473,836 Members | 1,301 Online
Bytes | Software Development & Data Engineering Community
+ Post

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

Lost my "add new record" icon in navigation bar

23 New Member
In my form, which contains a subform, I have lost the "add new record" icon for my master form (way at the bottom). I have tried adding a "add new record" command button to fix the situation, but when I try to use this command button, I get the following message: "You can't go to the specified record".
Dec 20 '11
29 4305
NeoPa
32,584 Recognized Expert Moderator MVP
You haven't followed the instructions correctly and I can't look at your database as it's not in a format I can open. I don't know what else I can say at this point. The instructions are all there. If you follow them all will work. If you don't then it won't.
Dec 23 '11 #21
larocqgi
23 New Member
I cannot follow the instructions as they do not work. I cannot debug and compile since I don't have that option. I'm using MS Access 2007. So, I surrender; I give up. Merry Xmas and all the best for 2012.
Dec 23 '11 #22
Seth Schrock
2,965 Recognized Expert Specialist
I tried to save it in .mdb format, but there are features that require the latest version.

@larocqgi In design view of the Product form, I don't see a Add New Record button. This could be part of why you don't see it in form view.

Also, It seems that the database is locked. When I try to get into the vba code, it says that the project is locked and unviewable. I have never seen this before so I don't know how to fix it, but I do think that it could be part of the reason that you can't add new records.
Dec 23 '11 #23
larocqgi
23 New Member
How could I have locked my database? I'm lost.
Dec 23 '11 #24
Seth Schrock
2,965 Recognized Expert Specialist
I'm not sure. Like I said, I've never seen this before. Later today, I'll check into some more and see what I can find and maybe unlock it.
Dec 23 '11 #25
Rabbit
12,516 Recognized Expert Moderator MVP
When I said you probably used an unupdateable query as your record source, and you replied with you don't use queries, your record sources are tables, did you double check your record sources?

I'm going to take a shot in the dark and say no, you did not. Because you're using an unupdatable query as your record source. This query is not updateable. And it's the record source of your form.
Expand|Select|Wrap|Line Numbers
  1. SELECT Product.*, Product_List.[Product List]
  2. FROM Product_List
  3. INNER JOIN Product
  4. ON Product_List.[Product List] = Product.Product;
Dec 23 '11 #26
larocqgi
23 New Member
I have difficulty following you Rabbit. I have not created queries. I have only tables. So, I don't understand why my record source would be a query.
Dec 23 '11 #27
Rabbit
12,516 Recognized Expert Moderator MVP
You don't have to create a query object to use a query as a record source. If you look at the record source property of your form, there is a query definition / SQL string in there.
Dec 23 '11 #28
Seth Schrock
2,965 Recognized Expert Specialist
That row source is a query. Even though you didn't actually create a query that is listed in the Access Objects, that is SQL code for the query. It is just another way of utilizing a query.
Dec 23 '11 #29
NeoPa
32,584 Recognized Expert Moderator MVP
Here's a couple of points that might help :
  1. The MS Access term for a saved query in a database is a QueryDef. Many people think of them as queries, but the technical term is a QueryDef. A Query, on the other hand, is any query, which includes QueryDefs, but also SQL strings which resolve to queries when passed to the SQL engine (Jet). It makes communication awkward and easy to misunderstand, but if you realise that it can help you to deal with such questions more clearly. It seems your form is built using a Query, but not a QueryDef one.
  2. Reasons for a Query to be Non-Updatable is worth checking for any query that a form is built on and where you want to update the underlying data.

PS. If you say when you try to follow instructions that you were unable to follow one of them, and give a reason, then we can deal with that better than if you don't explain this. Dealing with someone who has found a problem is so much easier than dealing with someone who cannot, or will not, follow simple instructions. If we know (as in this case) that you are of the former group then we can make progress. For those in the latter group there is very little we can do.

PPS. Thanks again to Seth for taking the trouble to attempt to do the conversion himself and explaining the problem he encountered. Your efforts are appreciated :-)
Dec 24 '11 #30

Sign in to post your reply or Sign up for a free account.

