469,610 Members | 1,620 Online
Bytes | Developer Community
New Post

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

Post your question to a community of 469,610 developers. It's quick & easy.

Is Interdev needed for ASP?

I've got the latest Visual Studio and have been doing ASP.NET websites.
Now I want to do a traditional ASP (not .NET) website.

I gather that these are done with Visual Interdev. Is Visual Studio 7
suitable for doing an ASP website?

I'm a little confused about where Visual Interdev fit in. Was it a part
of Visual Studio or was it a standalone product?

Is any ASP functionality lost or gained in VS 7 (.NET aside)?

Is VS 7 a suitable tool for ASP?

Is anyone that's maintaining an ASP website using VS 7 for this
purpose? If not then why?

Thanks for your help.
Jul 19 '05 #1
21 2610
> I've got the latest Visual Studio and have been doing ASP.NET websites.
Now I want to do a traditional ASP (not .NET) website.

I gather that these are done with Visual Interdev. Is Visual Studio 7
suitable for doing an ASP website?
Sure, but not necessary. I use Visual Studio.NET to modify ASP pages, but
not to create applications, debug, use any of the wizards, etc. I use it
for the intellisense and color coding, which some other editors can do as
well. Otherwise, I could get my work done just as easily in notepad.
I'm a little confused about where Visual Interdev fit in. Was it a part
of Visual Studio or was it a standalone product?


Both.
Jul 19 '05 #2
I'm just using a mix of Notepad, and my own custom built Mercury Editor but
then, I don't do it professionally ;o)

--
Regards

Steven Burn
Ur I.T. Mate Group CEO
www.it-mate.co.uk

Disclaimer:
I know I'm probably wrong, I just like taking part :o)
Bruce W...1 <br***@noDirectEmail.com> wrote in message
news:3F***************@noDirectEmail.com...
I've got the latest Visual Studio and have been doing ASP.NET websites.
Now I want to do a traditional ASP (not .NET) website.

I gather that these are done with Visual Interdev. Is Visual Studio 7
suitable for doing an ASP website?

I'm a little confused about where Visual Interdev fit in. Was it a part
of Visual Studio or was it a standalone product?

Is any ASP functionality lost or gained in VS 7 (.NET aside)?

Is VS 7 a suitable tool for ASP?

Is anyone that's maintaining an ASP website using VS 7 for this
purpose? If not then why?

Thanks for your help.

Jul 19 '05 #3
"Bruce W...1" <br***@noDirectEmail.com> wrote in message
news:3F***************@noDirectEmail.com...
I've got the latest Visual Studio and have been doing ASP.NET websites.
Now I want to do a traditional ASP (not .NET) website.

I gather that these are done with Visual Interdev. Is Visual Studio 7
suitable for doing an ASP website?
You can write ASP with any text editor, including Notepad. You don't need
Visual Interdev, but that development environment will provide debugging
tools that will make developing ASP easier (in some cases). Personally, I
use Macromedia Homesite for all of my ASP/HTML development. I moved away
from Visual Interdev when I found it changing my code. Homesite doesn't
have the debugging features of Interdev, but I'd rather rely on my own wits
to debug if the alternative is using an editor that thinks it knows better
than me what I want my code to look like.
I'm a little confused about where Visual Interdev fit in. Was it a part
of Visual Studio or was it a standalone product?
Both I believe.
Is any ASP functionality lost or gained in VS 7 (.NET aside)?
ASP is a platform that runs on the server (IIS, etc.). VS 7 is a
development environment. There may be different debugging tools or options
in that development environment, but as far as ASP goes you can write the
exact same code in one development environment that you could in another.
Is VS 7 a suitable tool for ASP?
I presume you mean for writing ASP code? Unfortunately, I've not used 7.
But 6 had the nasty side effect of changing my code, sometimes deleting
important pieces. So I move away from Interdev.
Is anyone that's maintaining an ASP website using VS 7 for this
purpose? If not then why?


See my comments above. :)
Regards,
Peter Foti
Jul 19 '05 #4
Peter Foti wrote:
development. I moved away from Visual Interdev when I found it
changing my code.


This can be prevented. I do not have any problems with code changing with
VID.

