473,842 Members | 1,866 Online
Bytes | Software Development & Data Engineering Community
+ Post

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

Report repeating records

55 New Member
I am developing a DB for a lab and at the end of the day i need to generate reports and send by email to supervisors, i had seven different reports to begin with, which i have brought down to 3, by creating relationships but the only problem is right now is that the tables for e.g. daily sand lab data, friability, Loi Molding Sand. Say, Daily sand lab data table has 7 records for one day and friability and Loi have only 1-2 records, now when i create a joined report, it repeats data again n again for the friability and LOI and instead of one page there are 3-6 pages in report, can someone please suggest me a simpler way of doing the same.

Thanks,
Tulika
Apr 4 '07 #1
55 5260
Rabbit
12,516 Recognized Expert Moderator MVP
To help we need to know what you're trying to report, what's in the tables, and how the tables are related.
Apr 4 '07 #2
tulikapuri
55 New Member
To help we need to know what you're trying to report, what's in the tables, and how the tables are related.
The tables have the values for date, time , unit, operator, mois, comp, GS, Perm etc for the Daily Sand Lab and it had the values date, time, unit, operator, wt. in pan, % friability for the friabilty of green sand and then date, time, unit, operator, wt. before heating, wt. after heating and % loi in Loi molding sand.

Now i want to related all the tables together to generate the report at the end of the day such that i dont need to put them in three different reports and email them, so i made relationships in a query to connect all the tables via primary key and then Date, so now i get all the values in the report but then since i have 7 values for daily sand lab and 2 each for fraibility of green sand and loi sand hence the report looks messed up completely and keeps repeating the loi and friability data.

Any help will be appreciated.
Apr 9 '07 #3
Rabbit
12,516 Recognized Expert Moderator MVP
The tables have the values for date, time , unit, operator, mois, comp, GS, Perm etc for the Daily Sand Lab and it had the values date, time, unit, operator, wt. in pan, % friability for the friabilty of green sand and then date, time, unit, operator, wt. before heating, wt. after heating and % loi in Loi molding sand.

Now i want to related all the tables together to generate the report at the end of the day such that i dont need to put them in three different reports and email them, so i made relationships in a query to connect all the tables via primary key and then Date, so now i get all the values in the report but then since i have 7 values for daily sand lab and 2 each for fraibility of green sand and loi sand hence the report looks messed up completely and keeps repeating the loi and friability data.

Any help will be appreciated.
What's the primary keys?
Can you post the SQL of your query?
Can you provide some fictitious data to demonstrate the results you're looking for?
Apr 9 '07 #4
tulikapuri
55 New Member
I am trying to set up a report with sub reports but the same problem , can i talk to you or send you the zipped version of my DB .
Apr 9 '07 #5
Rabbit
12,516 Recognized Expert Moderator MVP
I am trying to set up a report with sub reports but the same problem , can i talk to you or send you the zipped version of my DB .
I'm on a work computer and I can't download. But if you answer the questions from my previous post I'm pretty sure we can figure it out.
Apr 9 '07 #6
tulikapuri
55 New Member
I'm on a work computer and I can't download. But if you answer the questions from my previous post I'm pretty sure we can figure it out.
The primary keys are the numbers, i got the data from the three tables in the reports and now i am trying to set up a subreport using the other reports. I mean in the main report Daily Sand Lab i am trying to include the subreports for friability and LOI but i cant sort the data for each day, i had individual queries for all the reports which sorted the data on daily basis i.e. Criterion was Between [StartDate] And [EndDate].

Also i am not sure if i should enter the data in the page footer or report footer since it populates the data on every alternativve page leaving the rest of the pages blank.

Thanks Much for your help in advance. :)
Apr 10 '07 #7
Rabbit
12,516 Recognized Expert Moderator MVP
The primary keys are the numbers, i got the data from the three tables in the reports and now i am trying to set up a subreport using the other reports. I mean in the main report Daily Sand Lab i am trying to include the subreports for friability and LOI but i cant sort the data for each day, i had individual queries for all the reports which sorted the data on daily basis i.e. Criterion was Between [StartDate] And [EndDate].

Also i am not sure if i should enter the data in the page footer or report footer since it populates the data on every alternativve page leaving the rest of the pages blank.

Thanks Much for your help in advance. :)
You said the primary keys are the numbers but you never told me which of your fields are numbers.

Can you post the SQL of your query?
Can you provide some fictitious data to demonstrate the results you're looking for?
Apr 10 '07 #8
tulikapuri
55 New Member
You said the primary keys are the numbers but you never told me which of your fields are numbers.

