Help | Site Map
Connecting Tech Pros Worldwide
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1  
Old July 24th, 2005, 12:50 AM
oi@aol.Net
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Bayer site intricately hacked, or corporate-degenerate busted

http://www.bayerdiag.com/index.cfm is a financial PR site

clicking on "diabetes blah blah" links on various sites, just sends one on a multi-
branching pseudo-circular goose chase. (just as spam-link operators do)
http://www.ascensia.com/ (glucose meters)
http://www.bayercarediabetes.com/


I tried a Google site: search of www.bayer.com .. many pages must be META-ed out.

Bayer's own internal search is very poor. Appears useless.
http://search.bayer.com/newbayer/sea...20&o=0&q=keto-
diastix


follow commonly shown link to "Bayer sites" … the page appears semi-interactive, but
produces a lot of spam-link-looking links such as "http://.././././?=diabetes", where all
links shunt to the same
http://web.bayer.de/index.php (in german language, though the originating pages were
en)

"Technical Details" link goes to a page recommending IE, enabling ActiveX (practically
banned due to security flaws), and active scripting (insecure without filters that are not
built into IE or Mozilla), cookies... all poor to mediocre web practices.

using Google
diag.bayer.
I find there were or are many:
diag.bayer.dk
diag.bayer.se
diag.bayer.fi
diag.bayer.etc, but none are english language



http://www.bayerhealthcare.com/index.php?id=17&L=2
go to USA …

another page.. choose "consumer care" link in center of page
http://www.bayerhealthcare.com/index...5&divisionID=3
links in middle of page
http://www.bayercare.com/htm/index.htm
which has only a flash link. Useless…

or , back up a few steps, can choose same name "consumer care" link from the *side*
menu:
http://www.consumercare.bayer.com/ (*another* different domain)
This is an OTC page, with links using domains named after each product.
http://www.aspirin.com/index_en.html, one-a-day, etc
or
http://pain.bayer.com/index_en.html
http://www.fungal-infections.info/

Maybe the OTC page is a spoof page. Prankster hackers managed to put a link to their
spoof page on (how many?) Bayer co sites.


and finally, there's no contact-us/webmaster form page to allow feedback about the
broken site.


+++++++++++++++++++++++++

I had been hoping to find online copy of the "package insert" or Keto-Diastix (two
squares of color show glucose and ketones response to urine)
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

What is Bytes?

We are a network of experts and professionals in IT and software development that help one another with answers to tough questions and share insights. Get the best answers to your questions from over network members.
Post your question now . . .
It's fast and it's free

Popular Articles