473,396 Members | 1,671 Online
Bytes | Software Development & Data Engineering Community
Post Job

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

Join Bytes to post your question to a community of 473,396 software developers and data experts.

access how do i create a formula?

hey everyone..thank for making such a helpful site

i am going to tell you the backround and then proceed in telling you my problem

i studied access about 2 years ago so.. my knowledge is a little limited

ok basically i have created a table for the suppliers which we use in our company...
one of my columns is called Sub Total , the following column is called VAT and thus Amount Including VAT
i was wondering if when entering the Sub total and then clicking the VAT column.. is there a way in which acess can automatically calculate the VAT and also if there was a way in which acess can calculate the amount including the VAT
i am thinking there should be a way such as a formula or a rule which we can enter..
please let me know as soon as possible if anyone knows the answer to my problem
thank you
regards Noor
Jul 21 '08 #1
8 6233
hjozinovic
167 100+
Hi Noor,

Usualy calculations are used in Queries.
try to make a query based on your table and then you can calculate totals in there.
Also try to search access help for 'calculated fields' or 'calculated controls'

regards,
h.
Jul 21 '08 #2
nawara
Hi Noor,

Usualy calculations are used in Queries.
try to make a query based on your table and then you can calculate totals in there.
Also try to search access help for 'calculated fields' or 'calculated controls'

regards,
h.
Hi H,
why thank you very much for ur reply H,
ok if i was to create a query then wat would i need to write in the criteria?
i am assuming along the lines of sumthing like this =[sub total]*[100]/[17.5]?
and also if i was to write that formula... would it automatically work it out for me everytime i enter a new supplier?
Jul 21 '08 #3
hjozinovic
167 100+
Hi H,