By using this site, you agree to our updated Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Manage your Cookies Settings.
457,952 Members | 1,593 Online
Bytes IT Community
+ Ask a Question
Need help? Post your question and get tips & solutions from a community of 457,952 IT Pros & Developers. It's quick & easy.

question about login option "remember me next time"

P: n/a
Hi,

When clicking on "remember me" when logging, the user asks for not to have
to log in next time he visits the site.

Now, on one side, i read it is recommended to logout properly (clicking on
'logout') when quiting the site, but then, the user looses the benefit of
the option "remember me next time" and must login next visit.

On the other side, if the user quit the website without logout, at the next
visit he has not to login again.

So, what's the purpose of that option "remember me" if it's recommended to
logout and so loosing its benefit?

Thanks
André
Mar 14 '07 #1
Share this Question
Share on Google+
2 Replies


P: n/a
On Mar 14, 8:42 pm, "André" <a...@dre.tywrote:
Hi,

When clicking on "remember me" when logging, the user asks for not to have
to log in next time he visits the site.

Now, on one side, i read it is recommended to logout properly (clicking on
'logout') when quiting the site, but then, the user looses the benefit of
the option "remember me next time" and must login next visit.

On the other side, if the user quit the website without logout, at the next
visit he has not to login again.

So, what's the purpose of that option "remember me" if it's recommended to
logout and so loosing its benefit?
Selecting "remember me" allows you to avoid having to enter your login
and password when you login again next time. If you are using a home
computer - it's up to you, if you are using a public or shared
computer, you should not use that option because it will enable other
users on this computer to login in your account (because username and
password have been saved as cookies on this computer).

Mar 14 '07 #2

P: n/a
Thanks for the explanation.
"Alexey Smirnov" <al************@gmail.comschreef in bericht
news:11**********************@n59g2000hsh.googlegr oups.com...
On Mar 14, 8:42 pm, "André" <a...@dre.tywrote:
Hi,

When clicking on "remember me" when logging, the user asks for not to have
to log in next time he visits the site.

Now, on one side, i read it is recommended to logout properly (clicking on
'logout') when quiting the site, but then, the user looses the benefit of
the option "remember me next time" and must login next visit.

On the other side, if the user quit the website without logout, at the
next
visit he has not to login again.

So, what's the purpose of that option "remember me" if it's recommended to
logout and so loosing its benefit?
Selecting "remember me" allows you to avoid having to enter your login
and password when you login again next time. If you are using a home
computer - it's up to you, if you are using a public or shared
computer, you should not use that option because it will enable other
users on this computer to login in your account (because username and
password have been saved as cookies on this computer).
Mar 14 '07 #3

This discussion thread is closed

Replies have been disabled for this discussion.