Bob Barrows

--
Microsoft MVP -- ASP/ASP.NET
Please reply to the newsgroup. The email account listed in my From
header is my spam trap, so I don't check it very often. You will get a
quicker response by posting to the newsgroup.
Jul 19 '05 #5
ljb
How? I've found VId quite troublesome with embedded objects/OCX controls. It
always tries to write code for every property of the object even when their
default values are exactly what I want.

"Bob Barrows" <re******@NOyahoo.SPAMcom> wrote in message
news:Ow*************@TK2MSFTNGP11.phx.gbl...
Peter Foti wrote:
development. I moved away from Visual Interdev when I found it
changing my code.


This can be prevented. I do not have any problems with code changing with
VID.

Bob Barrows

--
Microsoft MVP -- ASP/ASP.NET
Please reply to the newsgroup. The email account listed in my From
header is my spam trap, so I don't check it very often. You will get a
quicker response by posting to the newsgroup.

Jul 19 '05 #6
> This can be prevented.

Some, yes, but not all. I use Visual Studio.Net 2003. My observations are
as follows. You can turn off many of the "auto formatting" options in Tools
/ Options / Text Editor / HTML/XML / Format... however there are still some
things that slip through, e.g. create this text:

<table border=1>
</table>

Highight it, Ctrl+C, and then Ctrl+V. You get this:

<table border=1 ID="Table1">
</table>

Ctrl+V again, you get this:

<table border=1 ID="Table2">
</table>

So, it's not really changing the code, but it adds ID attributes to many
elements ... and this can bloat the code. I'm just careful to not rely too
much on copy+paste, and if I do have to rely on it (and care about every
byte), I'm careful to go back and play clean-up.
Jul 19 '05 #7
Aaron Bertrand [MVP] wrote:
This can be prevented.


Some, yes, but not all. I use Visual Studio.Net 2003. My
observations are as follows. You can turn off many of the "auto
formatting" options in Tools / Options / Text Editor / HTML/XML /
Format... however there are still some things that slip through, e.g.
create this text:

<table border=1>
</table>

Highight it, Ctrl+C, and then Ctrl+V. You get this:

<table border=1 ID="Table1">
</table>

Ctrl+V again, you get this:

<table border=1 ID="Table2">
</table>

So, it's not really changing the code, but it adds ID attributes to
many elements ... and this can bloat the code. I'm just careful to
not rely too much on copy+paste, and if I do have to rely on it (and
care about every byte), I'm careful to go back and play clean-up.

Ah. Must be a "feature" of VS.Net. I'm still using VS6, and this reformat
does not occur. The only time VS6 adds attributes is when I use the Toolbox
to create elements.

Bob
Jul 19 '05 #8
Hmm, I've never experienced this. I rarely use OCX controls. The fewer
things that need to be installed on the client, the better.

Back in my early days, when I was trying to use the RDS data source, it
drove me crazy every time I switched to Design view by popping up the
"error" warning me that the control could not be rendered visually ...
duhhh!

Other than that ... wait! We use the Crystal ActiveX Viewer quite
extensively. I never notice VID setting all the properties for me. Perhaps
it's because I usually copy and paste the object code from one page to
another.

Are you saying that when you write your own object that, that VID adds PARAM
tags that you did not set? That does not happen to me. Let me try it ....

Sure, when I click and drag an ActiveX control from the toolbar into my
page, all the PARAM tags for the object are pasted as well as the object
tag. But I can delete them all, save, close the page, and reopen it, and VID
does not put the "missing" tags back in. Does it do that to you?

Bob Barrows

--
Microsoft MVP - ASP/ASP.NET
Please reply to the newsgroup. This email account is my spam trap so I don't
check it very often. If you must reply off-line, then remove the "NO SPAM"

"ljb" <.> wrote in message news:%2****************@TK2MSFTNGP09.phx.gbl...
How? I've found VId quite troublesome with embedded objects/OCX controls. It always tries to write code for every property of the object even when their default values are exactly what I want.

"Bob Barrows" <re******@NOyahoo.SPAMcom> wrote in message
news:Ow*************@TK2MSFTNGP11.phx.gbl...
Peter Foti wrote:
development. I moved away from Visual Interdev when I found it
changing my code.


