473,383 Members | 1,733 Online
Bytes | Software Development & Data Engineering Community
Post Job

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

Join Bytes to post your question to a community of 473,383 software developers and data experts.

Python in Notepad++

Hi Everybody,
I am new to Python and also new to Notepad++. Can any one help to code my first python program in Notepad++. I am already doing it in python interpretor, but now i was to do in Notepad++. I have already downloaded Notepad++, but still not able to run any python program in it.
I request any of you to help me start in NOtepad++ with python.
Thanks
Aug 26 '07 #1
6 59849
bartonc
6,596 Expert 4TB
Hi Everybody,
I am new to Python and also new to Notepad++. Can any one help to code my first python program in Notepad++. I am already doing it in python interpretor, but now i was to do in Notepad++. I have already downloaded Notepad++, but still not able to run any python program in it.
I request any of you to help me start in NOtepad++ with python.
Thanks
The answer to that question is in reply #7 of this thread, but I think that you will find the IDLE is sufficient for your needs for the time being and has much of the things that you will have to work on to get Notepad++ working built in. The aforementioned thread also discusses other IDE options.
Aug 26 '07 #2
There is a simple way to do it.
In the Run menu, you can see options like "Lunch in firefox" and more.
These options are written in a file called shortcuts.xml, located in the folder where you installed NP++.
Open this file, and inside <UserDefinedCommands> you'll find this row:
Expand|Select|Wrap|Line Numbers
  1.  <Command name="launch in Firefox" Ctrl="yes" Alt="yes" Shift="yes" Key="88">firefox &quot;$(FULL_CURRENT_PATH)&quot;</Command>
All you need to do is copy this line and change some things. Then you'll have something like this: