467,132 Members | 1,167 Online
Bytes | Developer Community
Ask Question

Home New Posts Topics Members FAQ

Post your question to a community of 467,132 developers. It's quick & easy.

Copying a custom menu bar

I have a form that has its own custom menu bar in Access 2000. I'd like to
make a copy of the menu bar and use it with another form. How can I do this?
Thanks.
Nov 3 '07 #1
  • viewed: 2211
Share:
6 Replies
On Fri, 2 Nov 2007 22:39:55 -0500, "Neil" <no****@nospam.netwrote:

Set the MenuBar property of that other form to the same value.
MenuBars are a global resource.

-Tom.

>I have a form that has its own custom menu bar in Access 2000. I'd like to
make a copy of the menu bar and use it with another form. How can I do this?
Thanks.
Nov 3 '07 #2
"Neil" <no****@nospam.netwrote in message
news:y4****************@nlpi070.nbdc.sbc.com...
>I have a form that has its own custom menu bar in Access 2000. I'd like to
make a copy of the menu bar and use it with another form. How can I do
this? Thanks.
Right click on any toolbar and select Customize. Click the 'New' button and
give it a name, then Ctrl-drag your controls from the old to the new
toolbar.

Nov 3 '07 #3
No, what I meant is that I need a copy of the menu bar to its own menu bar.
After I make the copy, I'm going to tweak it for the other form. But most of
the items will be the same. So I want to copy the menu bar to a new menu
bar, then modify it a bit, and use it with the second form.

"Tom van Stiphout" <no*************@cox.netwrote in message
news:95********************************@4ax.com...
On Fri, 2 Nov 2007 22:39:55 -0500, "Neil" <no****@nospam.netwrote:

Set the MenuBar property of that other form to the same value.
MenuBars are a global resource.

-Tom.

>>I have a form that has its own custom menu bar in Access 2000. I'd like to
make a copy of the menu bar and use it with another form. How can I do
this?
Thanks.

Nov 3 '07 #4
Yeah, there are a lot of menu items and submenu items, and I was hoping to
avoid all that hassle.

I found a way to do it, indirectly. Was hoping for a more direct approach,
but this way worked.

I made a copy of the MDB file, went into the copy, and renamed the menu bar
that I wanted to copy to a different name. Then, in the original MDB I did
an Import from the MDB copy, importing only menu bars and tool bars. Since
all the menu bars and toolbars are the same name as in the original, they
don't import. The only thing that imports is the renamed menu bar, which
becomes a copy of the original in the MDB file.

So that worked. But a simple Copy Toolbar function would have been nice. :-)

Thanks,

Neil
"Stuart McCall" <sm*****@myunrealbox.comwrote in message
news:fg*******************@news.demon.co.uk...
"Neil" <no****@nospam.netwrote in message
news:y4****************@nlpi070.nbdc.sbc.com...
>>I have a form that has its own custom menu bar in Access 2000. I'd like to
make a copy of the menu bar and use it with another form. How can I do
this? Thanks.

Right click on any toolbar and select Customize. Click the 'New' button
and give it a name, then Ctrl-drag your controls from the old to the new
toolbar.



Nov 3 '07 #5

"Neil" <no****@nospam.netescribió en el mensaje
news:y4****************@nlpi070.nbdc.sbc.com...
>I have a form that has its own custom menu bar in Access 2000. I'd like to
make a copy of the menu bar and use it with another form. How can I do
this? Thanks.

Nov 5 '07 #6
I take back what I wrote about finding a way to do it by copying the MDB,
renaming the toolbar, and then importing it into the MDB as a new toolbar.
While that technically worked, it really didn't. I ended up with two copies
of the same toolbar, inextricably linked! When I modify one, the other is
modified as well!

In other words: I started out with ToolbarA. Copied the MDB and renamed it
to ToolbarB. Imported toolbars from the copy and then had a ToolbarA and a
ToolbarB in the original db. However, when I add or remove an item from
ToolbarB, ToolbarA is modified. So they're really the same toolbar, but with
two instances in the database. Very weird.

Anyway, just thought I'd post it here as a follow-up.

Neil
"Stuart McCall" <sm*****@myunrealbox.comwrote in message
news:fg*******************@news.demon.co.uk...
"Neil" <no****@nospam.netwrote in message
news:y4****************@nlpi070.nbdc.sbc.com...
>>I have a form that has its own custom menu bar in Access 2000. I'd like to
make a copy of the menu bar and use it with another form. How can I do
this? Thanks.

Right click on any toolbar and select Customize. Click the 'New' button
and give it a name, then Ctrl-drag your controls from the old to the new
toolbar.



Nov 10 '07 #7

This discussion thread is closed

Replies have been disabled for this discussion.

Similar topics

reply views Thread by Jonathan LaRosa | last post: by
7 posts views Thread by Ian Hinson | last post: by
reply views Thread by R.A.M. | last post: by
27 posts views Thread by Wayne | last post: by
4 posts views Thread by Robert Iver | last post: by
2 posts views Thread by trialproduct2004@yahoo.com | last post: by
By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.