473,854 Members | 1,486 Online
Bytes | Software Development & Data Engineering Community
+ Post

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

C# vs. C++

cj
I don't want to start a war but why would I choose one over the other?
First and foremost I need to keep in mind marketability of the skill and
the future of the language.

I'm getting the feeling I'll be moving from VB to one or the other. I
have some say on which but perhaps not the final decision. I have used
C and C++ a little bit years ago. I have no experience in C#. I don't
expect it to be that difficult but I hate remembering the idiosyncrasies
of too many languages so I'd like to pick one C# or C++ and make the
right choice.
Jun 27 '08
151 4308
MC
"Kenneth Porter" <sh************ *@sewingwitch.c omwrote in message
news:Xn******** *************** ***@207.46.248. 16...
Arne Vajhøj <ar**@vajhoej.d kwrote in news:485c5d19$0 $90265$14726298
@news.sunsite.d k:
>clintonG wrote:
>>Microsoft developed C# specifically for the web.

I don't think so. I believe C# was developed to be a general
language.

C# was developed because Sun wouldn't allow MS to tightly couple its Java
implementation to Windows,
If all Microsoft had wanted was their own variant of Java for the .NET API,
they could have had it. In fact they did. It was called J#.

(Incidentally, ".NET" does not have much if anything to do with networking.
It is a classic needlessly misleading name.)

C# was invented because Microsoft had a good idea for a new API for Windows
(namely .NET Framework) and Anders Hejlsberg had some good ideas for a new
programming language, similar but not identical to Java.

Of course, in the interest of Openness and Freedom, There Should Never Be
Any New Programming Language Invented. FORTRAN '58 forever! :)
Jul 10 '08 #141
On Thu, 10 Jul 2008 18:22:40 -0400, "MC"
<fo************ **@www.ai.uga.e du.slash.mcwrot e:
>Of course, in the interest of Openness and Freedom, There Should Never Be
Any New Programming Language Invented. FORTRAN '58 forever! :)
Real Programmers can write FORTRAN in any language.

rossum

Jul 11 '08 #142

"Kenneth Porter" <sh************ *@sewingwitch.c omha scritto nel messaggio
news:Xn******** *************** ***@207.46.248. 16...
C# was developed because Sun wouldn't allow MS to tightly couple its Java
implementation to Windows, encouraging people to build Windows-only Java
apps. (The "embrace and extend" system of locking in your customers.)
I don't agree.

C# is more complete and more advanced than Java.
In C# Microsoft put lots of improvements over Java.
I think that in C# Microsoft put lessons learned from several languages:
C++, Java, and classic Visual Basic, too.

For example: Java has no concept of properties (you must use get/set like in
C++).
Java has no concept of delegate.
In Java all methods are virtual by default (instead, in C# you must specify
that).
And C# has a very good RAD environment with WinForm, I don't think that Java
has anything similar.

And C# has also LINQ, instead I think that in Java there is no language
support for SQL-like syntax.

And C# has the 'using' and 'IDisposable' for non-memory resources (like file
handles, etc.).
Instead I think that Java has nothing similar.

And it is very easy to use C++ code from C#, thanks to C++/CLI. Again, I
think that calling C++ code from Java is not so easy...

Giovanni
Jul 11 '08 #143
C# was invented because Microsoft had a good idea for a new API for
Windows (namely .NET Framework) and Anders Hejlsberg had some good ideas
for a new programming language, similar but not identical to Java.
No, Clinton is right. Java was falling short of what they wanted to do. See
http://blogs.msdn.com/patrick_dussud...f-the-clr.aspx

--

Regards,
Alvin Bruney [MVP ASP.NET]

[Shameless Author plug]
Download OWC Black Book, 2nd Edition
Exclusively on www.lulu.com/owc $15.00
Need a free copy of VSTS 2008 w/ MSDN Premium?
http://msmvps.com/blogs/alvin/Default.aspx
-------------------------------------------------------
"MC" <fo************ **@www.ai.uga.e du.slash.mcwrot e in message
news:em******** ******@TK2MSFTN GP03.phx.gbl...
"Kenneth Porter" <sh************ *@sewingwitch.c omwrote in message
news:Xn******** *************** ***@207.46.248. 16...
>Arne Vajhøj <ar**@vajhoej.d kwrote in news:485c5d19$0 $90265$14726298
@news.sunsite. dk:
>>clintonG wrote:
Microsoft developed C# specifically for the web.

