469,646 Members | 1,339 Online
Bytes | Developer Community
New Post

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

Post your question to a community of 469,646 developers. It's quick & easy.

Can't find VS 2003 .Net command prompt?


I am trying to find out how to access the VS 2003 .Net command prompt. I
am trying to execute the 'csc' command against a module but have no idea
where to find the command prompt. Here's a stupid question --> Could
this actually be the MSDOS CMD prompt that I cann access from the start
run command?? Thanks in advance. . .Tom Johnson
*** Sent via Developersdex http://www.developersdex.com ***
Nov 17 '05 #1
4 2590
Hi Thomas,
when I installed Visual Studio the Command prompt appears under:
Start->Programs->Microsoft Visual Studio.Net 2003->Visual Studio.Net Tools

Looking at the file this links to I can see it is:

%comspec% /k "C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio .NET
2003\Common7\Tools\vsvars32.bat"

I entered this into the Start->Run box and it opened up the Visual Studio
command prompt. Maybe this can help you a bit.
Mark R Dawson
http://www.markdawson.org

"Thomas Johnson" wrote:

I am trying to find out how to access the VS 2003 .Net command prompt. I
am trying to execute the 'csc' command against a module but have no idea
where to find the command prompt. Here's a stupid question --> Could
this actually be the MSDOS CMD prompt that I cann access from the start
run command?? Thanks in advance. . .Tom Johnson
*** Sent via Developersdex http://www.developersdex.com ***

Nov 17 '05 #2

"Thomas Johnson" <tj*****@verizon.net> wrote in message
news:ue**************@TK2MSFTNGP12.phx.gbl...

I am trying to find out how to access the VS 2003 .Net command prompt. I
am trying to execute the 'csc' command against a module but have no idea
where to find the command prompt. Here's a stupid question --> Could
this actually be the MSDOS CMD prompt that I cann access from the start
run command?? Thanks in advance. . .Tom Johnson


Of course it is, but it has to include environment settings so the directory
containing csc.exe will be on the path.

It's on the start menu in the program group with Visual Studio.
Nov 17 '05 #3

Thanks Mark this was just what I was looking for. I am not very well
versed with this command prompt. When I execute this command from the
tools item it tells me it is setting my environment for using MS VS .net
2003 tools, and puts me in my temp directory? It looks like I deed to
navigate to my Development directory and use the "csc" command or resort
to reviewing th "/?" feature for this command and get busy typing.
Thanks again for all of your help.
Tom Johnson
A+, MCP MCSD .Net

*** Sent via Developersdex http://www.developersdex.com ***
Nov 17 '05 #4
Thanks Mike, you and Mark have been helpful. When I execute this Tools
item it does go ahead and updates the system environment, but I can't
understand why he put me into my temp director? Thanks again. . .

Tom Johnson
A+, MCP MCSD .Net

*** Sent via Developersdex http://www.developersdex.com ***
Nov 17 '05 #5

This discussion thread is closed

Replies have been disabled for this discussion.

Similar topics

4 posts views Thread by Hopeless A | last post: by
12 posts views Thread by hokiegal99 | last post: by
6 posts views Thread by jemmaq99 | last post: by
1 post views Thread by Div / | last post: by
3 posts views Thread by Eyal Amedi | last post: by
11 posts views Thread by Kenneth P | last post: by
4 posts views Thread by Brad Rogers | last post: by
By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.