By using this site, you agree to our updated Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Manage your Cookies Settings.
434,661 Members | 1,917 Online
Bytes IT Community
+ Ask a Question
Need help? Post your question and get tips & solutions from a community of 434,661 IT Pros & Developers. It's quick & easy.

Moved from Win 2000 to Win XP and receive Class Not Registered error

P: n/a
I have recently been provided with a new laptop. The old one ran Win
2000 with Access 2000 and the new one runs Win XP with Access 2000.
When I try to run some of my modules in my old databases on the new
machine, I receive a runtime error "Class Not Registered" on the first
step where I open a table:

rs.Open "[Tbl_Agent]", CurrentProject.Connection, _
adOpenKeyset, adLockOptimistic

Anyone have any idea what might be wrong? I checked my references and
they are set the same on my old laptop as they are on the new one.

The old PC had MDAC 2.5 and the new one does also. I downloaded MDAC
2.8 and still got the same error.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Scott
Nov 12 '05 #1
Share this Question
Share on Google+
4 Replies


P: n/a
"Scott Dillard" <sd******@mcintoshassociates.com> wrote in message
news:63**************************@posting.google.c om...
I have recently been provided with a new laptop. The old one ran Win
2000 with Access 2000 and the new one runs Win XP with Access 2000.
When I try to run some of my modules in my old databases on the new
machine, I receive a runtime error "Class Not Registered" on the first
step where I open a table:

rs.Open "[Tbl_Agent]", CurrentProject.Connection, _
adOpenKeyset, adLockOptimistic

Anyone have any idea what might be wrong? I checked my references and
they are set the same on my old laptop as they are on the new one.

The old PC had MDAC 2.5 and the new one does also. I downloaded MDAC
2.8 and still got the same error.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Scott


Scott, you may be missing a reference to ADO (your syntax is ADO). Go to
the modules window, choose Tools->References and make sure Microsoft ActiveX
Data Objects is selected. Select it, then compile to check it.
Nov 12 '05 #2

P: n/a
"Randy Harris" <ra***@SpamFree.com> wrote in message news:<9c********************@newssvr28.news.prodig y.com>...
"Scott Dillard" <sd******@mcintoshassociates.com> wrote in message
news:63**************************@posting.google.c om...
I have recently been provided with a new laptop. The old one ran Win
2000 with Access 2000 and the new one runs Win XP with Access 2000.
When I try to run some of my modules in my old databases on the new
machine, I receive a runtime error "Class Not Registered" on the first
step where I open a table:

rs.Open "[Tbl_Agent]", CurrentProject.Connection, _
adOpenKeyset, adLockOptimistic

Anyone have any idea what might be wrong? I checked my references and
they are set the same on my old laptop as they are on the new one.

The old PC had MDAC 2.5 and the new one does also. I downloaded MDAC
2.8 and still got the same error.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Scott


Scott, you may be missing a reference to ADO (your syntax is ADO). Go to
the modules window, choose Tools->References and make sure Microsoft ActiveX
Data Objects is selected. Select it, then compile to check it.

Randy, I checked it and the Microsoft ActiveX Data Object is selected.
This is a VBA app within an Access module so I don't think it can be
compiled. When I go into debug mode and put the cursor over the code
line in error, I see "CurrentProject.Connection = <Class not
registered>". Any other suggestions welcome. Thanks.
Nov 12 '05 #3

P: n/a
Scott, I was truly hoping that someone smarter than me would chime in here
and give you the answer. I'm only guessing, but it sounds as though your
ADO library isn't registered in the OS. Have you tried selecting a
different version of ADO, just to see if that would work?

Or, you could try simply registering the appropriate DLL. The command would
be something like:
Regsvr32 msado26.dll

Randy
"Scott Dillard" <sd******@mcintoshassociates.com> wrote in message
news:63**************************@posting.google.c om...
"Randy Harris" <ra***@SpamFree.com> wrote in message

news:<9c********************@newssvr28.news.prodig y.com>...
"Scott Dillard" <sd******@mcintoshassociates.com> wrote in message
news:63**************************@posting.google.c om...
I have recently been provided with a new laptop. The old one ran Win
2000 with Access 2000 and the new one runs Win XP with Access 2000.
When I try to run some of my modules in my old databases on the new
machine, I receive a runtime error "Class Not Registered" on the first
step where I open a table:

rs.Open "[Tbl_Agent]", CurrentProject.Connection, _
adOpenKeyset, adLockOptimistic

Anyone have any idea what might be wrong? I checked my references and
they are set the same on my old laptop as they are on the new one.

The old PC had MDAC 2.5 and the new one does also. I downloaded MDAC
2.8 and still got the same error.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Scott


Scott, you may be missing a reference to ADO (your syntax is ADO). Go to the modules window, choose Tools->References and make sure Microsoft ActiveX Data Objects is selected. Select it, then compile to check it.

Randy, I checked it and the Microsoft ActiveX Data Object is selected.
This is a VBA app within an Access module so I don't think it can be
compiled. When I go into debug mode and put the cursor over the code
line in error, I see "CurrentProject.Connection = <Class not
registered>". Any other suggestions welcome. Thanks.

Nov 12 '05 #4

P: n/a
Thanks Randy but no luck. I have downloaded and reinstalled the MDAC
files, the latest Jet files, and also registered the DLL but still now
luck. It has something to do with the .Connection I think because
CurrentProject works with other commands/methods?

Scott

"Randy Harris" <ra***@SpamFree.com> wrote in message news:<nV********************@newssvr28.news.prodig y.com>...
Scott, I was truly hoping that someone smarter than me would chime in here
and give you the answer. I'm only guessing, but it sounds as though your
ADO library isn't registered in the OS. Have you tried selecting a
different version of ADO, just to see if that would work?

Or, you could try simply registering the appropriate DLL. The command would
be something like:
Regsvr32 msado26.dll

Randy
"Scott Dillard" <sd******@mcintoshassociates.com> wrote in message
news:63**************************@posting.google.c om...
"Randy Harris" <ra***@SpamFree.com> wrote in message

news:<9c********************@newssvr28.news.prodig y.com>...
"Scott Dillard" <sd******@mcintoshassociates.com> wrote in message
news:63**************************@posting.google.c om...
> I have recently been provided with a new laptop. The old one ran Win
> 2000 with Access 2000 and the new one runs Win XP with Access 2000.
> When I try to run some of my modules in my old databases on the new
> machine, I receive a runtime error "Class Not Registered" on the first
> step where I open a table:
>
> rs.Open "[Tbl_Agent]", CurrentProject.Connection, _
> adOpenKeyset, adLockOptimistic
>
> Anyone have any idea what might be wrong? I checked my references and
> they are set the same on my old laptop as they are on the new one.
>
> The old PC had MDAC 2.5 and the new one does also. I downloaded MDAC
> 2.8 and still got the same error.
>
> Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
>
> Scott

Scott, you may be missing a reference to ADO (your syntax is ADO). Go to the modules window, choose Tools->References and make sure Microsoft ActiveX Data Objects is selected. Select it, then compile to check it.

Randy, I checked it and the Microsoft ActiveX Data Object is selected.
This is a VBA app within an Access module so I don't think it can be
compiled. When I go into debug mode and put the cursor over the code
line in error, I see "CurrentProject.Connection = <Class not
registered>". Any other suggestions welcome. Thanks.

Nov 12 '05 #5

This discussion thread is closed

Replies have been disabled for this discussion.