473,883 Members | 1,761 Online
Bytes | Software Development & Data Engineering Community
+ Post

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

What causes a front end to work for me, but run out of stack space for another user

137 New Member
I've split a database into a back end containing the tables, and the front end containing everything else.

I've uploaded this to a shared drive, and applied the following security settings:
- Disabled Document Tabs
- Disabled Access Special Keys
- Disabled Navigation Pane
- Disabled Full Menus
- Disabled Default Shortcut Menus

When I try running the front end, either from a copy on my own desktop, or the copy on the shared drive, it works absolutely fine for me - it brings up my login form, I can login and access everything else.
However, I have a collegue in Singapore who is now trying to access the front end. Everytime he loads up the front end (either directly from the copy on the shared drive, or by copying it to his desktop) and tries to login, the whole thing stops responding, and after a few minutes it eventually displays a message box saying "Error detected: Out of stack space."

Once this error has happened for my collegue, when I then try the same front end, it happens for me too - it's as though something happens when he tries it, which corrupts the entire file.
What I've noticed is when it starts to not respond, in the bottom right corner it says "Run query" next to a progress bar that is stuck on 0%. If I disable the query it's getting stuck at, it will proceed, but the problem occurs at the next query that tries to run.
My collegue has opened this same file a few months ago without any problem - however this was before the database was split, and before I disabled any of the options listed above.

Can anyone offer any possible suggestion why this is happening, and how I could fix it? I am completely stumped as to why this is happening and don't even know how to go about debugging this problem!

Thanks in advance.

Adam.

UPDATE: Because the error message is causing my collegue to close Access via Task Manager, it leaves his connection open. Once this connection is killed, the front end works absolutely fine for me again - so the problem seems to be specifically with him.
Jun 22 '11
30 3665
NeoPa
32,584 Recognized Expert Moderator MVP
Adam explained earlier that the problem only occurs in Singapore, where the only operator is not someone he can trust with any debugging features. I don't believe debugging on his working version would give him any useful information about the problem.

I mention this as I know that it makes sense to skim long-standing threads and I felt you'd maybe missed these points that I've synopsised (Is that even a word? My spell-checker thinks it's ok.) for you.

PS. @Adam, there is also a button on the debugging toolbar that gives you access to the Call stack. It looks like overlapping squares. Ctrl-L is a shortcut.
Jun 24 '11 #21
Rabbit
12,516 Recognized Expert Moderator MVP
What I've done in cases where the user is at a different geographical location is to remote into their computer with dameware, vnc, or remote desktop and troubleshoot from there.
Jun 24 '11 #22
NeoPa
32,584 Recognized Expert Moderator MVP
I'll let Adam respond to that Rabbit. I agree, I would too. We are both possibly more IT orientated than Adam though. When I asked earlier he seemed to feel the debug approach was not profitable in his circumstances. Maybe your post opens up new avenues he hadn't considered before. Only he can say really.
Jun 24 '11 #23
Adam Tippelt
137 New Member
Do you get the error if you disable everything? What happens if you disable the macros and code?
As I said before Rabbit, the problem occurs when attempting to run a query - this is not caused by a specific query because I've commented the query out, and when you run the file again it crashes on whatever query is found next.

The calls dialog is available in the VBA editor. If you put it into debug mode, like with a break point or something, you can click View > Call stack and it will show you what procedures are active on the stack.
Checking the stack is not possible in this situation either, as the message box displaying the out of stack message is not a run time error box, it's a standard message box with only an ok button, and clicking ok just makes the box appear again - you cannot enter debug mode because the only way to leave the infinite loop of message boxes is to close the application via task manager (ctrl+break does not stop it)
When checking the stack on a working copy at my location, there is only one item on the stack at the time where it fails in Singapore, which is the event that triggers the query.

What I've done in cases where the user is at a different geographical location is to remote into their computer with dameware, vnc, or remote desktop and troubleshoot from there.
While I cannot create the problem myself, once it's occurred I can see the problem, as the Singapore connection is still open (due to it being closed by task manager), and therefore I can troubleshoot from here.



The same person tested the same application a few months ago, before it was split, and had no problems, so surely it must be the network?

(While it looks like I'm fighting your ideas, I do very much appreciate your input and am certainly learning a lot!)

Thanks.