I don't think so. I believe C# was developed to be a general
language.

C# was developed because Sun wouldn't allow MS to tightly couple its Java
implementati on to Windows,

If all Microsoft had wanted was their own variant of Java for the .NET
API, they could have had it. In fact they did. It was called J#.

(Incidentally, ".NET" does not have much if anything to do with
networking. It is a classic needlessly misleading name.)

C# was invented because Microsoft had a good idea for a new API for
Windows (namely .NET Framework) and Anders Hejlsberg had some good ideas
for a new programming language, similar but not identical to Java.

Of course, in the interest of Openness and Freedom, There Should Never Be
Any New Programming Language Invented. FORTRAN '58 forever! :)

Jul 13 '08 #144
Giovanni Dicanio wrote:
"Kenneth Porter" <sh************ *@sewingwitch.c omha scritto nel
messaggio news:Xn******** *************** ***@207.46.248. 16...
>C# was developed because Sun wouldn't allow MS to tightly couple its
Java implementation to Windows, encouraging people to build
Windows-only Java apps. (The "embrace and extend" system of locking
in your customers.)

I don't agree.

C# is more complete and more advanced than Java.
In C# Microsoft put lots of improvements over Java.
I think that in C# Microsoft put lessons learned from several
languages: C++, Java, and classic Visual Basic, too.

For example: Java has no concept of properties (you must use get/set
like in C++).
Java has no concept of delegate.
In Java all methods are virtual by default (instead, in C# you must
specify that).
And C# has a very good RAD environment with WinForm, I don't think
that Java has anything similar.
C# doesn't have. Visual Studio has, in the Forms Designer, a RAD
environment which is rather prone to crashing (i.e. less than "very good").
Quite a number of Java IDEs have RAD GUI designers as well, I'm sure. I
don't use Java for application development, but I'd start by looking at some
of the many Eclipse plugins if I needed a dialog / window design tool.
>
And C# has also LINQ, instead I think that in Java there is no
language support for SQL-like syntax.

And C# has the 'using' and 'IDisposable' for non-memory resources
(like file handles, etc.).
Instead I think that Java has nothing similar.

And it is very easy to use C++ code from C#, thanks to C++/CLI.
Again, I think that calling C++ code from Java is not so easy...

Giovanni

Jul 14 '08 #145

"Ben Voigt [C++ MVP]" <rb*@nospam.nos pamha scritto nel messaggio
news:%2******** *******@TK2MSFT NGP05.phx.gbl.. .
>And C# has a very good RAD environment with WinForm, I don't think
that Java has anything similar.

C# doesn't have. Visual Studio has, in the Forms Designer, a RAD
environment
You're correct, thanks.

which is rather prone to crashing (i.e. less than "very good").
I did not do anything big in WinForm, but I had no problem with VS2008
WinForm Designer and C#.
(Maybe it does not scale up well?)

Giovanni
Jul 14 '08 #146
Ben Voigt [C++ MVP] wrote:
Giovanni Dicanio wrote:
>"Kenneth Porter" <sh************ *@sewingwitch.c omha scritto nel
messaggio news:Xn******** *************** ***@207.46.248. 16...
[...]
C# doesn't have. Visual Studio has, in the Forms Designer, a RAD
I think the WinForms designer is part of the .NET framework and can be
hosted in other applications too.
environment which is rather prone to crashing (i.e. less than "very good").
The C++ one is quite bad but I don't have that impression regarding the
C# (managed languages) one.

[...]
Andre
Jul 15 '08 #147
Andre Kaufmann wrote:
Ben Voigt [C++ MVP] wrote:
>Giovanni Dicanio wrote:
>>"Kenneth Porter" <sh************ *@sewingwitch.c omha scritto nel
messaggio news:Xn******** *************** ***@207.46.248. 16...
[...]
C# doesn't have. Visual Studio has, in the Forms Designer, a RAD

I think the WinForms designer is part of the .NET framework and can be
hosted in other applications too.
The .NET framework includes support for including design-time support for
user controls, but not the design environment itself. I think the design
environment can be hosted, but you'd be using the Visual Studio
extensibility SDK and licensing Visual Studio runtime components, not just
the .NET framework.
>
>environment which is rather prone to crashing (i.e. less than "very
good").

