473,404 Members | 2,137 Online
Bytes | Software Development & Data Engineering Community
Post Job

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

Join Bytes to post your question to a community of 473,404 software developers and data experts.

"Is Null or Is Not Null? That is the question...

First of, Hey there :).

I've been reading a few threads on Access and whatnot, but I cant seem to find the answer I need.

First off, I am a newbie when it comes to computers, so bear with me please.
I am using Access 2003, currently creating a database in order to tranfer our information from our current database, Approach.

I am currently self-taught; books, guides, etc... feeding and absorbing as much as I can but I am stuck now, so I figured I'd ask here and see if I can find myself a tech guy who can help me out ;-).

I have gone through creating tables, queries and forms. I already exported some of information from Approach to Access, so I could have something to work with. Im trying to figure out my "filter and search" possibilities, but when I click on the field that I want to filter and click on the downward-pointing arrow, it gives me two options.. "Is Null" and "Is Not Null"...

Now... thats where I am "stuck" now, it may be something very simple but I rather ask, I saw in Office 2003 for Dummies, that I should see some options, but it doesnt say what to do in case of the above. Tried doing some searchs on google and whatnot but didnt help much.

What steps do I take from here? Did I miss a step along the way or am I supposed to pick one of them and save?

Any advice would be appreciated, hope to hear from anyone soon!
Thanks in Advance.
Nov 21 '06 #1
12 11202
NeoPa
32,556 Expert Mod 16PB
I can't reproduce your problem.
How are you getting to the place where you have these options of Null on Not Null?

I suspect that they are just pre-defined opotions and you can add others (Like 'Blah Blah *') if you want to.
Nov 21 '06 #2
MMcCarthy
14,534 Expert Mod 8TB