473,322 Members | 1,493 Online
Bytes | Software Development & Data Engineering Community
Post Job

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

Join Bytes to post your question to a community of 473,322 software developers and data experts.

Mind map with Ajax

Hi everyone,

I am new to Ajax and have been fascinated by the possibilities available with JavaScript and XML. More specifically, I am interested in mind mapping and would like to know how to actually write the code in Ajax to implement a mind mapping application such as MindMeister.

I have read through lots of forums, books and articles on Ajax but did not find anything useful so far to help me out.

Ideally, I would like to use PHP on the server-side, JavaScript on the client-side and XML to make the server request and also store the mind maps. The path to the mindmaps stored in the XML document will be saved in a MySQL database.

So I would appreciate any kind of help/resources (tips, codes) to develop a mind mapping tool using Ajax.

Thanks,
John.
Jun 28 '08 #1
3 4155
gits
5,390 Expert Mod 4TB
wooow ... that will be quite a task ;) ... but it will be possible, even when ajax has nearly nothing to do with that except that you could use it for the load/save actions but every other thing is more something that is called DHTML :) ... so i think you would need some things that represents your application-layers.

1. a kind of 'Widget-Framework' that handles some shapes (basic outlines and attributes) - mainly these are divs with some css and/or images that are dragable, clickable, editable etc. that is not a very difficult task ...

2. the most complicated thing from my point of view would be the lines/arrows to graphically connect the shapes ... javascript has no drawing capabilities ... but you may consider SVG for all that or find something to 'emulate' line-drawing