This can be prevented. I do not have any problems with code changing with VID.

Bob Barrows

--
Microsoft MVP -- ASP/ASP.NET
Please reply to the newsgroup. The email account listed in my From
header is my spam trap, so I don't check it very often. You will get a
quicker response by posting to the newsgroup.


Jul 19 '05 #9

"Bruce W...1" <br***@noDirectEmail.com> wrote in message
news:3F***************@noDirectEmail.com...
I've got the latest Visual Studio and have been doing ASP.NET websites.
Now I want to do a traditional ASP (not .NET) website.

I gather that these are done with Visual Interdev. Is Visual Studio 7
suitable for doing an ASP website?

I'm a little confused about where Visual Interdev fit in. Was it a part
of Visual Studio or was it a standalone product?

Is any ASP functionality lost or gained in VS 7 (.NET aside)?

Is VS 7 a suitable tool for ASP?

Is anyone that's maintaining an ASP website using VS 7 for this
purpose? If not then why?

Thanks for your help.

You can harvest grain with a knife, but I would use a combine harvester.

You can make a ASP app with notepad, but I would use InterDev
Jul 19 '05 #10

"Aaron Bertrand [MVP]" <aa***@TRASHaspfaq.com> wrote in message
news:ut****************@TK2MSFTNGP11.phx.gbl...
This can be prevented.
Some, yes, but not all. I use Visual Studio.Net 2003. My observations

are as follows. You can turn off many of the "auto formatting" options in Tools / Options / Text Editor / HTML/XML / Format... however there are still some things that slip through, e.g. create this text:

<table border=1>
</table>

Highight it, Ctrl+C, and then Ctrl+V. You get this:

<table border=1 ID="Table1">
</table>

Ctrl+V again, you get this:

<table border=1 ID="Table2">
</table>

dont work for me, are you talk9ing about VID6

So, it's not really changing the code, but it adds ID attributes to many
elements ... and this can bloat the code. I'm just careful to not rely too much on copy+paste, and if I do have to rely on it (and care about every
byte), I'm careful to go back and play clean-up.

Jul 19 '05 #11

"Bob Barrows" <re******@NOyahoo.SPAMcom> wrote in message
news:%2***************@TK2MSFTNGP11.phx.gbl...
Aaron Bertrand [MVP] wrote:
This can be prevented.
Some, yes, but not all. I use Visual Studio.Net 2003. My
observations are as follows. You can turn off many of the "auto
formatting" options in Tools / Options / Text Editor / HTML/XML /
Format... however there are still some things that slip through, e.g.
create this text:

<table border=1>
</table>

Highight it, Ctrl+C, and then Ctrl+V. You get this:

<table border=1 ID="Table1">
</table>

Ctrl+V again, you get this:

<table border=1 ID="Table2">
</table>

So, it's not really changing the code, but it adds ID attributes to
many elements ... and this can bloat the code. I'm just careful to
not rely too much on copy+paste, and if I do have to rely on it (and
care about every byte), I'm careful to go back and play clean-up.

Ah. Must be a "feature" of VS.Net. I'm still using VS6, and this reformat
does not occur. The only time VS6 adds attributes is when I use the

Toolbox to create elements.

Same here and it is a good featcher

Bob

Jul 19 '05 #12

"ljb" <.> wrote in message news:%2****************@TK2MSFTNGP09.phx.gbl...
How? I've found VId quite troublesome with embedded objects/OCX controls. It always tries to write code for every property of the object even when their default values are exactly what I want.
One can only assume you think it is easier to type out the whole OCX code as
well as its Class ID(room for error) rather than delete the lines you don't
want?

"Bob Barrows" <re******@NOyahoo.SPAMcom> wrote in message
news:Ow*************@TK2MSFTNGP11.phx.gbl...
Peter Foti wrote:
development. I moved away from Visual Interdev when I found it
changing my code.


This can be prevented. I do not have any problems with code changing with VID.

Bob Barrows

--
Microsoft MVP -- ASP/ASP.NET
Please reply to the newsgroup. The email account listed in my From
header is my spam trap, so I don't check it very often. You will get a
quicker response by posting to the newsgroup.