Similar topics

0
1669
by: Yi | last post by:
Hi, I am a scientist and new to .NET programming. On my PC, I am using Windows 2000 professional with IIS, SQL Server 2000 (standard, personal), Visual Basic .net (2003, standard). By following the demo code, I can generate the web form to access the Northwind data in SQL server. When I tried to use Server Explorer to add new Data Connection to Northwind, the “test connection” always work, but click OK always give an error message:...
0
1773
by: William Wisnieski | last post by:
Hello Everyone: I'm having a very strange problem occurring with my Access 2000 database. I call it the "mystery record." Here's the story: I have a query by form that returns a record set in a datasheet. The user double clicks on a row in that datasheet and a main form (pop up) opens bound to a table with a continuous subform bound to a query.
4
6701
by: Tim | last post by:
I have used a graphic 'next record' button on a form. How can I stop it from going past the last existing record? In other words, I don't want it to take the user to a blank record. Thanks Tim
10
5093
by: msnews.microsoft.com | last post by:
Hi, How do I add a reference in VC++.NET? In VB.NET and VC#.NET, there's an option in "Project" menu called "Add Reference". This will add a .NET DLL reference to the current project. After I add a reference, I can start using the class in the DLL as follows: Imports <TheNamespace>
3
1738
by: Samuel R. Neff | last post by:
I just started having a problem with the Add Reference dialog not displaying in VS.NET 2003. Whenever I click Add Reference the dialog doesn't display. I've tried several different projects and solutions and rebooted the computer. No error message, just no dialog. Add Web Reference brings up a dialog, just Add Reference doesn't. If I add references manually by editing the project file in notepad
1
2089
by: PJSimon | last post by:
In regards to this MSDN article: http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;306149 .... how do I add the registry key? I got confused on three points: 1) I do not have a key named ".NETFramework" under the "Microsoft" key. Should I just create it? 2) I don't know what to add to the "MyAssemblies" folder.
3
5774
by: Maxwell2006 | last post by:
Hi, I am using Visual Studio 2005. I have added a DLL into GAC. I can confirm that by going to C:\WINDOWS\assembly and see the assembly name.
3
3637
rsmccli
by: rsmccli | last post by:
Using AC2002 Hello. I am working with an existing DB that has "Add New" command buttons on two forms. When I, an Admin, click the buttons, they work properly, and a new, blank form is created, ready for data entry. When one of my users from the "Update Data" workgroup clicks the button, they get an "Error 2105: You can't go to the specified record" error, and no new row is created. Each of these are just supposed to add a new row in...
2
2085
by: MLH | last post by:
I have an A97 form with Allow Edits, Allow Deletions and Allow Additions properties set. Scrolling through records will eventually take me to the end of the records and one more PgDn will take me to a new record. I also have a cmd button on the form to take me instantly to a new record. There are 2 controls on the form I would like disabled whenever I'm at a new record. I want them enabled at all other times. Which event property would...
12
4935
sueb
by: sueb | last post by:
I want to have a separate form for adding records to my database (so that I can lock the main ID field and prevent users' accidentally changing it). I've been able to create this form, and put a button on my main form that opens it, but I haven't figured out how to make the new record available in the still-open main form: I have to close the main form and re-open it before I can successfully search for and find the newly-added record. How...
0
9813
marktang
by: marktang | last post by:
ONU (Optical Network Unit) is one of the key components for providing high-speed Internet services. Its primary function is to act as an endpoint device located at the user's premises. However, people are often confused as to whether an ONU can Work As a Router. In this blog post, well explore What is ONU, What Is Router, ONU & Routers main usage, and What is the difference between ONU and Router. Lets take a closer look ! Part I. Meaning of...
0
9661
by: Hystou | last post by:
Most computers default to English, but sometimes we require a different language, especially when relocating. Forgot to request a specific language before your computer shipped? No problem! You can effortlessly switch the default language on Windows 10 without reinstalling. I'll walk you through it. First, let's disable language synchronization. With a Microsoft account, language settings sync across devices. To prevent any complications,...
0
10831
Oralloy
by: Oralloy | last post by:
Hello folks, I am unable to find appropriate documentation on the type promotion of bit-fields when using the generalised comparison operator "<=>". The problem is that using the GNU compilers, it seems that the internal comparison operator "<=>" tries to promote arguments from unsigned to signed. This is as boiled down as I can make it. Here is my compilation command: g++-12 -std=c++20 -Wnarrowing bit_field.cpp Here is the code in...
1
10582
by: Hystou | last post by:
Overview: Windows 11 and 10 have less user interface control over operating system update behaviour than previous versions of Windows. In Windows 11 and 10, there is no way to turn off the Windows Update option using the Control Panel or Settings app; it automatically checks for updates and installs any it finds, whether you like it or not. For most users, this new feature is actually very convenient. If you want to control the update process,...
0
10247
tracyyun
by: tracyyun | last post by:
Dear forum friends, With the development of smart home technology, a variety of wireless communication protocols have appeared on the market, such as Zigbee, Z-Wave, Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, etc. Each protocol has its own unique characteristics and advantages, but as a user who is planning to build a smart home system, I am a bit confused by the choice of these technologies. I'm particularly interested in Zigbee because I've heard it does some...
1
7778
isladogs
by: isladogs | last post by:
The next Access Europe User Group meeting will be on Wednesday 1 May 2024 starting at 18:00 UK time (6PM UTC+1) and finishing by 19:30 (7.30PM). In this session, we are pleased to welcome a new presenter, Adolph Dupr who will be discussing some powerful techniques for using class modules. He will explain when you may want to use classes instead of User Defined Types (UDT). For example, to manage the data in unbound forms. Adolph will...
0
5645
by: TSSRALBI | last post by:
Hello I'm a network technician in training and I need your help. I am currently learning how to create and manage the different types of VPNs and I have a question about LAN-to-LAN VPNs. The last exercise I practiced was to create a LAN-to-LAN VPN between two Pfsense firewalls, by using IPSEC protocols. I succeeded, with both firewalls in the same network. But I'm wondering if it's possible to do the same thing, with 2 Pfsense firewalls...
2
4005
muto222
by: muto222 | last post by:
How can i add a mobile payment intergratation into php mysql website.
3
3108
bsmnconsultancy
by: bsmnconsultancy | last post by:
In today's digital era, a well-designed website is crucial for businesses looking to succeed. Whether you're a small business owner or a large corporation in Toronto, having a strong online presence can significantly impact your brand's success. BSMN Consultancy, a leader in Website Development in Toronto offers valuable insights into creating effective websites that not only look great but also perform exceptionally well. In this comprehensive...

By using Bytes.com and it's services, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

To disable or enable advertisements and analytics tracking please visit the manage ads & tracking page.