking with VS2005 and V2.0 of
the Framework. There are just way too many new or improved or fixed things
to go back.

Jan 22 '06 #4
What do you mean a "browsable" attribute "broke" all of your code?

Thanks,
Brett

Jan 23 '06 #5
I just upgraded the other day to use ASP.NET in vs2005.

By default, my code windows load right to left now instead of
traditional left to right.
No doubt this is configurable, but I don't really care that much.

The biggest thing is these "WebParts" which I am yet to play with. I
think they extend other controls.

I migrated my project with no problems. It uses its own data-connecting
technology and it all seems to work ok. So far nothing about the
upgrade has WOWed me, except for the time it took to install. I do like
the Version Selector.. seems to have intelligently worked out which
projects are version 7.1 and which are 8.0. It even changed my solution
icons on desktop with the relative numbers, so I know which version of
VS will load the solution.

I am still quite worried about upgrading some of our other projects,
the windows applications.
There's no reason for this except that I don't want to have to justify
it to my boss if it all goes pear-shaped.

One thing I don't like is that sometimes if I have a ASP script error
somewhere, it comes up with some weird compile errors. Currently I am
looking at a VB file that is called 'App_Web__g_wq44j.0.vb' which is
definately not part of my solution. This file has a namespace in it
called 'ASP' ! I am guessing this is something that should be handled
internal and transparent to me, the user. I think its a temp file or
something. The real error is actually back in my script somewhere else,
nothing to do with this weird page. Who knows why it is popping up when
I click on one of the 163 compile errors I get as a result of 1 script
error.

Otherwise, it seems standard to me so far. Hope my random rambling was
entertaining if not useful.

Jan 23 '06 #6
Thanks Steven. What do you mean here, "seems to have intelligently
worked out which
projects are version 7.1 and which are 8.0. It even changed my solution

icons on desktop with the relative numbers, so I know which version of
VS will load the solution. "

I'm guessing 7.1 is VS.NET 2003 (.NET v1.1) and 8.0 is VS.NET 2005
(.NET v2.0).

Are you saying I can still run .NET 1.1 apps with .NET 2.0 and VS.NET
2005 installed? I thought .NET 1.1 apps would not work in VS.NET 2005.

Brett

Jan 23 '06 #7
Oh yes they all work great. I don't understand that technicals, Peter
is probably the best man for that, but a part of the VS2005 install
includes a Version Selector component.
All my previous file associations (*.SLN) are now associated to the
Version Selector as opposed to either VS2003 or VS2005. The version
selector then loads the right software version.
The actual ICONS have the VS logo, with a little 7.1 (VS2003) or 8.0
(VS2005) in the top right corner of the icon.

Looking at my "Installed Programs" list I actually see 1.1 and 2.0 as
installed items. I am definately still programming in VS2003 and
running those 1.1 windows apps. I am only using VS2005 currently for
web apps.
So the up side of all this is that you can install VS2005 and NEVER USE
IT if you so desire, knowing your apps will still load and run in
VS2003.

Steve

Jan 23 '06 #8
Thanks on all the confirms Steve. Nice.

Brett

Jan 23 '06 #9
Are you saying I can still run .NET 1.1 apps with .NET 2.0 and VS.NET
2005 installed? I thought .NET 1.1 apps would not work in VS.NET 2005.


VS2005 cannot BUILD 1.1 apps so if you have 1.1 solutions you need VS2003 to
BUILD them as 1.1 apps.
Alternatively VS2005 can change your slns to 2005 and build them as 2.0 apps
Jan 23 '06 #10
Brett,

So far I have seen the following:

1. Some comments after the #region statement that included a \ caused a
compile problem (easy fix)
2. The use of AutoSize as a property name for some of my own custom
controls is a problem since this is a new property of the base class in 2.0
3. Several deprecated warnings

Nothing major.

Dave
Jan 23 '06 #11
"Brett Romero" <ac*****@cygen.com> wrote in message
news:11********************@g14g2000cwa.googlegrou ps.com...
What do you mean a "browsable" attribute "broke" all of your code?


The Browsable attribute can used to mark a property so that it will not be
displayed in a PropertyGrid. You put [Browsable(false)] on the property and
it no longer shows up in a PropertyGrid control, just like the documentation
says. That worked fine in V1.1, but, in V2.0, adding [Browsable(false)] to
a property prevents any data binding to the property.

Almost all of our objects have at least one property that is marked with
[Browsable(false)] so all of our data binding is broken (for no good reason
I might add).
Jan 24 '06 #12
What exactly are you using the PropertyGrid for?

Thanks,
Brett

Jan 24 '06 #13
That's ugly. That must be a bug, no?

Jan 24 '06 #14
"Bruce Wood" <br*******@canada.com> wrote in message
news:11********************@g14g2000cwa.googlegrou ps.com...
That's ugly. That must be a bug, no?


I reported it as a bug, we'll see what Microsoft says.
Jan 25 '06 #15
"Brett Romero" <ac*****@cygen.com> wrote in message
news:11**********************@g14g2000cwa.googlegr oups.com...
What exactly are you using the PropertyGrid for?


Fortunately, we aren't using PropertyGrid for anything but, we have plans to
so we made sure that our objects work properly in a PropertyGrid. Plus, our
customers could be using our objects together with a PropertyGrid.
Jan 25 '06 #16
John Vottero wrote:
"Brett Romero" <ac*****@cygen.com> wrote in message
news:11**********************@g14g2000cwa.googlegr oups.com...
What exactly are you using the PropertyGrid for?


Fortunately, we aren't using PropertyGrid for anything but, we have
plans to so we made sure that our objects work properly in a
PropertyGrid. Plus, our customers could be using our objects
together with a PropertyGrid.


Keep in mind that a PropertyGrid is a very awkward way of setting
properties/ dealing with settings. For example it doesn't support TAB
to jump to a next line and is often a small part of the screen, forces
you to open a new editor often modally, etc.

If possible, write a more properly way of offering the data to change
to your users.

FB

--
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Get LLBLGen Pro, productive O/R mapping for .NET: http://www.llblgen.com
My .NET blog: http://weblogs.asp.net/fbouma
Microsoft MVP (C#)
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Jan 26 '06 #17


I upgraded my VS2003 C# application to VS 2005 .Net 2.0.

I got an upgrade report that said it Converted some files (mainly
project files) and did not convert others (no need to convert). It built
the exes and dlls[ although I got 133 warnings). So, I assumed that
the upgrade went thru successfully.

The app is a service and I am getting a Type Initializer exception when
the service comes up.

What could be causing it? The same app works fine in VS2003 and .Net FW
1.1.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Sudhir

*** Sent via Developersdex http://www.developersdex.com ***
Feb 14 '06 #18
Bsr,
j effectue un stage dont le theme est la migration de "VS2003 C#
application to VS 2005 .Net 2.0"

alors j ai besoin d aide et d un point de depart,
puisque vous l'avez deaj fait, j attend si possoble tes conseils, ansi
que des lines utiles.

Restant en contat.
Cordialement,
Jouad

Mar 13 '06 #19

This discussion thread is closed

Replies have been disabled for this discussion.

Similar topics

reply views Thread by ibeetb | last post: by
2 posts views Thread by Sharrukin Amiri | last post: by
2 posts views Thread by KR | last post: by
1 post views Thread by =?Utf-8?B?ZGFuc3Rkb3RuZXQ=?= | last post: by
1 post views Thread by Jeremy Pavleck | last post: by
reply views Thread by rosydwin | last post: by

By using Bytes.com and it's services, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

To disable or enable advertisements and analytics tracking please visit the manage ads & tracking page.