Jul 19 '05 #13

"Mosley Jones III" <mo****@info.gov.mars> wrote in message
news:Ol**************@TK2MSFTNGP12.phx.gbl...
You can harvest grain with a knife, but I would use a combine harvester.

You can make a ASP app with notepad, but I would use InterDev


Or you can go in between and use something like Textpad that will do all the
syntax highlighting that you define and what not, yet still give you total
control, as it will not try to think for you. I personally like to do my
own programming instead of having a program do it for me. I'm partional to
International Harvester combines, too. And to Hell with Navistar.

Ray at home
Jul 19 '05 #14

"Ray at <%=sLocation%>" <myfirstname at lane 34 . komm> wrote in message
news:em*************@TK2MSFTNGP10.phx.gbl...

"Mosley Jones III" <mo****@info.gov.mars> wrote in message
news:Ol**************@TK2MSFTNGP12.phx.gbl...
You can harvest grain with a knife, but I would use a combine harvester.

You can make a ASP app with notepad, but I would use InterDev
Or you can go in between and use something like Textpad that will do all

the syntax highlighting that you define and what not, yet still give you total
control, as it will not try to think for you. I personally like to do my
own programming instead of having a program do it for me. I'm partional to International Harvester combines, too. And to Hell with Navistar.

Ray at home


haha

There are good feature I use without using all the ocx's and script library
stuff, like intellisence ad the sql interface. and a few others.
Jul 19 '05 #15
ljb
The only OCX I use is AutoCAD's Whip v4 control. I could paste the class ID
and set a few params, switch to design view, back to source view and end up
having 15 or so params all set ="". I can delete them, do the same sequence
again and they all come back. I've since moved the OCX and all related code
into a #include which avoids the problem.

"Mosley Jones III" <mo****@info.gov.mars> wrote in message
news:eK**************@TK2MSFTNGP12.phx.gbl...

"ljb" <.> wrote in message news:%2****************@TK2MSFTNGP09.phx.gbl...
How? I've found VId quite troublesome with embedded objects/OCX controls.
It
always tries to write code for every property of the object even when their
default values are exactly what I want.


One can only assume you think it is easier to type out the whole OCX code

as well as its Class ID(room for error) rather than delete the lines you don't want?

"Bob Barrows" <re******@NOyahoo.SPAMcom> wrote in message
news:Ow*************@TK2MSFTNGP11.phx.gbl...
Peter Foti wrote:
> development. I moved away from Visual Interdev when I found it
> changing my code.

This can be prevented. I do not have any problems with code changing

with VID.

Bob Barrows

--
Microsoft MVP -- ASP/ASP.NET
Please reply to the newsgroup. The email account listed in my From
header is my spam trap, so I don't check it very often. You will get a
quicker response by posting to the newsgroup.



Jul 19 '05 #16
>I gather that these are done with Visual Interdev. Is Visual Studio 7
suitable for doing an ASP website?
Works fine.
I'm a little confused about where Visual Interdev fit in. Was it a part
of Visual Studio or was it a standalone product?
It was stand alone. Basically forget Interdev as a name of a product,
and think Visual Studio.
Is any ASP functionality lost or gained in VS 7 (.NET aside)?
VS doesn't allow or deny any functionality in anything. It's a
development environment and coding tool. Notepad allows exactly the
same ASP functionality.
Is VS 7 a suitable tool for ASP?
You asked this once, so this time I'll say no. Just to keep you
wondering.
Is anyone that's maintaining an ASP website using VS 7 for this
purpose? If not then why?


I'me sure many people are. I don't. Why? Because VS.NET is the
current version, and I'm moving to .NET. But most of my ASP work is
still done using text editors such as Homesite simply because after
using them for so long I'm comfortable with them. I still have a
tendency to open an ASP script on the server in Notepad if it needs a
minor correction.

Best advice:

Try them all. Most IDE's have a trial version, work with them to see
what is comfortable *for you*. Guaranteed someone will think your
choice is the biggest piece of crap to come along in this decade, and
someone else will think it was delivered by God to us mere mortals as
a reward for some superhuman sacrifice.

Jeff
Jul 19 '05 #17
On Fri, 31 Oct 2003 17:29:25 -0500, "Aaron Bertrand [MVP]"
<aa***@TRASHaspfaq.com> wrote:
This can be prevented.