The C++ one is quite bad but I don't have that impression regarding
the C# (managed languages) one.
I've had the C# designer (VS2005) crash numerous times. The fact that the
crash dialog for Visual Studio isn't actually modal (a serendipitous bug I
suspect) is the only thing that's saved by solution from total uselessness
on multiple occasions (i.e. I was able to close the faulting designer window
and save the solution before letting the crash window exit Visual Studio,
otherwise merely opening the solution produced a crash)
>
>[...]

Andre

Jul 17 '08 #148
Ben Voigt [C++ MVP] wrote:
Andre Kaufmann wrote:
[...]
The .NET framework includes support for including design-time support for
user controls, but not the design environment itself. I think the design
environment can be hosted, but you'd be using the Visual Studio
I'm not 100% sure about how much of the functionality of the WinForms
Designer is part of the .NET framework. I only know that it has been
hosted by some commercial applications too. However, I've hosted the
Windows Workflow Designer in my own application, but it wasn't simply
adding some controls to my main form. So I suspect the same might be
true for the WinForms Designer too.
extensibility SDK and licensing Visual Studio runtime components, not just
the .NET framework.
Since the core of the Visual Studio IDE (now) can be hosted / used for
free I don't think the runtime components have to be licenced.
However the Visual Studio Shell has to be shipped, additionally to the
..NET framework. I'm not familiar with the Visual Studio Shell and I
don't know if the WinForms designer is part of it. But I suspect it to
be so.
[...]
Andre
Jul 17 '08 #149
>extensibilit y SDK and licensing Visual Studio runtime components,
>not just the .NET framework.

Since the core of the Visual Studio IDE (now) can be hosted / used for
free I don't think the runtime components have to be licenced.
"for free" is assuredly not the same as "not licensed".
However the Visual Studio Shell has to be shipped, additionally to the
.NET framework. I'm not familiar with the Visual Studio Shell and I
don't know if the WinForms designer is part of it. But I suspect it to
be so.
>[...]

Andre

Jul 17 '08 #150

This thread has been closed and replies have been disabled. Please start a new discussion.

