471,317 Members | 1,581 Online
Bytes | Software Development & Data Engineering Community
Post +

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

Join Bytes to post your question to a community of 471,317 software developers and data experts.

is vs.net slow for others as well?

You know, this is my first day using VS.NET 2005 and, although it has some
impressive new features, there are parts that they did not put together
well.

Does anyone else experience a periodical hang when in the editor? It seams
that every now and then, the IDE seems to stop accepting input (well it is
buffered) as if it is doing some processing. This halt can be anywhere from
half a second to a couple seconds. Very annoying when I am in the middle of
typing code to have everything just stop for no apparent reason.

This is weird because I am running vs.net on a 2.5 GHz machine.
Jan 21 '06 #1
8 1007
How much memory do you have?

Jan 22 '06 #2
Hello,

My VSTS Team Suite runs like a doll on my regular laptop 2.0ghz 1.5gb memory
but is a pain on my rental I'm currently using (a good single malt and laptops
just dont mix) with same processor but just 512mb of memory.

--
Patrik Löwendahl [C# MVP]
http://www.lowendahl.net
How much memory do you have?

Jan 22 '06 #3
Peter,
I run it on an Windows Server 2003 x64 edition with 2 GB RAM, and
performance is acceptable. Sometimes it seems to take a while to start up.
However there are known bugs in the IDE (e.g. the infamous "Bouma Bug") that
can cause issues. So, depending on what you are doing, you could possibly be
running into these, most of which seem to be centered around a lack of
complete testing of the Intellisense infrastructure before RTM.
Peter

--
Co-founder, Eggheadcafe.com developer portal:
http://www.eggheadcafe.com
UnBlog:
http://petesbloggerama.blogspot.com


"Peter Rilling" wrote:
You know, this is my first day using VS.NET 2005 and, although it has some
impressive new features, there are parts that they did not put together
well.

Does anyone else experience a periodical hang when in the editor? It seams
that every now and then, the IDE seems to stop accepting input (well it is
buffered) as if it is doing some processing. This halt can be anywhere from
half a second to a couple seconds. Very annoying when I am in the middle of
typing code to have everything just stop for no apparent reason.

This is weird because I am running vs.net on a 2.5 GHz machine.

Jan 22 '06 #4
I only have half a gig.

"Bruce Wood" <br*******@canada.com> wrote in message
news:11**********************@f14g2000cwb.googlegr oups.com...
How much memory do you have?

Jan 22 '06 #5
Hello Peter,

don't you know that Microsoft and memory manufacturs are allies in a cartell
;)

I believe that the least memory you need for a smooth experience is 1gb,
I would go for 2 to be on the safe side.

--
Patrik Löwendahl [C# MVP]
http://www.lowendahl.net
I only have half a gig.

"Bruce Wood" <br*******@canada.com> wrote in message
news:11**********************@f14g2000cwb.googlegr oups.com...
How much memory do you have?

Jan 22 '06 #6
grrrr :-{

"Patrik Löwendahl [C# MVP]" <pa**************@home.se> wrote in message
news:85*************************@news.microsoft.co m...
Hello Peter,

don't you know that Microsoft and memory manufacturs are allies in a
cartell ;)

I believe that the least memory you need for a smooth experience is 1gb, I
would go for 2 to be on the safe side.

--
Patrik Löwendahl [C# MVP]
http://www.lowendahl.net
I only have half a gig.

"Bruce Wood" <br*******@canada.com> wrote in message
news:11**********************@f14g2000cwb.googlegr oups.com...
How much memory do you have?


Jan 22 '06 #7
I am running VS2005 pro on my laptop (intel centrino 1.73gHz with 512MB)
and it runs at a very acceptable speed.

Patrik Löwendahl [C# MVP] wrote:
Hello Peter,

don't you know that Microsoft and memory manufacturs are allies in a
cartell ;)

I believe that the least memory you need for a smooth experience is 1gb,
I would go for 2 to be on the safe side.

--
Patrik Löwendahl [C# MVP]
http://www.lowendahl.net
I only have half a gig.

"Bruce Wood" <br*******@canada.com> wrote in message
news:11**********************@f14g2000cwb.googlegr oups.com...
How much memory do you have?


Jan 22 '06 #8

"Peter Rilling" <pe***@nospam.rilling.net> wrote in message
news:OV**************@TK2MSFTNGP10.phx.gbl...
You know, this is my first day using VS.NET 2005 and, although it has some
impressive new features, there are parts that they did not put together
well.

Does anyone else experience a periodical hang when in the editor? It
seams that every now and then, the IDE seems to stop accepting input (well
it is buffered) as if it is doing some processing. This halt can be
anywhere from half a second to a couple seconds. Very annoying when I am
in the middle of typing code to have everything just stop for no apparent
reason.

This is weird because I am running vs.net on a 2.5 GHz machine.


Is your system have a dual processor or does it support hyperthreading or
the like? While I havn't had any trouble in VS.NET 2005 itself(havn't used
it enough really, and we all know how weird threading issues can be) on my
machine(dual, hyperthreaded), I have seen sporadic slowdowns that no one
else seems to have noticed in other apps that seem to go away when I change
processor affinity to just one virtual processor.

Just a thought.
Jan 22 '06 #9

This discussion thread is closed

Replies have been disabled for this discussion.

Similar topics

9 posts views Thread by Neil | last post: by
21 posts views Thread by Steve | last post: by
9 posts views Thread by Vito DeCarlo | last post: by
1 post views Thread by Bruce Hodge | last post: by
1 post views Thread by amessimon | last post: by
29 posts views Thread by Geoff Jones | last post: by
50 posts views Thread by diffuser78 | last post: by
20 posts views Thread by John Bailo | last post: by
10 posts views Thread by penworthamnaynesh | last post: by
reply views Thread by rosydwin | last post: by

By using Bytes.com and it's services, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

To disable or enable advertisements and analytics tracking please visit the manage ads & tracking page.