468,107 Members | 1,298 Online
Bytes | Developer Community
New Post

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

Post your question to a community of 468,107 developers. It's quick & easy.

MOBILE Emulator. Is ActiveSynk on VS2005 required?

teo
hallo

I'd like to test some .htm and .aspx pages I created time ago
on mobile devices.

I have vs2005 and I'd like to use the emulators offered in vs2005.

Now,
the installation of the MS "ActiveSynk" package is required?
Also, why can't I find it on the vs2005 DVD?

Assuming that "ActiveSynk" is NOT required
(may it is required only for connection with *real* device,
via usb o wi-fi...) in the meanwhile I did some steps
and
- I'm able to see a Smartphone emulator in vs2005,
- I load a 'mytest.aspx' page in vs2005,
- but I'm not able to display the given 'mytest.aspx' page in the emulator

I write in the little IExplorer address bar of the emulator:
http://localhost:1036/mysite/mytest.aspx
but it only displays a "connection" problem message.

Obviously if I go with F5 I can regularly see it in the IExplorer desktop
browser.

Jul 7 '08 #1
2 1998
localhost is always the computer the browser is running on, so your
browser is looking for a web server running in the emulator. use the
real ipaddress of the hosting computer.

-- bruce (sqlwork.com)

teo wrote:
hallo

I'd like to test some .htm and .aspx pages I created time ago
on mobile devices.

I have vs2005 and I'd like to use the emulators offered in vs2005.

Now,
the installation of the MS "ActiveSynk" package is required?
Also, why can't I find it on the vs2005 DVD?

Assuming that "ActiveSynk" is NOT required
(may it is required only for connection with *real* device,
via usb o wi-fi...) in the meanwhile I did some steps
and
- I'm able to see a Smartphone emulator in vs2005,
- I load a 'mytest.aspx' page in vs2005,
- but I'm not able to display the given 'mytest.aspx' page in the emulator

I write in the little IExplorer address bar of the emulator:
http://localhost:1036/mysite/mytest.aspx
but it only displays a "connection" problem message.

Obviously if I go with F5 I can regularly see it in the IExplorer desktop
browser.
Jul 8 '08 #2
teo
On Mon, 07 Jul 2008 21:52:35 -0700, bruce barker <no****@nospam.comwrote:
>localhost is always the computer the browser is running on, so your
browser is looking for a web server running in the emulator. use the
real ipaddress of the hosting computer.
where can i find the real address?
isn't it always 127.0.0.1 , that is localhost?

Also, for my situation is "ActiveSynk" needed?

Jul 8 '08 #3

This discussion thread is closed

Replies have been disabled for this discussion.

Similar topics

2 posts views Thread by Schraalhans Keukenmeester | last post: by
3 posts views Thread by .:.:. igor_sb .:.:. | last post: by
reply views Thread by Al | last post: by
3 posts views Thread by vul | last post: by
4 posts views Thread by mac | last post: by
1 post views Thread by Claudia Fong | last post: by
9 posts views Thread by =?Utf-8?B?RGFuaWVs?= | last post: by
1 post views Thread by Solo | last post: by
By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.