Can you post the SQL of your query?
Can you provide some fictitious data to demonstrate the results you're looking for?
I am making sand lab DB and i have the following SQL for Lab Sand Data:
Expand|Select|Wrap|Line Numbers
  1. SELECT [Lab Sand data].Operator, [Lab Sand data].Date, [Lab Sand data].TIme, [Lab Sand data].Unit, [Lab Sand data].Temp, [Lab Sand data].Mois, [Lab Sand data].MB, [Lab Sand data].[MB%], [Lab Sand data].Compactibility, [Lab Sand data].GS, [Lab Sand data].Perm, [Lab Sand data].[Sp Wt]
  2. FROM [Lab Sand data]
  3. WHERE ((([Lab Sand data].Date) Between [StartDate] And [EndDate]))
  4. ORDER BY [Lab Sand data].Date, [Lab Sand data].Unit;
The following SQL for Friability of Green Sand :
Expand|Select|Wrap|Line Numbers
  1. SELECT [Friability of Green Sand].Date, [Friability of Green Sand].Operator, [Friability of Green Sand].Time, [Friability of Green Sand].Unit, [Friability of Green Sand].[% Moisture], [Friability of Green Sand].[MB Clay, ml], [Friability of Green Sand].[Comp %], [Friability of Green Sand].[Total Specimen Weight], [Friability of Green Sand].[Wt of Sand Collected in the Pan], [Friability of Green Sand].[% Friability]
  2. FROM [Friability of Green Sand]
  3. WHERE ((([Friability of Green Sand].Date) Between [StartDate] And [EndDate]));
The following SQl for LOI Molding Sand:
Expand|Select|Wrap|Line Numbers
  1. SELECT Loimold.Date, Loimold.Time, Loimold.Unit, Loimold.Operator, Loimold.[Sample Weight], Loimold.[Wt of crucible], Loimold.[Wt of crucible + Sample 9 Before heating)], Loimold.[Wt of crucible + Sample (After heating)], Loimold.[% LOI]
  2. FROM Loimold
  3. WHERE (((Loimold.Date) Between [StartDate] And [EndDate]));
Now i want to use Lab Sand Data as the main report and add friability of green sand and Loi molding as subreports, but i am not aware how to do it correctly and also since i have the criterion for all the individual report set to filter the data between StartDate and EndDate i am not sure how will we do this for one report.

In case you need some more information just let me know.

Thanks.
Apr 10 '07 #9
Rabbit
12,516 Recognized Expert Moderator MVP
So basically you want one report to report records within a time period for Sand Lab, Friability, and LOI?

Make seperate reports for Friability and LOI and then include them as subreports in the Sand Lab report.
Apr 10 '07 #10

Sign in to post your reply or Sign up for a free account.

