469,319 Members | 1,937 Online
Bytes | Developer Community
New Post

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

Post your question to a community of 469,319 developers. It's quick & easy.

How to work with iis/asp using Visual Studio 2003?

10
hello,

i get timeouts and "could not connect to server" errors when i try to open/create an asp project with vs. im working with xp pro and visual studio 2003, iis version 7 is up and running. i also did the iisreg thing but that doesnt fix it. im guessing there is some config file but I have searched and cant find it, i hope you guys really could help me with this
Oct 24 '08 #1
4 1696
jhardman
3,406 Expert 2GB
You are using Visual studio? I don't think VS can do ASP, certainly my VS2008 can't. Or did you mean ASP.NET? First, make sure you know whether you want to use ASP or ASP.NET, then I would recommend that you try making an ultra-simple "hello world" page with notepad, put it on the wwwroot directory and see if you can browse to it like this: http://localhost/helloworldpage.asp (or .aspx if you are using ASP.NET). Going through those basic trouble-shooting steps will eliminate a lot of the possible errors. After you try that, let me know if you still have problems.

Jared
Oct 27 '08 #2
Barok
10
hello jared,
thanks for your response, but i finally gave up and installed vs2005. this solved all the problems!
i lost almost a full day of potential working time trying to get this thing working. the frustration was too much for me. however, im not very happy with this solution, im still looking for a better solution. any inputs will be welcome.

ja, sry, im talking about asp.net.
the webserver was running.i've put some files in the wwwroot folder, i tried with .aspx and .html and everything goes as expected, but vs2003 could not connect to the server.

regards
Oct 28 '08 #3
iam_clint
1,208 Expert 1GB
front page extensions configured on iis?
I'm using asp.net and vs2008 and I love it... I was previously using asp classic on vs6
Oct 28 '08 #4
jhardman
3,406 Expert 2GB
front page extensions configured on iis?
I'm using asp.net and vs2008 and I love it... I was previously using asp classic on vs6
I never write classic ASP in anything but notepad, and I still use notepad half the time when I am just writing .NET web services. The rest of my projects I switch back and forth between VS and VWD, both 2008 editions. There are still things I feel I need to switch to "notepad mode" to fix or troubleshoot, maybe that means I'm a relic.

Anyway, glad you got it solved, sorry you lost some time. Feel free to come back here for any other questions.

Jared
Oct 28 '08 #5

Post your reply

Sign in to post your reply or Sign up for a free account.

Similar topics

reply views Thread by Ricardo Dias Marques | last post: by
1 post views Thread by Daniel A. Thomas | last post: by
1 post views Thread by Alex VanderWoude | last post: by
5 posts views Thread by tindog | last post: by
7 posts views Thread by simon | last post: by
2 posts views Thread by Herfried K. Wagner [MVP] | last post: by
1 post views Thread by CARIGAR | last post: by
reply views Thread by zhoujie | last post: by
reply views Thread by suresh191 | last post: by
reply views Thread by harlem98 | last post: by
By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.