471,305 Members | 1,233 Online
Bytes | Software Development & Data Engineering Community
Post +

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

Join Bytes to post your question to a community of 471,305 software developers and data experts.

.NET 1.1. and 2.0 on the same computer

Hi,

We just closed a release (say, version 7) of our app which was using .NET 1.1 and for the new
release (version 8) we are going to use .NET 2.0. Problem is that we still need to support version 7
for .NET 1.1 and at the same time on the same machine(s) do new development for v. 8 with .NET 2.

If i have both 1.1 and 2 installed how do i switch the current runtime?

Any ideas would be highly appreciated!

Thank you,
MuZZy
Jan 13 '06 #1
7 1927
>If i have both 1.1 and 2 installed how do i switch the current runtime?

Each app will by default use the version it was compiled against so
you shouldn't have to do anything.
Mattias

--
Mattias Sjögren [C# MVP] mattias @ mvps.org
http://www.msjogren.net/dotnet/ | http://www.dotnetinterop.com
Please reply only to the newsgroup.
Jan 13 '06 #2
Mattias Sjögren wrote:
If i have both 1.1 and 2 installed how do i switch the current runtime?

Each app will by default use the version it was compiled against so
you shouldn't have to do anything.
Mattias

Realy? That's cool! Now i need to convince my boss for which i need to show him anything about it on
microsoft website :) Do you know if it's writen anywhere on their website? I didn't find anything
about that ...

Thank you,
MuZZy
Jan 13 '06 #3
I have successfully added VS 2005 to my development machine at work and
regularly move between the two (for both small app programming -
currently in 2.0 - and our enterprise ASPX apps - in 1.1).

Any solution created using .Net 2.0 starts in VS 2005 and any .Net 1.1
solution starts automatically in VS 2003. So you needn't worry about
the two co-existing or VS 2005 trying to 'upgrade' the 1.1 solution.

I don't personally know of any Microsoft site which states this but let
Google be your friend :)

Jan 13 '06 #4
MuZZy <tn*@newsgroups.nospam> wrote in
news:OA**************@tk2msftngp13.phx.gbl:
Realy? That's cool! Now i need to convince my boss for which i need to
show him anything about it on microsoft website :) Do you know if it's
writen anywhere on their website? I didn't find anything about that
...


Here's another one.

http://msdn2.microsoft.com/en-us/library/s80xxs7s.aspx

I found these by searching ".NET side by side execution" on google.

-mdb
Jan 13 '06 #5
MuZZy <tn*@newsgroups.nospam> wrote in
news:OA**************@tk2msftngp13.phx.gbl:
Realy? That's cool! Now i need to convince my boss for which i need to
show him anything about it on microsoft website :) Do you know if it's
writen anywhere on their website? I didn't find anything about that
...


http://msdn.microsoft.com/netframewo...comparison/def
ault.aspx

(watch the wrapping)

This article talks about .NET 1.0 and .NET 1.1 side-by-side execution, but
the answer is basically the same for .NET 1.1 and .NET 2.0. In order to
build/compile .NET 2.0 apps, you should use VS 2005, while in order to
build/compile .NET 1.1 apps, you should use VS 2003. You'll need them both
loaded on your development machine. This isn't a problem as long as you
have the disk space. I have them both loaded, and sometimes I have them
both running at the same time.

-mdb
Jan 13 '06 #6

--
Naraendira Kumar R.R.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
"MuZZy" <tn*@newsgroups.nospam> wrote in message
news:OA**************@tk2msftngp13.phx.gbl...
Mattias Sjögren wrote:
If i have both 1.1 and 2 installed how do i switch the current runtime?

Each app will by default use the version it was compiled against so
you shouldn't have to do anything.
Mattias

Realy? That's cool! Now i need to convince my boss for which i need to
show him anything about it on microsoft website :) Do you know if it's
writen anywhere on their website? I didn't find anything about that ...

Does this help?

http://msdn.microsoft.com/library/de...asp?frame=true
Thank you,
MuZZy

Jan 13 '06 #7
Pondering the eternal question of "Hobnobs or Rich Tea?", Mattias Sjíµ›í±¥n
finally proclaimed:
Each app will by default use the version it was compiled against so
you shouldn't have to do anything.


What happens if the code to be executed is written within a <script>
block rather than compiled and referenced as an assembly?

--
Dylan Parry
http://webpageworkshop.co.uk -- FREE Web tutorials and references

Disclaimer: This post does not represent the opinion of me or my cats.
Jan 20 '06 #8

This discussion thread is closed

Replies have been disabled for this discussion.

Similar topics

5 posts views Thread by z. f. | last post: by
reply views Thread by py | last post: by
reply views Thread by masalamod | last post: by
reply views Thread by Winder | last post: by
4 posts views Thread by =?Utf-8?B?Qm9iQWNoZ2lsbA==?= | last post: by
reply views Thread by rosydwin | last post: by

By using Bytes.com and it's services, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

To disable or enable advertisements and analytics tracking please visit the manage ads & tracking page.