473,405 Members | 2,261 Online
Bytes | Software Development & Data Engineering Community
Post Job

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

Join Bytes to post your question to a community of 473,405 software developers and data experts.

Strange problem on runtime

I have an Application
While running it on computer (just runtime) WITH VS [not development] works
fine, BUT
running it on other computer without VS it just do not want to run (exit
with code 0 [OK])
What can be problem?

--
Tamir Khason
You want dot.NET? Just ask:
"Please, www.dotnet.us "
Nov 16 '05 #1
13 1302
Tamir Khason <ta**********@tcon-NOSPAM.co.il> wrote:
I have an Application
While running it on computer (just runtime) WITH VS [not development] works
fine, BUT
running it on other computer without VS it just do not want to run (exit
with code 0 [OK])
What can be problem?


Have you installed the .NET framework on the other computer?

--
Jon Skeet - <sk***@pobox.com>
http://www.pobox.com/~skeet
If replying to the group, please do not mail me too
Nov 16 '05 #2
sure ;) the same version.
Maybe GAC?? All assemblies are strong key?..

--
Tamir Khason
You want dot.NET? Just ask:
"Please, www.dotnet.us "

"Jon Skeet [C# MVP]" <sk***@pobox.com> wrote in message
news:MP************************@msnews.microsoft.c om...
Tamir Khason <ta**********@tcon-NOSPAM.co.il> wrote:
I have an Application
While running it on computer (just runtime) WITH VS [not development]
works
fine, BUT
running it on other computer without VS it just do not want to run (exit
with code 0 [OK])
What can be problem?


Have you installed the .NET framework on the other computer?

--
Jon Skeet - <sk***@pobox.com>
http://www.pobox.com/~skeet
If replying to the group, please do not mail me too

Nov 16 '05 #3
Tamir Khason <ta**********@tcon-NOSPAM.co.il> wrote:
sure ;) the same version.
Maybe GAC?? All assemblies are strong key?..


Hard to say without knowing more about the application. Have you tried
a tiny "hello world" application?

--
Jon Skeet - <sk***@pobox.com>
http://www.pobox.com/~skeet
If replying to the group, please do not mail me too
Nov 16 '05 #4
yes, even much more complicated program, but not THIS program

--
Tamir Khason
You want dot.NET? Just ask:
"Please, www.dotnet.us "

"Jon Skeet [C# MVP]" <sk***@pobox.com> wrote in message
news:MP***********************@msnews.microsoft.co m...
Tamir Khason <ta**********@tcon-NOSPAM.co.il> wrote:
sure ;) the same version.
Maybe GAC?? All assemblies are strong key?..


Hard to say without knowing more about the application. Have you tried
a tiny "hello world" application?

--
Jon Skeet - <sk***@pobox.com>
http://www.pobox.com/~skeet
If replying to the group, please do not mail me too

Nov 16 '05 #5
What the difference between (from assemblies point of view) computer with
and without VS2003??

--
Tamir Khason
You want dot.NET? Just ask:
"Please, www.dotnet.us "

"Jon Skeet [C# MVP]" <sk***@pobox.com> wrote in message
news:MP***********************@msnews.microsoft.co m...
Tamir Khason <ta**********@tcon-NOSPAM.co.il> wrote:
sure ;) the same version.
Maybe GAC?? All assemblies are strong key?..


Hard to say without knowing more about the application. Have you tried
a tiny "hello world" application?

--
Jon Skeet - <sk***@pobox.com>
http://www.pobox.com/~skeet
If replying to the group, please do not mail me too

Nov 16 '05 #6
Tamir Khason <ta**********@tcon-NOSPAM.co.il> wrote:
What the difference between (from assemblies point of view) computer with
and without VS2003??


I don't know, to be honest. You could look in the GAC of both
machines...

--
Jon Skeet - <sk***@pobox.com>
http://www.pobox.com/~skeet
If replying to the group, please do not mail me too
Nov 16 '05 #7
Nothing about it
Other ideas....
It got to be REALLY problem for deployment...

--
Tamir Khason
You want dot.NET? Just ask:
"Please, www.dotnet.us "

"Jon Skeet [C# MVP]" <sk***@pobox.com> wrote in message
news:MP************************@msnews.microsoft.c om...
Tamir Khason <ta**********@tcon-NOSPAM.co.il> wrote:
What the difference between (from assemblies point of view) computer with
and without VS2003??


I don't know, to be honest. You could look in the GAC of both
machines...

--
Jon Skeet - <sk***@pobox.com>
http://www.pobox.com/~skeet
If replying to the group, please do not mail me too

Nov 16 '05 #8
OK, Got a problem, but not a solution
I have in this application some Interoped COM. While REMOVING this (let's
say FooCOMLib.dll) when leave the original FooCOM.dll in solution works fine
(of couse not module using this COM, but when return it the application on
prod machine exits straignt after loading.
The FooCOMLib.dll created with tlbImp and signed (as all other assemblies
(including interops) with strong key.

Once more, the SAME program working fine on Dev enviroment.
FooCOM.dll (original) is registered.