Adam.
Jun 27 '11 #24
Adam Tippelt
137 New Member
I'll let Adam respond to that Rabbit. I agree, I would too. We are both possibly more IT orientated than Adam though. When I asked earlier he seemed to feel the debug approach was not profitable in his circumstances. Maybe your post opens up new avenues he hadn't considered before. Only he can say really.
You're almost certainly more experienced in IT than me - I am actually a University student on a placement year, which is why I face certain restrictions in both what I know, and what I'm allowed to do in the given time.
Jun 27 '11 #25
Rabbit
12,516 Recognized Expert Moderator MVP
If you're commenting out a query, then that means the query is being run by code. What happens if you disable all the code? And then what happens if the user attempts to run the query manually? Is it a simple query? Try a simple select query with a top 100 and see if that works.

Looking at your call stack is different than looking at the call stack from the machine where it failed. Your machine is not going to show what procedures are running on his machine.

If none of this works, the company is going to have to look at upgrading their database system. MySQL is a good choice if money is an issue. Or perhaps a web based front end would suffice.
Jun 27 '11 #26
Adam Tippelt
137 New Member
Previous posts already discussed a migration to SQL Server 2008 which the company uses.
I've spent the past day or so playing around with SQL Server 2008 Express before I talk to anyone about putting it on the actual server.

I've done a simple migration which converted 100% without any major errors, but there is a performance issue.

To save going off topic from the original post I'll create a separate thread for any further queries, but I think we've pretty much established that an Access based back-end is not ideal.

Thanks for all the information you both gave, it's very insightful.

Adam.
Jun 30 '11 #27
NeoPa
32,584 Recognized Expert Moderator MVP
Thanks for the update Adam. We can consider this one closed then :-)
Jun 30 '11 #28
Adam Tippelt
137 New Member
Ironically I think I found the cause of the stack problem:

I've been playing around with the back end migration I've done to SQL Server 2008 Express, and managed to stumble upon an Out Of Stack Space error myself (albeit in a different section).

Having caused the problem myself, I took the opportunity to take a look at the stack - my my were you right about the stack looking different during an error. :)

For my error trapping I have 2 procedures - one that displays errors to users, and then it calls the other procedure to log it in a table.

Turned out there was an error in a procedure I use to log errors to a table, and on error this procedure was actually set to reference the other error procedure that triggered it. That'll teach me to pay more attention when adding error trapping code!

Anyway, yes we can consider this closed as the original thread question is now fixed. :)

Thanks.

Adam.
Jul 1 '11 #29
Rabbit
12,516 Recognized Expert Moderator MVP
Excellent! Glad we could help you figure this one out, even if it took a while to get there.
Jul 1 '11 #30

Sign in to post your reply or Sign up for a free account.

