By using this site, you agree to our updated Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Manage your Cookies Settings.
424,851 Members | 983 Online
Bytes IT Community
+ Ask a Question
Need help? Post your question and get tips & solutions from a community of 424,851 IT Pros & Developers. It's quick & easy.

Setup Project: Backup Files

P: n/a
I have a project that is deployed using a MSI. When the user attempts to
install a new version of the program I require them to remove the existing
version first.

Is it possible to do the following
1.) Instead of having the user remove the program from the "add/remove
programs menu" have my setup project copy the existing version to a backup
directory?

Thanks
Amy
Nov 15 '05 #1
Share this Question
Share on Google+
1 Reply


P: n/a
You really can't "backup" the old version. You can have Version2 install
to a different directory, or you can turn RemovePreviousVersions on the
Setup project to True so that it uninstalls the previous verison. If you
do this, you need to keep the UpgradeCode the same, but change the
ProductCode and Version.

---
David Guyer - VBQA Deployment Testing
This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no rights.
--------------------
From: "Amy L." <am**@paxemail.com>
Subject: Setup Project: Backup Files
Date: Sat, 8 Nov 2003 23:27:40 -0500
Lines: 13
X-Priority: 3
X-MSMail-Priority: Normal
X-Newsreader: Microsoft Outlook Express 6.00.2800.1158
X-MimeOLE: Produced By Microsoft MimeOLE V6.00.2800.1165
Message-ID: <ec**************@tk2msftngp13.phx.gbl>
Newsgroups: microsoft.public.dotnet.framework.setup,microsoft. public.dotnet.languages.cs
harpNNTP-Posting-Host: ny-lackawannacadent1a-lac-a-178.buf.adelphia.net 68.69.92.178Path: cpmsftngxa06.phx.gbl!TK2MSFTNGP08.phx.gbl!tk2msftn gp13.phx.gbl
Xref: cpmsftngxa06.phx.gbl microsoft.public.dotnet.languages.csharp:197701 microsoft.public.dotnet.framework.setup:6343X-Tomcat-NG: microsoft.public.dotnet.languages.csharp

I have a project that is deployed using a MSI. When the user attempts to
install a new version of the program I require them to remove the existing
version first.

Is it possible to do the following
1.) Instead of having the user remove the program from the "add/remove
programs menu" have my setup project copy the existing version to a backup
directory?

Thanks
Amy


Nov 15 '05 #2

This discussion thread is closed

Replies have been disabled for this discussion.