PLEASE HELP

--
Tamir Khason
You want dot.NET? Just ask:
"Please, www.dotnet.us "

"Tamir Khason" <ta**********@tcon-NOSPAM.co.il> wrote in message
news:OC**************@TK2MSFTNGP14.phx.gbl...
Nothing about it
Other ideas....
It got to be REALLY problem for deployment...

--
Tamir Khason
You want dot.NET? Just ask:
"Please, www.dotnet.us "

"Jon Skeet [C# MVP]" <sk***@pobox.com> wrote in message
news:MP************************@msnews.microsoft.c om...
Tamir Khason <ta**********@tcon-NOSPAM.co.il> wrote:
What the difference between (from assemblies point of view) computer
with
and without VS2003??


I don't know, to be honest. You could look in the GAC of both
machines...

--
Jon Skeet - <sk***@pobox.com>
http://www.pobox.com/~skeet
If replying to the group, please do not mail me too


Nov 16 '05 #9
Tamir Khason <ta**********@tcon-NOSPAM.co.il> wrote:
OK, Got a problem, but not a solution
I have in this application some Interoped COM. While REMOVING this (let's
say FooCOMLib.dll) when leave the original FooCOM.dll in solution works fine
(of couse not module using this COM, but when return it the application on
prod machine exits straignt after loading.
The FooCOMLib.dll created with tlbImp and signed (as all other assemblies
(including interops) with strong key.

Once more, the SAME program working fine on Dev enviroment.
FooCOM.dll (original) is registered.


Ah, right. Where is FooCOM.dll on the machine which isn't working? You
might want to ask in the interop newsgroup for more answers - I'm
afraid I'm not very hot on interop.

--
Jon Skeet - <sk***@pobox.com>
http://www.pobox.com/~skeet
If replying to the group, please do not mail me too
Nov 16 '05 #10
Tamir,

If you are using a COM component, then you will need to make sure that
the COM component is installed on the other machine. You can't just take
the wrapper (which is what TLBIMP creates) and use that, the COM component
needs to be installed as well.

Hope this helps.
--
- Nicholas Paldino [.NET/C# MVP]
- mv*@spam.guard.caspershouse.com

"Tamir Khason" <ta**********@tcon-NOSPAM.co.il> wrote in message
news:u8**************@TK2MSFTNGP15.phx.gbl...
OK, Got a problem, but not a solution
I have in this application some Interoped COM. While REMOVING this (let's
say FooCOMLib.dll) when leave the original FooCOM.dll in solution works
fine (of couse not module using this COM, but when return it the
application on prod machine exits straignt after loading.
The FooCOMLib.dll created with tlbImp and signed (as all other assemblies
(including interops) with strong key.

Once more, the SAME program working fine on Dev enviroment.
FooCOM.dll (original) is registered.

PLEASE HELP

--
Tamir Khason
You want dot.NET? Just ask:
"Please, www.dotnet.us "

"Tamir Khason" <ta**********@tcon-NOSPAM.co.il> wrote in message
news:OC**************@TK2MSFTNGP14.phx.gbl...
Nothing about it
Other ideas....
It got to be REALLY problem for deployment...

--
Tamir Khason
You want dot.NET? Just ask:
"Please, www.dotnet.us "

"Jon Skeet [C# MVP]" <sk***@pobox.com> wrote in message
news:MP************************@msnews.microsoft.c om...
Tamir Khason <ta**********@tcon-NOSPAM.co.il> wrote:
What the difference between (from assemblies point of view) computer
with
and without VS2003??

I don't know, to be honest. You could look in the GAC of both
machines...

--
Jon Skeet - <sk***@pobox.com>
http://www.pobox.com/~skeet
If replying to the group, please do not mail me too



Nov 16 '05 #11
Yes, I know this.
FooCOM.dll (original com) is in the same directory with interop and
registered by regsvr32
I thin kit might be problem with statics/dynamics FooCOM.dll creation,
inspite of in dependency walker i can not see anything missing

advice?

--
Tamir Khason
You want dot.NET? Just ask:
"Please, www.dotnet.us "

"Nicholas Paldino [.NET/C# MVP]" <mv*@spam.guard.caspershouse.com> wrote in
message news:Oj**************@TK2MSFTNGP09.phx.gbl...
Tamir,

If you are using a COM component, then you will need to make sure that
the COM component is installed on the other machine. You can't just take
the wrapper (which is what TLBIMP creates) and use that, the COM component
needs to be installed as well.

Hope this helps.
--
- Nicholas Paldino [.NET/C# MVP]
- mv*@spam.guard.caspershouse.com

"Tamir Khason" <ta**********@tcon-NOSPAM.co.il> wrote in message
news:u8**************@TK2MSFTNGP15.phx.gbl...
OK, Got a problem, but not a solution
I have in this application some Interoped COM. While REMOVING this (let's
say FooCOMLib.dll) when leave the original FooCOM.dll in solution works
fine (of couse not module using this COM, but when return it the
application on prod machine exits straignt after loading.
The FooCOMLib.dll created with tlbImp and signed (as all other assemblies
(including interops) with strong key.