Similar topics

4
3303
by: dixie | last post by:
I have a report which has records of students in various courses. It would normally show say 400 entries for 80 students doing an average of 5 courses each. I want to say on the report how many different students there are. Normally, I'd just use "No. Students = " & Count() , but this just gives me 400 - how do I do a count of Distinct Surnames on a report? dixie
6
3319
by: Mike Conklin | last post by:
This one really has me going. Probably something silly. I'm using dcount for a report to determine the number of different types of tests proctored in a semester. My report is based on a parameter query which is the recordsource for the report. The parameter is <=. The query returns the correct amounts upto the date entered (no need for "between" dates here). There are 8 textboxes with dcounts; 2 other boxes Sum some of these
2
1816
by: Emilio Jimonerz | last post by:
Hello. I am developing a project tracking database that records the following information: 1. Project name 2. Lead person(s) 3. Support person(s) 4. Clients 5. Contacts The data is organized in the following way:
2
3111
by: Alpha | last post by:
I have a C# program that user would select several search criteria and then outputs to the Crystal Report. A message is output to user if no matching record is found. In my code I also clear, removed and dispose of the table in the dataset that was used which should have nothing in it any way. I then clean up the search string that I built at run time. Now in the same screen, user change one of the search criteria and now there are...
2
1622
by: owyn999 | last post by:
Right so, I've got a report that I wrote a few months ago and just now we started using it. This report is a dynamic report coded mostly in Visual basic with all of the fields being can shrink and can grow true. The issue that I am having is that I have a section of the report which had to be a subreport, and while this shouldn't be an issue I think I have done something wrong in the creation of the subreport. ...
12
8061
D Giles
by: D Giles | last post by:
Access 2003: A subreport control (sum total calculated textbox located in the subreport report footer) does not show total of all records when referenced as a total in the main report footer - only shows one record amount. When I open the subreport alone, it totals the sum of all the records which the query pulls - which is what I want. The referenced textbox in the main report footer only shows one record amount. Why is the total in the main...
1
1702
by: jglabas | last post by:
For a report, I am using a query as my record source. The query produces 5 columns by 3272 records. The data in columns 1 & 2 (“Objective” and “Rating”) repeats every 409 records The data for “initial” and “Date” are unique for the individual. Currently there are 8 individuals (409 * 8 = 3272) . . . . .. . . . .Objective . . . Rating . . Initial . . . .. Date . . . . . Name . . . . .abc. . . . . . .a. . . . . . jg. . . . . .1/12/07 . ....
1
6207
by: alhomam | last post by:
hi all i have a table with many columns and i need to create a report that the user can select the columns he needs to show in the report. is it possible? thanks
4
1885
by: zufie | last post by:
I have a report that return all the records (materials ordered) by all callers each day. I want the report to just show all the records (materials ordered) by each individual caller each day on a separate page. I tried Hide Duplicates property, Force New Page all to no success. Here is the code to my qry/record source for my report:
0
9865
marktang
by: marktang | last post by:
ONU (Optical Network Unit) is one of the key components for providing high-speed Internet services. Its primary function is to act as an endpoint device located at the user's premises. However, people are often confused as to whether an ONU can Work As a Router. In this blog post, we’ll explore What is ONU, What Is Router, ONU & Router’s main usage, and What is the difference between ONU and Router. Let’s take a closer look ! Part I. Meaning of...
0
10934
Oralloy
by: Oralloy | last post by:
Hello folks, I am unable to find appropriate documentation on the type promotion of bit-fields when using the generalised comparison operator "<=>". The problem is that using the GNU compilers, it seems that the internal comparison operator "<=>" tries to promote arguments from unsigned to signed. This is as boiled down as I can make it. Here is my compilation command: g++-12 -std=c++20 -Wnarrowing bit_field.cpp Here is the code in...
0
10303
tracyyun
by: tracyyun | last post by:
Dear forum friends, With the development of smart home technology, a variety of wireless communication protocols have appeared on the market, such as Zigbee, Z-Wave, Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, etc. Each protocol has its own unique characteristics and advantages, but as a user who is planning to build a smart home system, I am a bit confused by the choice of these technologies. I'm particularly interested in Zigbee because I've heard it does some...
0
9446
agi2029
by: agi2029 | last post by:
Let's talk about the concept of autonomous AI software engineers and no-code agents. These AIs are designed to manage the entire lifecycle of a software development project—planning, coding, testing, and deployment—without human intervention. Imagine an AI that can take a project description, break it down, write the code, debug it, and then launch it, all on its own.... Now, this would greatly impact the work of software developers. The idea...
1
7853
isladogs
by: isladogs | last post by:
The next Access Europe User Group meeting will be on Wednesday 1 May 2024 starting at 18:00 UK time (6PM UTC+1) and finishing by 19:30 (7.30PM). In this session, we are pleased to welcome a new presenter, Adolph Dupré who will be discussing some powerful techniques for using class modules. He will explain when you may want to use classes instead of User Defined Types (UDT). For example, to manage the data in unbound forms. Adolph will...
0
7025
by: conductexam | last post by:
I have .net C# application in which I am extracting data from word file and save it in database particularly. To store word all data as it is I am converting the whole word file firstly in HTML and then checking html paragraph one by one. At the time of converting from word file to html my equations which are in the word document file was convert into image. Globals.ThisAddIn.Application.ActiveDocument.Select();...
0
5694
by: TSSRALBI | last post by:
Hello I'm a network technician in training and I need your help. I am currently learning how to create and manage the different types of VPNs and I have a question about LAN-to-LAN VPNs. The last exercise I practiced was to create a LAN-to-LAN VPN between two Pfsense firewalls, by using IPSEC protocols. I succeeded, with both firewalls in the same network. But I'm wondering if it's possible to do the same thing, with 2 Pfsense firewalls...
1
4498
by: 6302768590 | last post by:
Hai team i want code for transfer the data from one system to another through IP address by using C# our system has to for every 5mins then we have to update the data what the data is updated we have to send another system
3
3140
bsmnconsultancy
by: bsmnconsultancy | last post by:
In today's digital era, a well-designed website is crucial for businesses looking to succeed. Whether you're a small business owner or a large corporation in Toronto, having a strong online presence can significantly impact your brand's success. BSMN Consultancy, a leader in Website Development in Toronto offers valuable insights into creating effective websites that not only look great but also perform exceptionally well. In this comprehensive...

By using Bytes.com and it's services, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

To disable or enable advertisements and analytics tracking please visit the manage ads & tracking page.