469,306 Members | 2,512 Online
Bytes | Developer Community
New Post

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

Post your question to a community of 469,306 developers. It's quick & easy.

Create database - How come this code doesn't work?

I am trying to run this code on a Windows 2003 Server.
I have ASP enabled. Any idea why it doesn't work?
<%
newDB = "new.mdb"
newDB = "Provider=Microsoft.Jet.OLEDB.4.0;Data Source=" & newDB

Set cat = CreateObject("ADOX.Catalog")
cat.Create newDB
Set conn = CreateObject("ADODB.Connection")
conn.Open newDB

' create tables, etc...
%>
Jul 19 '05 #1
5 1382
What on earth does "doesn't work" mean?

--
http://www.aspfaq.com/
(Reverse address to reply.)


"michaaal" <re******@verizon.net> wrote in message
news:O#**************@tk2msftngp13.phx.gbl...
I am trying to run this code on a Windows 2003 Server.
I have ASP enabled. Any idea why it doesn't work?
<%
newDB = "new.mdb"
newDB = "Provider=Microsoft.Jet.OLEDB.4.0;Data Source=" & newDB

Set cat = CreateObject("ADOX.Catalog")
cat.Create newDB
Set conn = CreateObject("ADODB.Connection")
conn.Open newDB

' create tables, etc...
%>

Jul 19 '05 #2
Aaron [SQL Server MVP] wrote on 01 jul 2004 in
microsoft.public.inetserver.asp.general:
What on earth does "doesn't work" mean?


Well, Aaron,
after a long day of remembering the years
that I did work more than fulltime,
I can understand that people say that of me.

OT ;-}
--
Evertjan.
The Netherlands.
(Please change the x'es to dots in my emailaddress)
Jul 19 '05 #3
> What on earth does "doesn't work" mean?

Aaron, sorry for not getting specific.

I am trying to use this code to dynamically create an MS Access database
on my Win2003 web server. I get something to the effect of "page cannot
be displayed".

Could you try the code on your server possibly? Or tell me a better way to
dynamically create a MS Access database?
Jul 19 '05 #4
> on my Win2003 web server. I get something to the effect of "page cannot
be displayed".


Now, find out the real error.
http://www.aspfaq.com/2109
http://www.aspfaq.com/2476

--
http://www.aspfaq.com/
(Reverse address to reply.)
Jul 19 '05 #5
michaaal wrote:
What on earth does "doesn't work" mean?


Aaron, sorry for not getting specific.

I am trying to use this code to dynamically create an MS Access
database on my Win2003 web server. I get something to the effect of
"page cannot be displayed".

Could you try the code on your server possibly? Or tell me a better
way to dynamically create a MS Access database?


We need to see the real error message
(http://www.aspfaq.com/show.asp?id=2109), although I can practically
guarantee that it's a permissions issue.

Bob Barrows

--
Microsoft MVP - ASP/ASP.NET
Please reply to the newsgroup. This email account is my spam trap so I
don't check it very often. If you must reply off-line, then remove the
"NO SPAM"
Jul 19 '05 #6

This discussion thread is closed

Replies have been disabled for this discussion.

Similar topics

6 posts views Thread by Frank Wilson | last post: by
2 posts views Thread by Markus Prediger | last post: by
16 posts views Thread by Mich | last post: by
15 posts views Thread by lxyone | last post: by
3 posts views Thread by Mark A | last post: by
1 post views Thread by CARIGAR | last post: by
reply views Thread by suresh191 | last post: by
reply views Thread by harlem98 | last post: by
By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.