473,378 Members | 1,390 Online
Bytes | Software Development & Data Engineering Community
Post Job

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

Join Bytes to post your question to a community of 473,378 software developers and data experts.

TextBox and Uppercase

I'm a newbie with asp.net
I need to transform a user textbox to uppercase, when typing.
Is this possible?
I read about Ajax Maskedit, but it is only to certain formats, like
dates, etc

Thanks in advance.
Hércules Russano
HRsoft Informática
Rio de Janeiro - Brasil
http://www.hrsoft.com.br
Jun 27 '08 #1
4 12542
just a style command:

<asp:textbox runat="server" style="text-transform:uppercase" />

-- bruce (sqlwork.com)
"Hrsoft" wrote:
I'm a newbie with asp.net
I need to transform a user textbox to uppercase, when typing.
Is this possible?
I read about Ajax Maskedit, but it is only to certain formats, like
dates, etc

Thanks in advance.
Hércules Russano
HRsoft Informática
Rio de Janeiro - Brasil
http://www.hrsoft.com.br
Jun 27 '08 #2
bruce barker explained on 17-6-2008 :
just a style command:

<asp:textbox runat="server" style="text-transform:uppercase" />

-- bruce (sqlwork.com)
This will not *convert* the string to uppercase, it will just *display*
it as uppercase! OK, that's easily fixed with a ".ToUpper()" in
codebehind, when you read the contents of the textbox.

Hans Kesting
>
"Hrsoft" wrote:
>I'm a newbie with asp.net
I need to transform a user textbox to uppercase, when typing.
Is this possible?
I read about Ajax Maskedit, but it is only to certain formats, like
dates, etc

Thanks in advance.
Hércules Russano
HRsoft Informática
Rio de Janeiro - Brasil
http://www.hrsoft.com.br

Jun 27 '08 #3
The results you said you wanted at runtime require using client-side
JavaScript.
"Hans Kesting" <ne*********@spamgourmet.comwrote in message
news:%2****************@TK2MSFTNGP02.phx.gbl...
bruce barker explained on 17-6-2008 :
>just a style command:

<asp:textbox runat="server" style="text-transform:uppercase" />

-- bruce (sqlwork.com)

This will not *convert* the string to uppercase, it will just *display* it
as uppercase! OK, that's easily fixed with a ".ToUpper()" in codebehind,
when you read the contents of the textbox.

Hans Kesting
>>
"Hrsoft" wrote:
>>I'm a newbie with asp.net
I need to transform a user textbox to uppercase, when typing.
Is this possible?
I read about Ajax Maskedit, but it is only to certain formats, like
dates, etc

Thanks in advance.
Hércules Russano
HRsoft Informática
Rio de Janeiro - Brasil
http://www.hrsoft.com.br

Jun 27 '08 #4
to have javascript also convert:

<asp:textbox runat="server"
style="text-transform:uppercase"
onblur="this.value=this.value.toUpperCase();"
/>
-- bruce (sqlwork.com)
"Hans Kesting" wrote:
bruce barker explained on 17-6-2008 :
just a style command:

<asp:textbox runat="server" style="text-transform:uppercase" />

-- bruce (sqlwork.com)

This will not *convert* the string to uppercase, it will just *display*
it as uppercase! OK, that's easily fixed with a ".ToUpper()" in
codebehind, when you read the contents of the textbox.

Hans Kesting

"Hrsoft" wrote:
I'm a newbie with asp.net
I need to transform a user textbox to uppercase, when typing.
Is this possible?
I read about Ajax Maskedit, but it is only to certain formats, like
dates, etc

Thanks in advance.
Hércules Russano
HRsoft Informática
Rio de Janeiro - Brasil
http://www.hrsoft.com.br


Jun 27 '08 #5

This thread has been closed and replies have been disabled. Please start a new discussion.

Similar topics

8
by: MLH | last post by:
I have a textbox on a form into which an alpha-numeric string of data is entered. I wish to force the casual user, who would sometimes use upper case, sometimes not and sometimes MIX the case -...
1
by: Ruby | last post by:
hi... how can I convert user's input in textbox to uppercase, I try to write client-side javascript (onkeypress event), and registered with registeredstartupscript, it worked but there's a delay...
1
by: Beffmans | last post by:
How can I turn the Uppercase mode on in my TextBoxes? ch B. *** Sent via Developersdex http://www.developersdex.com ***
4
by: Tina | last post by:
The web textbox doesn't have a CharacterCasing property as does the forms textbox. Any way cause characters typed in to be Upper case? Thanks, T
7
by: OHM | last post by:
Hi Guys, I wouldnt normally ask for help on this but Im really strapped for time. Does anyone know how I can force characters in a DataGrid cell to uppercase as they are typed. Cheers - OHM
1
by: Randy Fraser | last post by:
Could someone tell me how I can force uppercase characters in a TextBox column in a datagrid? Thanks Randy
5
by: Robert W. | last post by:
I'm trying to setup a mechanism whereby I store a formatting code in the Tag of a textbox. This code might be "UpperCase" or "LowerCase" or "NumericOnly". I've been trying out various code in...
1
by: Newcomsas | last post by:
Hello. I'm trying to solve a little problem with an uppercase function. It looks like this: function uppercase() { key = window.event.keyCode; if ((key 0x60) && (key < 0x7B))...
5
by: Farhan Choudry | last post by:
On a form in excel. A textbox allows the user to enter a password which is validated. However, the validation will only accept lowercase entry for the password. I am looking for a function that...
0
by: Faith0G | last post by:
I am starting a new it consulting business and it's been a while since I setup a new website. Is wordpress still the best web based software for hosting a 5 page website? The webpages will be...
0
isladogs
by: isladogs | last post by:
The next Access Europe User Group meeting will be on Wednesday 3 Apr 2024 starting at 18:00 UK time (6PM UTC+1) and finishing by 19:30 (7.30PM). In this session, we are pleased to welcome former...
0
by: ryjfgjl | last post by:
In our work, we often need to import Excel data into databases (such as MySQL, SQL Server, Oracle) for data analysis and processing. Usually, we use database tools like Navicat or the Excel import...
0
by: taylorcarr | last post by:
A Canon printer is a smart device known for being advanced, efficient, and reliable. It is designed for home, office, and hybrid workspace use and can also be used for a variety of purposes. However,...
0
by: ryjfgjl | last post by:
In our work, we often receive Excel tables with data in the same format. If we want to analyze these data, it can be difficult to analyze them because the data is spread across multiple Excel files...
0
by: emmanuelkatto | last post by:
Hi All, I am Emmanuel katto from Uganda. I want to ask what challenges you've faced while migrating a website to cloud. Please let me know. Thanks! Emmanuel
1
by: nemocccc | last post by:
hello, everyone, I want to develop a software for my android phone for daily needs, any suggestions?
1
by: Sonnysonu | last post by:
This is the data of csv file 1 2 3 1 2 3 1 2 3 1 2 3 2 3 2 3 3 the lengths should be different i have to store the data by column-wise with in the specific length. suppose the i have to...
0
by: Hystou | last post by:
There are some requirements for setting up RAID: 1. The motherboard and BIOS support RAID configuration. 2. The motherboard has 2 or more available SATA protocol SSD/HDD slots (including MSATA, M.2...

By using Bytes.com and it's services, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

To disable or enable advertisements and analytics tracking please visit the manage ads & tracking page.