473,320 Members | 1,724 Online
Bytes | Software Development & Data Engineering Community
Post Job

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

Join Bytes to post your question to a community of 473,320 software developers and data experts.

Don't understand output from this recursion code

class Program
{
public void test(int i) {
if (i > 0)
{
test(--i);
}
Console.WriteLine(i);
}

static void Main(string[] args)
{
Program p = new Program();
p.test(5);
Console.ReadKey();
}
}

The output is 0 0 1 2 3 4

I dont quite understand.
I thought that the Console.WriteLine(i); wont execute until i <= 0

and why is that the 0 comes first?

Correct me if im wrong im just new to programming.
Is it because that when a function is called is uses the stack?
so the while the condition is true it keeps calling its self and the first output was actually 4 (because of the pre --yy) but the instruction was on the lowest part of the stack thats why it came out last.

4 3 2 1 0 0 then pops out like 0 0 1 2 3 4

Is that how stack work?

is there a threading happening here?
Jul 29 '08 #1
7 1244
IanWright
179 100+
class Program
{
public void test(int i) {
if (i > 0)
{
test(--i);
}
Console.WriteLine(i);
}

static void Main(string[] args)
{
Program p = new Program();
p.test(5);
Console.ReadKey();
}
}

The output is 0 0 1 2 3 4

I dont quite understand.
I thought that the Console.WriteLine(i); wont execute until i <= 0

and why is that the 0 comes first?

Correct me if im wrong im just new to programming.
Is it because that when a function is called is uses the stack?
so the while the condition is true it keeps calling its self and the first output was actually 4 (because of the pre --yy) but the instruction was on the lowest part of the stack thats why it came out last.

4 3 2 1 0 0 then pops out like 0 0 1 2 3 4

Is that how stack work?

is there a threading happening here?