Some, yes, but not all. I use Visual Studio.Net 2003. My observations are
as follows. You can turn off many of the "auto formatting" options in Tools
/ Options / Text Editor / HTML/XML / Format... however there are still some
things that slip through, e.g. create this text:

<table border=1>
</table>

Highight it, Ctrl+C, and then Ctrl+V. You get this:

<table border=1 ID="Table1">
</table>

Ctrl+V again, you get this:

<table border=1 ID="Table2">
</table>

So, it's not really changing the code, but it adds ID attributes to many
elements ... and this can bloat the code. I'm just careful to not rely too
much on copy+paste, and if I do have to rely on it (and care about every
byte), I'm careful to go back and play clean-up.


One of my pet peeves in VS.NET 2003. Especially since I'm a big cut
and paste coder, and I absolutely despise a development environment
screwing with my work without asking. And no, it really hasn't
affected the end result. But when I'm wrestling with an error I can't
track down, it's annoying enough to put me over the edge.

Most programs have idiosyncracies like this you learn to live with.
Or that annoy you so much you choose a different product.

Jeff
Jul 19 '05 #18
"Jeff Cochran" <jc*************@naplesgov.com> wrote in message
news:3f****************@msnews.microsoft.com...
Most programs have idiosyncracies like this you learn to live with.
Or that annoy you so much you choose a different product.


Homesite doesn't try to add any code. :)

Peter
Jul 19 '05 #19
On Mon, 3 Nov 2003 10:02:07 -0500, "Peter Foti"
<pe****@systolicnetworks.com> wrote:
"Jeff Cochran" <jc*************@naplesgov.com> wrote in message
news:3f****************@msnews.microsoft.com...
Most programs have idiosyncracies like this you learn to live with.
Or that annoy you so much you choose a different product.


Homesite doesn't try to add any code. :)


Sure it does. Type a slash and it escapes it with a second slash. (My
annoying feature of the morning...) Use any of the toolbars and you'll
get attributes inserted you may not have wanted. Not as bad as
FrontPage 98 mangling a simple page, but still an idiosyncracy to deal
with.

But the only way to match any development tool to your use is to try
it. Unless your employer mandates a tool, what tool you use to get
the job done is a personal choice.

Jeff
Jul 19 '05 #20
"Jeff Cochran" <jc*************@naplesgov.com> wrote in message
news:3f****************@msnews.microsoft.com...
On Mon, 3 Nov 2003 10:02:07 -0500, "Peter Foti"
<pe****@systolicnetworks.com> wrote:
"Jeff Cochran" <jc*************@naplesgov.com> wrote in message
news:3f****************@msnews.microsoft.com...
Most programs have idiosyncracies like this you learn to live with.
Or that annoy you so much you choose a different product.
Homesite doesn't try to add any code. :)


Sure it does. Type a slash and it escapes it with a second slash. (My
annoying feature of the morning...)


Sorry, not on my system it doesn't.
Use any of the toolbars and you'll
get attributes inserted you may not have wanted. Not as bad as
FrontPage 98 mangling a simple page, but still an idiosyncracy to deal
with.


Can you give an example of what you mean? I don't seem to have this issue.
When I click on one of the toolbar items, it asks me what I want for the
attribute values. The only time it seems to insert an attribute that I gave
an empty value for is when the attribute is required (for example, inserting
an image from the toolbar will always include the required alt attribute).

-Peter
Jul 19 '05 #21
You should have no problems designin ASP pages using VS.NET.

It should not give a hard time to you.

Keyur Shah
*** Sent via Developersdex http://www.developersdex.com ***
Don't just participate in USENET...get rewarded for it!
Jul 19 '05 #22

This discussion thread is closed

Replies have been disabled for this discussion.

Similar topics

2 posts views Thread by Alan | last post: by
8 posts views Thread by James Baker | last post: by
4 posts views Thread by margaret | last post: by
3 posts views Thread by Wanjun Yu | last post: by
8 posts views Thread by QZ | last post: by
reply views Thread by devrayhaan | last post: by
reply views Thread by gheharukoh7 | last post: by
By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.