Similar topics

3
11262
by: William C. White | last post by:
Does anyone know of a way to use PHP /w Authorize.net AIM without using cURL? Our website is hosted on a shared drive and the webhost company doesn't installed additional software (such as cURL) on the server because of that. Our site will have an SSL certificate next week, so I would like to use AIM instead of SIM, however, I don't know how to send data via POST over https and recieve data from the Authorize.net server over an https...
2
5861
by: Albert Ahtenberg | last post by:
Hello, I don't know if it is only me but I was sure that header("Location:url") redirects the browser instantly to URL, or at least stops the execution of the code. But appearantely it continues to execute the code until the browser send his reply to the header instruction. So an exit(); after each redirection won't hurt at all
3
23050
by: James | last post by:
Hi, I have a form with 2 fields. 'A' 'B' The user completes one of the fields and the form is submitted. On the results page I want to run a query, but this will change subject to which field is completed.
0
8505
by: Ollivier Robert | last post by:
Hello, I'm trying to link PHP with Oracle 9.2.0/OCI8 with gcc 3.2.3 on a Solaris9 system. The link succeeds but everytime I try to run php, I get a SEGV from inside the libcnltsh.so library. 354 roberto@ausone:Build/php-4.3.2> ldd /opt/php4/bin/php libsablot.so.0 => /usr/local/lib/libsablot.so.0 libstdc++.so.5 => /usr/local/lib/libstdc++.so.5 libm.so.1 => /usr/lib/libm.so.1
1
8619
by: Richard Galli | last post by:
I want viewers to compare state laws on a single subject. Imagine a three-column table with a drop-down box on the top. A viewer selects a state from the list, and that state's text fills the column below. The viewer can select states from the drop down lists above the other two columns as well. If the viewer selects only one, only one column fills. If the viewer selects two states, two columns fill. Etc. I could, if appropriate, have...
4
18314
by: Albert Ahtenberg | last post by:
Hello, I have two questions. 1. When the user presses the back button and returns to a form he filled the form is reseted. How do I leave there the values he inserted? 2. When the user comes back to a page where he had a submitted POST data the browser keeps telling that the data has expired and asks if repost. How to avoid that? I tried registering all POST and GET vars as SESSION vars but
1
6885
by: inderjit S Gabrie | last post by:
Hi all Here is the scenerio ...is it possibly to do this... i am getting valid course dates output on to a web which i have designed ....all is okay so far , look at the following web url http://www.mis.gla.ac.uk/biquery/training/ but each of the courses held have maximum of 8 people that could be
2
31457
by: Jack | last post by:
Hi All, What is the PHP equivilent of Oracle bind variables in a SQL statement, e.g. select x from y where z=:parameter Which in asp/jsp would be followed by some statements to bind a value to :parameter I dont like the idea of making the SQL statement on the fly without binding parameters as I dont want a highly polluted SQL cache.
3
23614
by: Sandwick | last post by:
I am trying to change the size of a drawing so they are all 3x3. the script below is what i was trying to use to cut it in half ... I get errors. I can display the normal picture but not the results of the picture half the size. The PHP I have installed support 1.62 or higher. And all I would like to do is take and image and make it fit a 3x3. Any suggestions to where I should read or look would be appreciated.
0
9901
marktang
by: marktang | last post by:
ONU (Optical Network Unit) is one of the key components for providing high-speed Internet services. Its primary function is to act as an endpoint device located at the user's premises. However, people are often confused as to whether an ONU can Work As a Router. In this blog post, we’ll explore What is ONU, What Is Router, ONU & Router’s main usage, and What is the difference between ONU and Router. Let’s take a closer look ! Part I. Meaning of...
0
9752
by: Hystou | last post by:
Most computers default to English, but sometimes we require a different language, especially when relocating. Forgot to request a specific language before your computer shipped? No problem! You can effortlessly switch the default language on Windows 10 without reinstalling. I'll walk you through it. First, let's disable language synchronization. With a Microsoft account, language settings sync across devices. To prevent any complications,...
0
10684
jinu1996
by: jinu1996 | last post by:
In today's digital age, having a compelling online presence is paramount for businesses aiming to thrive in a competitive landscape. At the heart of this digital strategy lies an intricately woven tapestry of website design and digital marketing. It's not merely about having a website; it's about crafting an immersive digital experience that captivates audiences and drives business growth. The Art of Business Website Design Your website is...
0
10371
tracyyun
by: tracyyun | last post by:
Dear forum friends, With the development of smart home technology, a variety of wireless communication protocols have appeared on the market, such as Zigbee, Z-Wave, Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, etc. Each protocol has its own unique characteristics and advantages, but as a user who is planning to build a smart home system, I am a bit confused by the choice of these technologies. I'm particularly interested in Zigbee because I've heard it does some...
0
9517
agi2029
by: agi2029 | last post by:
Let's talk about the concept of autonomous AI software engineers and no-code agents. These AIs are designed to manage the entire lifecycle of a software development project—planning, coding, testing, and deployment—without human intervention. Imagine an AI that can take a project description, break it down, write the code, debug it, and then launch it, all on its own.... Now, this would greatly impact the work of software developers. The idea...
1
7918
isladogs
by: isladogs | last post by:
The next Access Europe User Group meeting will be on Wednesday 1 May 2024 starting at 18:00 UK time (6PM UTC+1) and finishing by 19:30 (7.30PM). In this session, we are pleased to welcome a new presenter, Adolph Dupré who will be discussing some powerful techniques for using class modules. He will explain when you may want to use classes instead of User Defined Types (UDT). For example, to manage the data in unbound forms. Adolph will...
0
7082
by: conductexam | last post by:
I have .net C# application in which I am extracting data from word file and save it in database particularly. To store word all data as it is I am converting the whole word file firstly in HTML and then checking html paragraph one by one. At the time of converting from word file to html my equations which are in the word document file was convert into image. Globals.ThisAddIn.Application.ActiveDocument.Select();...
0
5744
by: TSSRALBI | last post by:
Hello I'm a network technician in training and I need your help. I am currently learning how to create and manage the different types of VPNs and I have a question about LAN-to-LAN VPNs. The last exercise I practiced was to create a LAN-to-LAN VPN between two Pfsense firewalls, by using IPSEC protocols. I succeeded, with both firewalls in the same network. But I'm wondering if it's possible to do the same thing, with 2 Pfsense firewalls...
0
5942
by: adsilva | last post by:
A Windows Forms form does not have the event Unload, like VB6. What one acts like?

By using Bytes.com and it's services, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

To disable or enable advertisements and analytics tracking please visit the manage ads & tracking page.