468,490 Members | 2,603 Online
Bytes | Developer Community
New Post

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

Post your question to a community of 468,490 developers. It's quick & easy.

Removing the New Database and Open Database options from the OfficeButton

I have an .accde file with custom ribbons and with "Allow Full Menus"
set to False, but the Office Button menu still gives the user the
ability to create a new Access database, or -- much worse -- open an
existing one.

My application is on a terminal server and I'm trying to plug all the
holes so the user can't do anything but use my application. But right
now if the user goes to the Office Button and clicks "Open", he can
navigate to the back-end of my application and use/change/delete the
tables. Even if I use Access User Level Security (and I am), since the
user is logged into the MDW file, he can do anything I've given him
permission to do -- add records, delete records, etc. -- without any
of the data validation, date stamping and logging I've programmed into
my forms.

Help!
Jul 1 '08 #1
8 2358
ARC
Under the office menu code, you should be able to hide it as follows:

<officeMenu>
<button idMso="FileOpenDatabase" visible="false"/>
</officeMenu>
Hope this helps,

Andy


"evenlater" <ev*******@gmail.comwrote in message
news:65**********************************@i76g2000 hsf.googlegroups.com...
>I have an .accde file with custom ribbons and with "Allow Full Menus"
set to False, but the Office Button menu still gives the user the
ability to create a new Access database, or -- much worse -- open an
existing one.

My application is on a terminal server and I'm trying to plug all the
holes so the user can't do anything but use my application. But right
now if the user goes to the Office Button and clicks "Open", he can
navigate to the back-end of my application and use/change/delete the
tables. Even if I use Access User Level Security (and I am), since the
user is logged into the MDW file, he can do anything I've given him
permission to do -- add records, delete records, etc. -- without any
of the data validation, date stamping and logging I've programmed into
my forms.

Help!
Jul 2 '08 #2
That does help, but where do you put that code? In the ribbon XML? And
if so, at what point?
Thanks!

On Jul 2, 10:44 am, "ARC" <PCES...@PCESoft.invalidwrote:
Under the office menu code, you should be able to hide it as follows:

<officeMenu>
<button idMso="FileOpenDatabase" visible="false"/>
</officeMenu>

Hope this helps,

Andy


Jul 2 '08 #3
ARC
It's right at the beginning:

<customUI xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/office/2006/01/customui">
<ribbon startFromScratch="true"<button idMso="FileOpenDatabase"
visible="false"/>
<officeMenu...........


"evenlater" <ev*******@gmail.comwrote in message
news:74**********************************@k30g2000 hse.googlegroups.com...
That does help, but where do you put that code? In the ribbon XML? And
if so, at what point?
Thanks!

On Jul 2, 10:44 am, "ARC" <PCES...@PCESoft.invalidwrote:
>Under the office menu code, you should be able to hide it as follows:

<officeMenu>
<button idMso="FileOpenDatabase" visible="false"/>
</officeMenu>

Hope this helps,

Andy


Jul 2 '08 #4
I've added the code just below the "startFromScratch" line, but it's
still not working. I'm not sure if the fact that I wrote the original
ribbon code with the IDBE Ribbon Creator is part of the problem.
Here's what I've got... can you see what I'm missing here?

<!-- Created with IDBE Ribbon Creator (Version: 1.1017) -->
<!-- http://www.RibbonCreator.com -->
<!-- http://www.RibbonCreator.de -->
<customUI xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/office/2006/01/customui"
onLoad="OnRibbonLoad" loadImage="LoadImages">
<commands>
<command idMso="Help" enabled="true"/>
<command idMso="WindowClose" enabled="true"/>
<command idMso="WindowRestore" enabled="true"/>
<command idMso="WindowMinimize" enabled="true"/>
</commands>
<ribbon startFromScratch="true">
<officeMenu>
<button idMso="FileNewDatabase" visible="false"/>
<button idMso="FileOpenDatabase" visible="false/>
<splitButton idMso="FileSaveAsMenuAccess" visible="false" />
</officeMenu>
<tabs>
<tab id="tab0" label="Home">
<group idMso="GroupWindowAccess" >
</group>
</tab>
</tabs>
</ribbon>
</customUI>
Jul 2 '08 #5
ARC
Try changing to:

<customUI xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/office/2006/01/customui"
onLoad="OnRibbonLoad" <ribbon startFromScratch="true">
<officeMenu>
<button idMso="FileNewDatabase" visible="false"/>
<button idMso="FileOpenDatabase" visible="false/>
<splitButton idMso="FileSaveAsMenuAccess" visible="false" />
</officeMenu>
<tabs>
<tab id="tab0" label="Home">
<group idMso="GroupWindowAccess" >
</group>
</tab>
</tabs>
</ribbon>
</customUI>

"evenlater" <ev*******@gmail.comwrote in message
news:15**********************************@j22g2000 hsf.googlegroups.com...
I've added the code just below the "startFromScratch" line, but it's
still not working. I'm not sure if the fact that I wrote the original
ribbon code with the IDBE Ribbon Creator is part of the problem.
Here's what I've got... can you see what I'm missing here?