Similar topics

1
7532
by: Sam Kong | last post by:
Hello! We are developing and selling an application which uses Access DB over network. It works fine. However, we encountered a strange case. Computer A(DB Server): Windows 98, Access 97 (mdb), App Computer B(DB Client): Windows XP, App
10
8352
by: Shuo Xiang | last post by:
Greetings: I know that variables declared on a stack definitely does not reside in heap space so there is only a very limited amount of stuff that you can store in the stack of a function. But what about the global space? Is that the same as the heap space or is that still a form of special stack? Because once I've seen someone declare a 1 megabyte char array in global space like this: char s;
8
7259
by: Lieve | last post by:
Hello, I set up a database a few months ago and placed it on our company network. In the beginning, there was no problem opening it, even when someone else was working in it at that time. The last fourteen days we encounter an error message: 'file locked by another user'. I don't seem to recall that I made changes to the database since let's say Dec 10, 2004.
2
2656
by: caradhras | last post by:
I've been troubleshooting for a friend's charity. She wants their database accessible from both their PCs (I'll call them A & B), which are on a local network, both running A2K on Windows 98. I manually split the DB into a front & back end, and placed the backend in a shared folder on computer A. Made sure the shared folder was set to "full access." Computer A can open everything just fine. Next I copied the frontend to computer B and...
7
17166
by: Chris | last post by:
A general question here, what causes segmentation faults in malloc? Shouldn't malloc always gracefully fail? Take a look at the gdb core stack trace (from an HP-UX 11.11) Program terminated with signal 11, Segmentation fault. #0 0xc01961c8 in mallinfo+0x718 () from /usr/lib/libc.2 (gdb) where #0 0xc01961c8 in mallinfo+0x718 () from /usr/lib/libc.2 #1 0xc0198690 in _sbrk+0x580 () from /usr/lib/libc.2
9
7336
by: Ajay | last post by:
Hi all, Can I know what is the stack space and heap space allocated by the compiler.Can i increase it or decrease it.if yes,pleae tell me theway to do it.Thanks in advance. Cheers, Ajay
5
4168
by: Tony M. | last post by:
I just want to share a discovery. I was using a sub routine to call itself, a recursive loop. In it I used ADO to process records, and I was getting a "Catastrophic Failure", almost always on/near the same record. There was no issue with the data. I changed to DAO hoping for a clue.
5
11500
by: superjacent | last post by:
I'm getting 'Out of Stack Space' error messages. The process involves two forms. Form A opens Form B in dialog mode and passes through OpenArgs. Form B contains a 'Tab' control having two pages. The 'Out of Stack Space' error always (nearly always) occurs when clicking the 2nd page tab. It doesn't occur anyway else in the project. On testing, turning off all the 'On Error GoTo' statements the offending line is set at Form A on...
2
3726
by: shivendravikramsingh | last post by:
hi friend,i have a problem in my page,when i open my page a error msg display "javascript error out of stack space",but same page i open in opera or mozila its work fine.but in I.E i got this msg,and when i click the ok button of the error msg window,the page is closed.pls help me,if any one can?
11
5066
by: Jan | last post by:
Hi: Here's a problem I've had for a long time. The client is really running out of patience, and I have no answers. Access2003, front- and back-end. Single form with 4 subforms (each representing a related table), 5-10 clerks doing data entry at one time. Tables are quite large but all work is done with unbound forms and/or local temp tables, and written
0
9944
marktang
by: marktang | last post by:
ONU (Optical Network Unit) is one of the key components for providing high-speed Internet services. Its primary function is to act as an endpoint device located at the user's premises. However, people are often confused as to whether an ONU can Work As a Router. In this blog post, we’ll explore What is ONU, What Is Router, ONU & Router’s main usage, and What is the difference between ONU and Router. Let’s take a closer look ! Part I. Meaning of...
0
9796
by: Hystou | last post by:
Most computers default to English, but sometimes we require a different language, especially when relocating. Forgot to request a specific language before your computer shipped? No problem! You can effortlessly switch the default language on Windows 10 without reinstalling. I'll walk you through it. First, let's disable language synchronization. With a Microsoft account, language settings sync across devices. To prevent any complications,...
0
11153
Oralloy
by: Oralloy | last post by:
Hello folks, I am unable to find appropriate documentation on the type promotion of bit-fields when using the generalised comparison operator "<=>". The problem is that using the GNU compilers, it seems that the internal comparison operator "<=>" tries to promote arguments from unsigned to signed. This is as boiled down as I can make it. Here is my compilation command: g++-12 -std=c++20 -Wnarrowing bit_field.cpp Here is the code in...
1
10860
by: Hystou | last post by:
Overview: Windows 11 and 10 have less user interface control over operating system update behaviour than previous versions of Windows. In Windows 11 and 10, there is no way to turn off the Windows Update option using the Control Panel or Settings app; it automatically checks for updates and installs any it finds, whether you like it or not. For most users, this new feature is actually very convenient. If you want to control the update process,...
0
9583
agi2029
by: agi2029 | last post by:
Let's talk about the concept of autonomous AI software engineers and no-code agents. These AIs are designed to manage the entire lifecycle of a software development project—planning, coding, testing, and deployment—without human intervention. Imagine an AI that can take a project description, break it down, write the code, debug it, and then launch it, all on its own.... Now, this would greatly impact the work of software developers. The idea...
1
7975
isladogs
by: isladogs | last post by:
The next Access Europe User Group meeting will be on Wednesday 1 May 2024 starting at 18:00 UK time (6PM UTC+1) and finishing by 19:30 (7.30PM). In this session, we are pleased to welcome a new presenter, Adolph Dupré who will be discussing some powerful techniques for using class modules. He will explain when you may want to use classes instead of User Defined Types (UDT). For example, to manage the data in unbound forms. Adolph will...
0
7134
by: conductexam | last post by:
I have .net C# application in which I am extracting data from word file and save it in database particularly. To store word all data as it is I am converting the whole word file firstly in HTML and then checking html paragraph one by one. At the time of converting from word file to html my equations which are in the word document file was convert into image. Globals.ThisAddIn.Application.ActiveDocument.Select();...
1
4620
by: 6302768590 | last post by:
Hai team i want code for transfer the data from one system to another through IP address by using C# our system has to for every 5mins then we have to update the data what the data is updated we have to send another system
3
3239
bsmnconsultancy
by: bsmnconsultancy | last post by:
In today's digital era, a well-designed website is crucial for businesses looking to succeed. Whether you're a small business owner or a large corporation in Toronto, having a strong online presence can significantly impact your brand's success. BSMN Consultancy, a leader in Website Development in Toronto offers valuable insights into creating effective websites that not only look great but also perform exceptionally well. In this comprehensive...

By using Bytes.com and it's services, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

To disable or enable advertisements and analytics tracking please visit the manage ads & tracking page.