473,698 Members | 2,213 Online
Bytes | Software Development & Data Engineering Community
+ Post

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

Parts of a form

PhilOfWalton
1,430 Recognized Expert Top Contributor
The "Experts" seem to be having so many problems, particularly recently, with people asking very unclear questions mainly because of mis-naming the parts and controls on a form.

Has anyone got an image with things like Navigation Bars, Record Selectors, Tab Controls, Pages, Command Buttons etc clearly labelled?

Similarly there seems to be confusion about Source Object for Subforms / SubReports, Record Source and Control Source.

Due to the limitation of Bytes, probably the image would have to be displayed elsewhere, or possibly a link to an article, but it would be a useful reference when an unintelligible question is raised.

Phil
Jul 14 '18 #1
18 2408
twinnyfo
3,653 Recognized Expert Moderator Specialist
Hey Phil! Good idea. Interesting, though, that if you click on any object in Access design view, believe it or not, the properties window tells you exactly what it is. I know you know that. It does not have an object for true "navigation Bars" and "Record Selectors" because those are actually inherent properties of the form itself.

As useful as your suggestion is, and as helpful as it would be for all of us--especially the experts like you who are trying to read minds by interpreting what you "think" a poster might have in mind, what would be more helpful to us all would be posters who take a little time to understand their trade in the slightest bit--and if not, make an effort to do so. Who wants to go to a brain surgeon who says, "Well, I'm gonna take this 'knife-thingy' and kinda sorta make a hole in your head, and well, I'm gonna trudge around a bit and look for stuff--but I don't really know what I'm looking for."

You have a heart of gold, Phil--and you are also one of the brilliant ones.

Thanks for being thoughtful on this!
Jul 14 '18 #2
zmbd
5,501 Recognized Expert Moderator Expert
There are dozens of tutorial sites that cover this... if people would look; however, it seems that it is human nature to simply jump into the task and learn nomenclature later - mea culpa :)

I'll see which of my favorite tutorial sites has the best set of images and post links :)
Jul 15 '18 #3
PhilOfWalton
1,430 Recognized Expert Top Contributor
Great.

I had a look and couldn't find anything with a picture of a form and the parts labelled.

As Twinnyfo says, the properties window tells you exactly what a control is, but it doesn't exactly stand out getting partially lost under the larger font of the "Property Sheet" and being in the same font as the rest of the properties. As a secondary title, you would have thought Microsoft would have used a slightly larger bold font.

Anyway, if you can find something that illustrates the parts of a form together with an illustrative property sheet and highlight the "Selection Type", when we get one of these incomprehensibl e questions, we could refer the OP to whatever website you find and ask them to rephrase their question using the correct terms.

Phil
Jul 15 '18 #4
NeoPa
32,569 Recognized Expert Moderator MVP
PhilOfWalton:
we could refer the OP to whatever website you find and ask them to rephrase their question using the correct terms.
As long as it's neither commercial nor a forum site of course.

This is a reminder to us all, of course, to use the correct terminology in our responses too. One of the most often misused is the Tab Control, which contains Tabs^H^H^H^HPages of course. On which one may, or may not, have Subform/Subreport(s). I would suggest using either is perfectly acceptable in most cases. Not all Subform/Subreport controls are found on Pages. The Subform/Subreport controls contain a Form or a Report. Such object is not, in itself, a Subform/Subreport.
Jul 15 '18 #5
zmbd
5,501 Recognized Expert Moderator Expert
Ok,
I've started a new insight thread
https://bytes.com/topic/access/insig...re#post3817599
This will be a work in progress so your feed back will be appreciated.
To keep the Insight clean - maybe the feedback can go in this thread... I'll cross post a link here into the first post.
-Z
Jul 18 '18 #6
twinnyfo
3,653 Recognized Expert Moderator Specialist
Z,

Well Done. Just for your informational FYI, Bytes automagically resizes your images, whether they are inline or not. So, even downloading the images produces the same reduced clarity.

However, I think because of how you have things sized, they are readable for this kind of article.