<!-- Created with IDBE Ribbon Creator (Version: 1.1017) -->
<!-- http://www.RibbonCreator.com -->
<!-- http://www.RibbonCreator.de -->
<customUI xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/office/2006/01/customui"
onLoad="OnRibbonLoad" loadImage="LoadImages">
<commands>
<command idMso="Help" enabled="true"/>
<command idMso="WindowClose" enabled="true"/>
<command idMso="WindowRestore" enabled="true"/>
<command idMso="WindowMinimize" enabled="true"/>
</commands>
<ribbon startFromScratch="true">
<officeMenu>
<button idMso="FileNewDatabase" visible="false"/>
<button idMso="FileOpenDatabase" visible="false/>
<splitButton idMso="FileSaveAsMenuAccess" visible="false" />
</officeMenu>
<tabs>
<tab id="tab0" label="Home">
<group idMso="GroupWindowAccess" >
</group>
</tab>
</tabs>
</ribbon>
</customUI>
Jul 2 '08 #6
Thanks, but it's still not working. I get the default ribbons/office
button menu.
On Jul 2, 6:03 pm, "ARC" <PCES...@PCESoft.invalidwrote:
Try changing to:

<customUI xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/office/2006/01/customui"
onLoad="OnRibbonLoad" <ribbon startFromScratch="true">
<officeMenu>
<button idMso="FileNewDatabase" visible="false"/>
<button idMso="FileOpenDatabase" visible="false/>
<splitButton idMso="FileSaveAsMenuAccess" visible="false" />
</officeMenu>
<tabs>
<tab id="tab0" label="Home">
<group idMso="GroupWindowAccess" >
</group>
</tab>
</tabs>
</ribbon>
</customUI>

"evenlater" <evanca...@gmail.comwrote in message

news:15**********************************@j22g2000 hsf.googlegroups.com...
I've added the code just below the "startFromScratch" line, but it's
still not working. I'm not sure if the fact that I wrote the original
ribbon code with the IDBE Ribbon Creator is part of the problem.
Here's what I've got... can you see what I'm missing here?
<!-- Created with IDBE Ribbon Creator (Version: 1.1017) -->
<!-- http://www.RibbonCreator.com -->
<!-- http://www.RibbonCreator.de -->
<customUI xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/office/2006/01/customui"
onLoad="OnRibbonLoad" loadImage="LoadImages">
<commands>
<command idMso="Help" enabled="true"/>
<command idMso="WindowClose" enabled="true"/>
<command idMso="WindowRestore" enabled="true"/>
<command idMso="WindowMinimize" enabled="true"/>
</commands>
<ribbon startFromScratch="true">
<officeMenu>
<button idMso="FileNewDatabase" visible="false"/>
<button idMso="FileOpenDatabase" visible="false/>
<splitButton idMso="FileSaveAsMenuAccess" visible="false" />
</officeMenu>
<tabs>
<tab id="tab0" label="Home">
<group idMso="GroupWindowAccess" >
</group>
</tab>
</tabs>
</ribbon>
</customUI>
Jul 3 '08 #7
ARC
That usually happens if there's an error in the ribbon code. Make sure you
have, under the office button, access options, Advanced, "show add-in user
interface errors". With this checked, you will see if there are any error's
in your ribbon. If there's even one error, the ribbon will not show any of
your customizations.

In the list of save commands, I'm not seeing this one:
="FileSaveAsMenuAccess". You might want to get rid of that line entirely.

Andy
"evenlater" <ev*******@gmail.comwrote in message
news:22**********************************@y21g2000 hsf.googlegroups.com...
Thanks, but it's still not working. I get the default ribbons/office
button menu.
On Jul 2, 6:03 pm, "ARC" <PCES...@PCESoft.invalidwrote:
>Try changing to:

<customUI xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/office/2006/01/customui"
onLoad="OnRibbonLoad" <ribbon startFromScratch="true">
<officeMenu>
<button idMso="FileNewDatabase" visible="false"/>
<button idMso="FileOpenDatabase" visible="false/>
<splitButton idMso="FileSaveAsMenuAccess" visible="false" />
</officeMenu>
<tabs>
<tab id="tab0" label="Home">
<group idMso="GroupWindowAccess" >
</group>
</tab>
</tabs>
</ribbon>
</customUI>

"evenlater" <evanca...@gmail.comwrote in message

news:15**********************************@j22g200 0hsf.googlegroups.com...
I've added the code just below the "startFromScratch" line, but it's
still not working. I'm not sure if the fact that I wrote the original
ribbon code with the IDBE Ribbon Creator is part of the problem.
Here's what I've got... can you see what I'm missing here?
<!-- Created with IDBE Ribbon Creator (Version: 1.1017) -->
<!-- http://www.RibbonCreator.com -->
<!-- http://www.RibbonCreator.de -->
<customUI xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/office/2006/01/customui"
onLoad="OnRibbonLoad" loadImage="LoadImages">
<commands>
<command idMso="Help" enabled="true"/>
<command idMso="WindowClose" enabled="true"/>
<command idMso="WindowRestore" enabled="true"/>
<command idMso="WindowMinimize" enabled="true"/>
</commands>
<ribbon startFromScratch="true">
<officeMenu>
<button idMso="FileNewDatabase" visible="false"/>
<button idMso="FileOpenDatabase" visible="false/>
<splitButton idMso="FileSaveAsMenuAccess" visible="false" />
</officeMenu>
<tabs>
<tab id="tab0" label="Home">
<group idMso="GroupWindowAccess" >
</group>
</tab>
</tabs>
</ribbon>
</customUI>
Jul 3 '08 #8
Found the typo. I was missing a quotation mark at the end of the word
false on one line:
<button idMso="FileOpenDatabase" visible="false/>

Now my next question is what the syntax is to lose the Bluetooth
button and the Recent Documents section?
Jul 3 '08 #9

This discussion thread is closed

Replies have been disabled for this discussion.

Similar topics

2 posts views Thread by Massimiliano Campagnoli | last post: by
1 post views Thread by xmp333 | last post: by
4 posts views Thread by visionstate | last post: by
25 posts views Thread by zmickle | last post: by
reply views Thread by NPC403 | last post: by
reply views Thread by theflame83 | last post: by
By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.