Once more, the SAME program working fine on Dev enviroment.
FooCOM.dll (original) is registered.

PLEASE HELP

--
Tamir Khason
You want dot.NET? Just ask:
"Please, www.dotnet.us "

"Tamir Khason" <ta**********@tcon-NOSPAM.co.il> wrote in message
news:OC**************@TK2MSFTNGP14.phx.gbl...
Nothing about it
Other ideas....
It got to be REALLY problem for deployment...

--
Tamir Khason
You want dot.NET? Just ask:
"Please, www.dotnet.us "

"Jon Skeet [C# MVP]" <sk***@pobox.com> wrote in message
news:MP************************@msnews.microsoft.c om...
Tamir Khason <ta**********@tcon-NOSPAM.co.il> wrote:
> What the difference between (from assemblies point of view) computer
> with
> and without VS2003??

I don't know, to be honest. You could look in the GAC of both
machines...

--
Jon Skeet - <sk***@pobox.com>
http://www.pobox.com/~skeet
If replying to the group, please do not mail me too



Nov 16 '05 #12
Tamir Khason <ta**********@tcon-NOSPAM.co.il> wrote:
Yes, I know this.
FooCOM.dll (original com) is in the same directory with interop and
registered by regsvr32
I thin kit might be problem with statics/dynamics FooCOM.dll creation,
inspite of in dependency walker i can not see anything missing

advice?


As I said before, I advise you ask in the interop group.

--
Jon Skeet - <sk***@pobox.com>
http://www.pobox.com/~skeet
If replying to the group, please do not mail me too
Nov 16 '05 #13
Thanks for Jon's quick response.

Hi Tamir,

First of all, I would like to confirm my understanding of your issue. From
your description, I understand that you app could not run properly on other
machine that the exported assembly was not installed. If there is any
misunderstanding, please feel free to let me know.

Could you try to use regasm.exe to register the dll instead of
regsvr32.exe? regasm.exe allows COM clients to create .NET Framework
classes transparently. For more information, please check the following
link:

http://msdn.microsoft.com/library/de...us/cptools/htm
l/cpgrfassemblyregistrationtoolregasmexe.asp

HTH.

Kevin Yu
=======
"This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no
rights."

Nov 16 '05 #14

This thread has been closed and replies have been disabled. Please start a new discussion.

Similar topics

3
by: Dalan | last post by:
At first I was not certain what could cause Access 97 from displaying most jpeg images, but not all. After further testing, it seemed that all original images of less than 275 pixels per inch or...
7
by: Paul Czubilinski | last post by:
Hello, I have a problem with code like this (PHP 5.1.4): fila A.php: ======= include(B.php); class document extends obj { .........
11
by: Mike C# | last post by:
Hi all, I keep getting a strange error and can't pin it down. The message is: This application has requested the Runtime to terminate it in an unusual way. Please contact the application's...
6
by: semedao | last post by:
Hi All, I had working code that made custom serialization on objects that inherit from queue in the inherited queue I create my own GetObjectData: public void GetObjectData(SerializationInfo info,...
4
by: David | last post by:
I'm using the AxSHDocVw.WebBrowser control to download data from a webpage at work (it's an internal page on my company's intranet). The page produces a runtime error after a while and the...
0
by: Charles Arthur | last post by:
How do i turn on java script on a villaon, callus and itel keypad mobile phone
0
by: emmanuelkatto | last post by:
Hi All, I am Emmanuel katto from Uganda. I want to ask what challenges you've faced while migrating a website to cloud. Please let me know. Thanks! Emmanuel
0
BarryA
by: BarryA | last post by:
What are the essential steps and strategies outlined in the Data Structures and Algorithms (DSA) roadmap for aspiring data scientists? How can individuals effectively utilize this roadmap to progress...
1
by: nemocccc | last post by:
hello, everyone, I want to develop a software for my android phone for daily needs, any suggestions?
1
by: Sonnysonu | last post by:
This is the data of csv file 1 2 3 1 2 3 1 2 3 1 2 3 2 3 2 3 3 the lengths should be different i have to store the data by column-wise with in the specific length. suppose the i have to...
0
marktang
by: marktang | last post by:
ONU (Optical Network Unit) is one of the key components for providing high-speed Internet services. Its primary function is to act as an endpoint device located at the user's premises. However,...
0
by: Hystou | last post by:
Overview: Windows 11 and 10 have less user interface control over operating system update behaviour than previous versions of Windows. In Windows 11 and 10, there is no way to turn off the Windows...
0
tracyyun
by: tracyyun | last post by:
Dear forum friends, With the development of smart home technology, a variety of wireless communication protocols have appeared on the market, such as Zigbee, Z-Wave, Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, etc. Each...
0
isladogs
by: isladogs | last post by:
The next Access Europe User Group meeting will be on Wednesday 1 May 2024 starting at 18:00 UK time (6PM UTC+1) and finishing by 19:30 (7.30PM). In this session, we are pleased to welcome a new...

By using Bytes.com and it's services, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

To disable or enable advertisements and analytics tracking please visit the manage ads & tracking page.