473,407 Members | 2,598 Online
Bytes | Software Development & Data Engineering Community
Post Job

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

Join Bytes to post your question to a community of 473,407 software developers and data experts.

Moved from Win 2000 to Win XP and receive Class Not Registered error

I have recently been provided with a new laptop. The old one ran Win
2000 with Access 2000 and the new one runs Win XP with Access 2000.
When I try to run some of my modules in my old databases on the new
machine, I receive a runtime error "Class Not Registered" on the first
step where I open a table:

rs.Open "[Tbl_Agent]", CurrentProject.Connection, _
adOpenKeyset, adLockOptimistic

Anyone have any idea what might be wrong? I checked my references and
they are set the same on my old laptop as they are on the new one.

The old PC had MDAC 2.5 and the new one does also. I downloaded MDAC
2.8 and still got the same error.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Scott
Nov 12 '05 #1
4 4167
"Scott Dillard" <sd******@mcintoshassociates.com> wrote in message
news:63**************************@posting.google.c om...
I have recently been provided with a new laptop. The old one ran Win
2000 with Access 2000 and the new one runs Win XP with Access 2000.
When I try to run some of my modules in my old databases on the new
machine, I receive a runtime error "Class Not Registered" on the first
step where I open a table:

rs.Open "[Tbl_Agent]", CurrentProject.Connection, _
adOpenKeyset, adLockOptimistic

Anyone have any idea what might be wrong? I checked my references and
they are set the same on my old laptop as they are on the new one.

The old PC had MDAC 2.5 and the new one does also. I downloaded MDAC
2.8 and still got the same error.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Scott


Scott, you may be missing a reference to ADO (your syntax is ADO). Go to
the modules window, choose Tools->References and make sure Microsoft ActiveX
Data Objects is selected. Select it, then compile to check it.
Nov 12 '05 #2
"Randy Harris" <ra***@SpamFree.com> wrote in message news:<9c********************@newssvr28.news.prodig y.com>...
"Scott Dillard" <sd******@mcintoshassociates.com> wrote in message
news:63**************************@posting.google.c om...
I have recently been provided with a new laptop. The old one ran Win
2000 with Access 2000 and the new one runs Win XP with Access 2000.
When I try to run some of my modules in my old databases on the new
machine, I receive a runtime error "Class Not Registered" on the first
step where I open a table:

rs.Open "[Tbl_Agent]", CurrentProject.Connection, _
adOpenKeyset, adLockOptimistic

Anyone have any idea what might be wrong? I checked my references and
they are set the same on my old laptop as they are on the new one.

The old PC had MDAC 2.5 and the new one does also. I downloaded MDAC
2.8 and still got the same error.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Scott


Scott, you may be missing a reference to ADO (your syntax is ADO). Go to
the modules window, choose Tools->References and make sure Microsoft ActiveX
Data Objects is selected. Select it, then compile to check it.

Randy, I checked it and the Microsoft ActiveX Data Object is selected.
This is a VBA app within an Access module so I don't think it can be
compiled. When I go into debug mode and put the cursor over the code
line in error, I see "CurrentProject.Connection = <Class not
registered>". Any other suggestions welcome. Thanks.
Nov 12 '05 #3
Scott, I was truly hoping that someone smarter than me would chime in here
and give you the answer. I'm only guessing, but it sounds as though your
ADO library isn't registered in the OS. Have you tried selecting a
different version of ADO, just to see if that would work?

Or, you could try simply registering the appropriate DLL. The command would
be something like:
Regsvr32 msado26.dll

Randy
"Scott Dillard" <sd******@mcintoshassociates.com> wrote in message
news:63**************************@posting.google.c om...
"Randy Harris" <ra***@SpamFree.com> wrote in message

news:<9c********************@newssvr28.news.prodig y.com>...
"Scott Dillard" <sd******@mcintoshassociates.com> wrote in message
news:63**************************@posting.google.c om...
I have recently been provided with a new laptop. The old one ran Win
2000 with Access 2000 and the new one runs Win XP with Access 2000.
When I try to run some of my modules in my old databases on the new
machine, I receive a runtime error "Class Not Registered" on the first
step where I open a table:

rs.Open "[Tbl_Agent]", CurrentProject.Connection, _
adOpenKeyset, adLockOptimistic

Anyone have any idea what might be wrong? I checked my references and
they are set the same on my old laptop as they are on the new one.

The old PC had MDAC 2.5 and the new one does also. I downloaded MDAC
2.8 and still got the same error.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Scott


Scott, you may be missing a reference to ADO (your syntax is ADO). Go to the modules window, choose Tools->References and make sure Microsoft ActiveX Data Objects is selected. Select it, then compile to check it.

Randy, I checked it and the Microsoft ActiveX Data Object is selected.
This is a VBA app within an Access module so I don't think it can be
compiled. When I go into debug mode and put the cursor over the code
line in error, I see "CurrentProject.Connection = <Class not
registered>". Any other suggestions welcome. Thanks.

Nov 12 '05 #4
Thanks Randy but no luck. I have downloaded and reinstalled the MDAC
files, the latest Jet files, and also registered the DLL but still now
luck. It has something to do with the .Connection I think because
CurrentProject works with other commands/methods?

Scott

"Randy Harris" <ra***@SpamFree.com> wrote in message news:<nV********************@newssvr28.news.prodig y.com>...
Scott, I was truly hoping that someone smarter than me would chime in here
and give you the answer. I'm only guessing, but it sounds as though your
ADO library isn't registered in the OS. Have you tried selecting a
different version of ADO, just to see if that would work?