Looking forward to more....
Jul 18 '18 #7
PhilOfWalton
1,430 Recognized Expert Top Contributor
Excellent start zmbd, and your images on ijared's posting will be a good addition.

I have asked that the be improved, or even that the image could be orientated to landscape rather than portrait might well help, but I don't really know who is in overall command of Bytes.

Phil
Jul 18 '18 #8
NeoPa
32,569 Recognized Expert Moderator MVP
PhilOfWalton:
I have asked that the be improved, ...
???
PhilOfWalton:
..., or even that the image could be orientated to landscape rather than portrait might well help, ...
Surely the orientation of an image is entirely independent of any site settings. It's controlled by the image file itself. Is this not true? Is there something going on I'm entirely unaware of?
PhilOfWalton:
..., but I don't really know who is in overall command of Bytes.
The owner is account #1 (Niheel). I administer generally, but without all the tools necessary to do much more than any of the other moderators.

I do know Niheel is working on an updated interface. No idea when that may hit us though.
Jul 18 '18 #9
PhilOfWalton
1,430 Recognized Expert Top Contributor
@Neopa

..., or even that the image could be orientated to landscape rather than portrait might well help, ...

I am only going by what it says on the manage attachments page.



It's just that most images posted tend to be landscape, as generally are computer monitors (unless they are processing "printed" documents

Phil
Jul 18 '18 #10

Sign in to post your reply or Sign up for a free account.