Or, you could try simply registering the appropriate DLL. The command would
be something like:
Regsvr32 msado26.dll

Randy
"Scott Dillard" <sd******@mcintoshassociates.com> wrote in message
news:63**************************@posting.google.c om...
"Randy Harris" <ra***@SpamFree.com> wrote in message

news:<9c********************@newssvr28.news.prodig y.com>...
"Scott Dillard" <sd******@mcintoshassociates.com> wrote in message
news:63**************************@posting.google.c om...
> I have recently been provided with a new laptop. The old one ran Win
> 2000 with Access 2000 and the new one runs Win XP with Access 2000.
> When I try to run some of my modules in my old databases on the new
> machine, I receive a runtime error "Class Not Registered" on the first
> step where I open a table:
>
> rs.Open "[Tbl_Agent]", CurrentProject.Connection, _
> adOpenKeyset, adLockOptimistic
>
> Anyone have any idea what might be wrong? I checked my references and
> they are set the same on my old laptop as they are on the new one.
>
> The old PC had MDAC 2.5 and the new one does also. I downloaded MDAC
> 2.8 and still got the same error.
>
> Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
>
> Scott

Scott, you may be missing a reference to ADO (your syntax is ADO). Go to the modules window, choose Tools->References and make sure Microsoft ActiveX Data Objects is selected. Select it, then compile to check it.

Randy, I checked it and the Microsoft ActiveX Data Object is selected.
This is a VBA app within an Access module so I don't think it can be
compiled. When I go into debug mode and put the cursor over the code
line in error, I see "CurrentProject.Connection = <Class not
registered>". Any other suggestions welcome. Thanks.

Nov 12 '05 #5

This thread has been closed and replies have been disabled. Please start a new discussion.

Similar topics

1
by: RichGolebiowski | last post by:
I have a class library (clsTestLib) that was created in VB.Net that I would like to use in Access 2000. I created a typelib for the class using regasm.exe. I am able to refernce (add a reference)...
1
by: mark | last post by:
In Access 2000 and 2002, I have created an import specification to import the fixed-width recordset below into an existing table. I am having strange problems with the import of the date and time...
3
by: rua17 | last post by:
I add tow Com libraries to my project, I can see their content with intellisense, but when I instantiate a class contained in the library: PDDirectLib.PDDatabaseQuery pDbQuery = new...
1
by: Jim | last post by:
Have fully operational software package developed on VB.NET that worked until Jan 1 2003, with early stage deployments on Oct 10, Oct 23, Nov 11, Dec 12 and Dec 30. When attempted final...
4
by: coosa | last post by:
Hi, I was installing SQL Server on my machine and during installation my PC freezed. It happens frequently on my machine. So i tried after restarting to install it again and since then i always...
0
by: papaja | last post by:
Hello, I believe I didn't change anything on my machine but my web applications, particularly pages accessing Microsoft Access DB, suddenly refused to work. I get this error: ...
1
by: Marek Murin | last post by:
Hi all, I have created vb.net user control that has to be used by vb6 form. Everything goes well with putting the vb.net user control on the VB6 form until I want to receive any event from my...
3
by: | last post by:
Hi All, I have several classic asp pages in site that were originally programmed with Visual Interdev (or Visual Web Developer Alpha... remember that?). The pages use the Script Library objects...
3
by: partybob99 | last post by:
Hi everyone. I have a very strange problem and I have no idea how to correct it. I created a VB.NET DLL that is used by several different apps for password file encryption/decryption. I have...
0
by: Charles Arthur | last post by:
How do i turn on java script on a villaon, callus and itel keypad mobile phone
1
by: nemocccc | last post by:
hello, everyone, I want to develop a software for my android phone for daily needs, any suggestions?
1
by: Sonnysonu | last post by:
This is the data of csv file 1 2 3 1 2 3 1 2 3 1 2 3 2 3 2 3 3 the lengths should be different i have to store the data by column-wise with in the specific length. suppose the i have to...
0
marktang
by: marktang | last post by:
ONU (Optical Network Unit) is one of the key components for providing high-speed Internet services. Its primary function is to act as an endpoint device located at the user's premises. However,...
0
by: Hystou | last post by:
Most computers default to English, but sometimes we require a different language, especially when relocating. Forgot to request a specific language before your computer shipped? No problem! You can...
0
Oralloy
by: Oralloy | last post by:
Hello folks, I am unable to find appropriate documentation on the type promotion of bit-fields when using the generalised comparison operator "<=>". The problem is that using the GNU compilers,...
0
jinu1996
by: jinu1996 | last post by:
In today's digital age, having a compelling online presence is paramount for businesses aiming to thrive in a competitive landscape. At the heart of this digital strategy lies an intricately woven...
0
tracyyun
by: tracyyun | last post by:
Dear forum friends, With the development of smart home technology, a variety of wireless communication protocols have appeared on the market, such as Zigbee, Z-Wave, Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, etc. Each...
0
agi2029
by: agi2029 | last post by:
Let's talk about the concept of autonomous AI software engineers and no-code agents. These AIs are designed to manage the entire lifecycle of a software development project—planning, coding, testing,...

By using Bytes.com and it's services, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

To disable or enable advertisements and analytics tracking please visit the manage ads & tracking page.