Similar topics

3
2370
by: MatGyver | last post by:
I am going nuts trying to figure this out, any help will be appreciated. I have an existing table called "Parts". And in this table I have the following columns: "ID" "Part Number" "Part Description" "Part Cost" I am trying to build an order form that will have "Part Number" and "Part Cost" both on the form and in that forms specific table.
2
3060
by: Colm O'Hagan | last post by:
Hi there, I having a problem with a database I'm setting up, I would be delighted if someone out there could help. The database I'm setting up is a task register datebase, it will be used to create work schedules for workers in a metal work shop, based on the tasks required to make a part and the tasks required to make the subcomponents of the part.
2
10331
by: Todd | last post by:
This has really been my day for wierd problems sorting one of my forms (a subform actually)... so here's another one. I am now receiving the following error Run-time error '-2146500594 (800f000e)': Method 'Form' of object '_SubForm' failed The code breaks on the first line of the following section of code:
4
1990
by: elfyn | last post by:
I'm currently developing a Fleet system which enables the user to enter Parts used to Service a vehicle. The parts are available through a Combo Box on a form and if the user enters a new Part the systems checks the NoinList and then opens a new Form where the user can enter the new Part Details i.e. price, VAT Rate, Supplier etc. What I'd like is for the value entered in the Combo box for the new part e.g. Fuel Filter, to appear in the...
4
1627
by: John | last post by:
I have an Invoice form and a Jobcard form. They're bound to tblInvoices and tblJobcard. These in turn have a many to many relationship through a junction table. The Jobcard form is based on a query using tblJobcard and tblInvoiceJobcard (junction table). I currently have to select the correct invoice from a combo box on the Jobcard form. What I want to do is open the Jobcard form from the Invoice form and automatically write the...
3
1550
by: Rick | last post by:
I have a customer order form with a subform that lists parts per customer order that I'm updating. I'm trying to filer the parts list per Manufacture and Model number so that the user doesn't have to scroll through the complete list of parts to find the parts that relate to the model in question. I've got two combo boxes on the main form where you can select the manufacture, that filters the model combo box to show only models from that...
2
1771
by: rpjd | last post by:
I am trying to submit entries in a form to a database. I am using " within my submission form and $_POST I am getting the connection to the database but I my script is not executing, probably due to a syntax error which I can't see. here is the code, first the submission page, then the php script
6
6022
by: Otis492 | last post by:
Hello, I have been struggling with this for a while. I am working on a rather simple database for claims in Access 2003. I have a table called claims that has a primary key field called Claim #. It is linked to a table called parts. The idea is that a claim can be filed for multiple damaged parts. In other words a claim # could have 0 to several damaged parts. My problem lies with the form that I have created. It is a main form with a...
92
4728
by: bonneylake | last post by:
Hey Everyone, Well i was hoping someone could explain the best way i could go about this. i have a few ideas on how i could go about this but i am just not sure if it would work. Right now i have a form where you can add and delete multiple serial information. This works wonderful. But now for every serial information i add i need to be able to add and remove multiple parts to that serial. heres an example of what i mean serial...
58
8085
by: bonneylake | last post by:
Hey Everyone, Well recently i been inserting multiple fields for a section in my form called "serial". Well now i am trying to insert multiple fields for the not only the serial section but also the parts section an i seem to be having trouble. When i try to insert into the parts section i get the error Invalid character value for cast specification. But not sure what i am doing wrong. Here is what i am using to insert. All the sections...
0
8673
marktang
by: marktang | last post by:
ONU (Optical Network Unit) is one of the key components for providing high-speed Internet services. Its primary function is to act as an endpoint device located at the user's premises. However, people are often confused as to whether an ONU can Work As a Router. In this blog post, we’ll explore What is ONU, What Is Router, ONU & Router’s main usage, and What is the difference between ONU and Router. Let’s take a closer look ! Part I. Meaning of...
0
8601
by: Hystou | last post by:
Most computers default to English, but sometimes we require a different language, especially when relocating. Forgot to request a specific language before your computer shipped? No problem! You can effortlessly switch the default language on Windows 10 without reinstalling. I'll walk you through it. First, let's disable language synchronization. With a Microsoft account, language settings sync across devices. To prevent any complications,...
0
9021
jinu1996
by: jinu1996 | last post by:
In today's digital age, having a compelling online presence is paramount for businesses aiming to thrive in a competitive landscape. At the heart of this digital strategy lies an intricately woven tapestry of website design and digital marketing. It's not merely about having a website; it's about crafting an immersive digital experience that captivates audiences and drives business growth. The Art of Business Website Design Your website is...
1
8892
by: Hystou | last post by:
Overview: Windows 11 and 10 have less user interface control over operating system update behaviour than previous versions of Windows. In Windows 11 and 10, there is no way to turn off the Windows Update option using the Control Panel or Settings app; it automatically checks for updates and installs any it finds, whether you like it or not. For most users, this new feature is actually very convenient. If you want to control the update process,...
0
8860
tracyyun
by: tracyyun | last post by:
Dear forum friends, With the development of smart home technology, a variety of wireless communication protocols have appeared on the market, such as Zigbee, Z-Wave, Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, etc. Each protocol has its own unique characteristics and advantages, but as a user who is planning to build a smart home system, I am a bit confused by the choice of these technologies. I'm particularly interested in Zigbee because I've heard it does some...
0
7716
agi2029
by: agi2029 | last post by:
Let's talk about the concept of autonomous AI software engineers and no-code agents. These AIs are designed to manage the entire lifecycle of a software development project—planning, coding, testing, and deployment—without human intervention. Imagine an AI that can take a project description, break it down, write the code, debug it, and then launch it, all on its own.... Now, this would greatly impact the work of software developers. The idea...
1
6518
isladogs
by: isladogs | last post by:
The next Access Europe User Group meeting will be on Wednesday 1 May 2024 starting at 18:00 UK time (6PM UTC+1) and finishing by 19:30 (7.30PM). In this session, we are pleased to welcome a new presenter, Adolph Dupré who will be discussing some powerful techniques for using class modules. He will explain when you may want to use classes instead of User Defined Types (UDT). For example, to manage the data in unbound forms. Adolph will...
0
4614
by: adsilva | last post by:
A Windows Forms form does not have the event Unload, like VB6. What one acts like?
2
2327
muto222
by: muto222 | last post by:
How can i add a mobile payment intergratation into php mysql website.

By using Bytes.com and it's services, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

To disable or enable advertisements and analytics tracking please visit the manage ads & tracking page.